We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”
Review of Royal Exeter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Exeter Hotel
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Got a good deal from laterooms to stay here. Although the hotel is a little dated in décor it lives up to its standards by the excellent staff who all were attentive to all our needs. Enjoyed happy hour in the cocktail bar. Didn't eat as we were meeting friends elsewhere but the menu looked good. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, my wife loved the fresh fruit, that was freshly cut .Would stay again and recommend if you can get a good deal on a room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cookhouse91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
There are newer reviews for Royal Exeter Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 758 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Have been staying here for the last 4 years and it is always good. Nothing is too much trouble, last year our toilet broke and they tried to sort it out ASAP as best as they could.

Rooms are lovely, beds always very comfy and breakfast is great value. I like the choice available, and it tastes fresh and less processed than most hotel breakfasts. I also got a sandwich and drink from room service this year and this was very well priced, I was impressed.

I found the wifi a little sketchy this year but I was only using it on and off so it wasn't too much of a problem.

Staff are always polite and helpful, including the night staff. It is nice having the option to drop off your key when you are going out and knowing there is someone there to collect it from at the end of the night. Plus, it saves weighing your bag down as the keys are quite big.

All in all, a very nice hotel in a good location especially for events at the BIC. One of the hotels I enjoy going back to, knowing that I always have a good stay with nothing to worry about.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank girltravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Always friendly. Pleasant stay and location central and perfect. This was our 3rd stay. Good breakfast and even have gluten free bread.
If you like a quiet hotel in the evening well depending on what part of the hotel your in, the bar area is a night club.
staff always very pleasant.
good free car parking too.

the hot tub is just very small and is in like a basement room. Ok for quick tucussi but not for a relaxing weekend.
the bar also has a nice seated area to sit out jn the summer.
up the hill opposite is a very nice , recomnended chinese restaurant . Ocean palace , providing great food and good service

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vigusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My Partner & I have just spent a long weekend at the hotel and cannot fault it. The hotel is maintained to an extremely high standard, the staff in reception and in the restaurant and bar are all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is also excellent and unlike cheap and nasty budget hotels the ingredients are good quality and comes plated up on lovely big plates and there is also a good choice of cereals, fruit and continental breakfast fayre. Our room was nice a big and nicely furnished, and included an iron and an ironing board, a flat screen tv with all the free view channels we get at home, tea & coffee and biscuits and plenty of milk (unlike the usual 4 little pots that are only enough for two cups), and shower get and shampoo - which was replenished every day, the towels were lovely too and included two large fluffy ones. The hotel also provides free parking which 'cheaper' hotels don't and adds another £15/day if you have to pay for it. The location is also perfect right between the pier and the town centre. Also there is a cocktail bar and a swanky area where live singers perform at the weekend. We went into Bournemouth on Saturday night and it was pretty rubbish so came back to the hotel around 10 and it was packed - the Exeter is the trendiest night out in town! We didn't notice a noise issue in our room because of the entertainment but we were on the 2nd floor so perhaps it could be a bit noisy if you were closer.

A little tip - the hot water isn't instantaneous so if you want a bath or shower leave it running for 10 minutes and then it's fine - it is the oldest building in Bournemouth so I think the Exeter can be forgiven this :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I spent the night here on New Year's eve and were very impressed with the overall experience. Our room was on the second floor and was clean, well equipped and had plenty of space to move around in and, more importantly, we both had a good night's sleep, not always possible in some hotels. The staff were friendly and were keen to provide good service and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. We spent the evening with friends away from the hotel, but got back to enjoy a few drinks in the bar at the start of 2014.The breakfast was very good, with plenty of options both cold and hot, and we would definitely stay here again from choice, particularly as the hotel is so close to the heart of Bournemouth and the seafront.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from celebrating new year at this wonderful hotel , the staff are amazing tom on reception and at breakfast and reception staff could not make you feel more welcome . It's in a prime spot to the sea front and town centre . Breakfast was lovely infact myself and my husband could not finish it would recommend this hotel .

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lolly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have spent 3 days here and have found it to be amazing value for money.
The room was spacious, clean and well equipped. When I found the hairdryer now working it was replaced in minutes.
The staff are fantastic, so personable and nothing at all is too much trouble.
The food is lovely with plenty of choice at breakfast.
The location is as good as it gets for the town and the beach.
There is a great cocktail bar within the hotel which offered a great evenings entertainment if it was required.
There is a gym, pool and spa all included in the price.
An added bonus of free secure parking too.
There is in addition free Wi-Fi throughout the rooms and hotel.
I would highly recommend this hotel and will be using it again.

Room Tip: If you have children or are an older couple who don't want the noise from the bar ask for the up...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25Mandy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,035 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Exeter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Exeter Hotel

Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $97 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Exeter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Exeter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Exeter Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing