We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whitehall Hotel
Ranked #18 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Ideally located in the centre of Bournemouth. Staff very friendly and helpful. Spacious rooms, with good sized beds, clean and tidy. Excellent choices of food, for 3 course evevning dinner. Comfortable lounge area's in which to sit and relax, overlooking the lower gardens. Have been many times in the past, and look forward to many more visits to come. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 341 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was our 8th year of staying at The Whitehall, sometimes we have stayed as part of a bowling tour, other times we have stayed and then been to the Bournemouth Internatuional Centre and seen some great acts. As usual everyuthing was excellent, with Sara & Bernard giving it 110% in everything they do.A great hotel in a super location, all at fanatastic prices. We will be there again in 3 weeks as part of a bowling tour, which is something they organise in a very professional way

Room Tip: room 5 is a great room to have, as is 19 & 24
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed at The Whitehall from the 11th May 2014 for 5 nights having previously stayed awhile ago. I find its location and meals excellent, and the hotel is a very comfortable place to base a holiday in Bournemouth. Great value for money.

It also suits my current situation ie., I bring my elderly Mum and a little well behaved Schnauzer dog. I ask for a garden view because it is extremely pleasant, and also, if Mum is too tired to go out she can still watch the world go by. There is also a lift. Lynne Ormerod

Room Tip: A garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I had a single room which was pleasant enough and a lovely view of the gardens.
At night if you listen very carefully you can here wildlife in the gardens.
THe lift is spooky I think it has featured in a number of thrillers.
The staff at breakfast are very friendly and helpful in contrast to checking out when I handed my keys to a man who was quite dissmissive and no eye contact.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaineelaineelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I only stayed in this hotel for one night but found the staff to be very helpful and obliging. I was going to a concert at the Pavilion that night and they arranged for me to have a meal a little early so that I could get to the concert on time. The hotel was in a very quiet location overlooking the gardens. The double room was clean and tidy. I did like the fact that the en-suite bathroom had a window and was not an internal one. The food was very good and was served up in good time. I usually stay at another hotel in Bournemouth when I have a break, but will certainly book into either this or the Arlington hotel which I had originally booked into, but were having problems with the water system. The only slight negative was the parking. There was not a lot of room in what would have been the front garden of the hotel.

Room Tip: If I was going to book to stay in this hotel I would ask for a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights with work colleagues. Really clean rooms and the breakfast is great with everything you would exoect from a fry up to cereals etc. The night porters are great and more than happy for you to head to the bar for a night cap.
Would recommend highly.
Also in a great location for walking into town for something to eat in the evening.

Room Tip: Room 51 has a great view overlooking the park with its great balloon in the middle. Shower isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just got back from Bournemouth had a great stay at The Whitehall, arrived on Saturday afternoon no place to park however Sara gave us great welcome and promptly parked the car for us. Room was lovely very clean and the breakfasts superb!!! Overall a great stay and would certainly come back. The staff are a credit to Sara and Bernard and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys the close family hotel experience

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Churches11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,115 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitehall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitehall Hotel

Address: Exeter Park Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $45 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Whitehall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitehall Hotel is in the very centre of Bournemouth, overlooking the beautiful Lower Gardens. The hotel offers direct access through the gardens to the pier, the beach, the BIC, the theatre, restaurants and shops, making it ideal for exploring Bournemouth! A great base for a short break, business trip or holiday this hotel offers a perfect location,good food and a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Whitehall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing