We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Exeter Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$204
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$69
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$85
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Encore Bournemouth(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$84
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$74
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
$81
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveler rating
426
305
87
29
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
305
87
29
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf price cocktailstravelzoo dealcar parkgood sizefour poster bedcourse dinnerexcellent locationroom was largetown centresqueaky floorboardsbreakfast staffbreakfast was excellentfirst floorfew minutes walkearly hourscentral locationlovely hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
681 - 686 of 860 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My 2nd time staying here within a 2 week period, it has offered nothing but friendly, efficient and knowledgeable staff.
Excellent quality of food and fantastic drink menu.
Great to experience fantastic customer service from all areas.
Great Hygiene in all areas great standards in cleanliness in Bedrooms and bathrooms..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Awfull place to stay, way too noisy, every floorboard squeaks at 100db and the attached nightclub will keep the windows rattling into the small hours.

Food is biblically bad, breakfast is a heaped pile of tasteless trash from the aldi value range.

There is no way I'd stay here again and I'd only reccomend it to deaf couples with no taste buds.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here in the first place. If you are tied up and forced too then try to get a room as far from the bar as possible and pack your ear-plugs
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stu-n-Pol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights b&b in the Royal Exeter. Our room was 212 and had nice views over the pavilion gardens. We paid £97 a night which we felt was fair for a hotel in such an excellent position. The room was spacious and very clean with a lovely bathroom, but was let down by having a very small tv which made it difficult to watch from the bed. Breakfast was excellent with a varied range of fruit and cereals and a full English cooked to order. I must stress that the service in this hotel was exceptional and with its spacious free car park and central position it should be at the top of anyone's list when visiting Bournemouth . If you like to stay in historic and atmospheric buildings then it is definitely the one for you.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to get a spacious room. Bars downstairs can be busy so request a quiet room if this bothers you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddlesbroughSmoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Reception team very good, breakfast team - and indeed breakfast itself - excellent! Hot breakfast cooked to order (unlike Royal Bath and Haven), and an overall feeling of care. Rooms spotlessly clean, well equipped and the owners have tried to update surroundings - although the leather modern burgundy tones don't always work and the effect is more DFS than modern country house. Nevertheless full marks to the staff and owners for delivering on service in a resort poorly served by other hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanartus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at the Royal Exeter for 2 nights we were visiting friends and going to a concert at the BIC.
The room was large and comfortable although the television was so far away from the bed. Room was clean, hotel was clean, breakfast was okay. We ate in the Restaurant one night and told the staff we needed to be away fairly quickly - when we chased up our main course - the comment was not I will get it for you as quickly as possible but - well that's the way it is - not what you really want to hear!! We managed to get a drink at the bar on the Thursday night as the bar was empty but Friday night was totally different - waited a good 10 minutes to get served.There was a band playing until 1.am There was nowhere quiet for Residents to sit on a Friday or Saturday evening. A bonus was that the Hotel had a car park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews