We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for Stag do!!!”
Review of Manchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manchester Hotel
Ranked #65 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our group stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. The hotel is old hotel, its huge and the rooms are just basic but clean. The hotel also have a bar and the drink prices are cheap!! The staff are polite and very helpful. The breakfast is just right when you have hangover. If you are looking for cheap and comfortable hotel i will recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Czarmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Manchester Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 140 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here as part of a package hen weekend in March 2013. After reading the reviews i was worried about what this hotel would be like as the bride to be can be rather high maintenance! However on arrival the receptionist, although quiet was nice.
The hotel was dated so the £200 deposit was quite steep but if you don't break anything you have nothing to worry about. (We took photos for our reference just in case but they were not needed)
I stayed with two others and our room was very spacious and cleaned everyday. Our room, probably because of the size was cold but when we asked for spare blankets they gave us two fan heaters (free of charge) and three extra blankets.
The breakfast was nice with a good range and the morning staff were lovely.
For the location and the price and for those who don't mind a dated look or a bit of wear and tare to rooms then i would recommend this hotel. If youre looking for a luxery break then i would not but then again what do you expect for the price?
All round a good hotel with friendly staff and I would stay again for a boozy weekend!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked this as part of a stag do for 12 people. Rooms are basic, but for the amount of time spent in them, they were more than adequate!

The staff here though make this place. Super friendly throughout the stay.

Wouldn't really recommend a stay here on a family holiday, but for a stag/hen do, this is a great place!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthCoastBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Got moved to the Manchester as boiler in the other hotel had gone. Welcomed by friendly staff who were kind enough to bring us out some tea whilst we waited. The reception area and lounge area were very dated, as was the rest of the hotel. Hotel is a really nice size and layout and with a lot of money invested I believe it could be nice.

The room we stayed in was disgusting, worst room I have ever stayed in. The smell when we walked in was foul, un fresh, musty, horrible. They obviously dont have a very good cleaner as when we opened the top drawer to unpack it was full of crumbs and rubbish. Very basic room and I am SHOCKED that they were charging more than the Bourne Hall down the road, as on arrival that seemed a far nicer hotel. Very basic room, which was fine as we were only there for a night, but as I say am very very suprised at the price!!!!

Went to shower in the morning and I ended up not bothering, very small and basic shower, with a trickle of water!!!!!!! Breakfast in the morning was OK. The staff again were very friendly. Definately would not reccomend this hotel, unless on a hen/stag/birthday and looking for a very budget room! Like I say, staff were friendly and with investment this could be a nice hotel, but I wont be coming back that's for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

we got moved here as our hotels boiler had gone. We were 7 girls away for a birthday the rest of the hotel had over 100 men in on various stag dos. The rooms was discusting, damp musty smelling. Carpets dirty, valance on beds covered in stains, shower was a joke! As we closed the door to head out for the evening the handle fell off, this was the icing on the cake and was so bad we just had to find the funny side! Thankgod we were only there for the night!. Breakfast was suspect, couldnt help wonder what state the kitchen would be in.
Will never ever be returning.
I must add the staff were polite and worked with they had got, the whole place really needs nocking down and rebuilding.
If your a stag or hen party and just want somewhere to get ur heads down after a night on the beer then maybe, but i wouldnt reccommend!
Sorry

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have stayed numerous times here as I come a lot for business and have never stayed anywhere else!
Excellent value for money as always.
Rooms basic but very clean. Bathroom and toilets clean. Can't complain!
Breakfast if bought is very sufficient and gives me a great start to the morning. Clean areas for breakfast and the bar areas.
Reception staff lovely and helpful as always.
I always recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to bournemouth.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissOptom1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Upon arrival at the Hotel all looked well. Tired but ok.

After a rude little man very quicky wanted a £50 damage deposit before any further discussions we then got our room key.

After shoe horning myself up the stairs and in the room door i noticed the carpet was dirty, A bar of soap in the wardrobe, Primark Cloth Stickers on the door and Skid Marks in the toilet!
The bed was no better with some very suspect looking stains on the duvet and a mattress that a homeless person would turn away.

Luckily we were in town for a night out so the alcohol helped the room more bearable!

Upon check out the rude little man was thinking of any excuse to keep deposits and attempted to keep a friend of mine's deposit for putting a glass bottle in the bin!

All in if you were to leave a tip it would be 'Fire the Cleaner!'

Wont be staying here again and hope you get a nice visit from a hotel inspector soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 67 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 67 in Bournemouth
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
#50 of 67 in Bournemouth
661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#39 of 67 in Bournemouth
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Hotel

Address: 56 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $67 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manchester Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing