We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Durley Grange Hotel
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was greeted by a friendly face & smile. Despite arriving 3 hours early, my room was ready which was an added bonus. The room was clean & adequate. The pool was warm. Breakfast was tasty but as I don't have the buffet options, I would have liked a slightly larger cooked breakfast. Reception & Restaurant staff went out of their way, to accommodate the guests & nothing was too much trouble. Will definately be returning to this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 428 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

Had to leave keys at reception when going out. "Full" English breakfast was one sausage, one bacon and one egg with beans. Not enough! Room smelt like nappies. Carpet poorly fitted. Bed small. Curtains Dirty.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulJamesTarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durley G, Manager at Durley Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Durley Grange.

We would like to apologise about the smells in the bathroom, we have since rectified the drainage to the room. We have also been washing the curtains room by room which is a gradual process. If you had made it known to us during your stay that you were unhappy with your room we would have tried our best to move you into another one, or have given you a free upgrade.

To leave your keys at reception is the standard procedure for all hotels that have room door that have not been fitted with electronic key card readers. This is due to fire safety, and in the unlikely but possible case of a full evacuation we are not searching for you within the hotel.

We give moderate portions for our cooked breakfasts to save on wastage, as you would know that food left on plates once returned to the kitchen are immediately disposed of. However if you had spoken to our restaurant staff at the time they would have been happy to get you another cooked breakfast if you were still hungry.

I hope that this has been an adequate response to the points that you have made. And hope that you would visit us again and allow us to show you the changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for many years and each time we visit we receive excellent service, friendly staff, clean and comfortable accommodation. The food is always lovely with lots of choice.

Again we have had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Very warm and welcoming nice and friendly recommend to everyone who visits Bournemouth I enjoyed my stay rooms clean and tidy.i was here for 1 week and thoroughly enjoyed my stay will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Decided to have a last minute weekend break and came across the durley grange online at a very reasonable price indeed!! We emailed to say we would be arriving between 8 & 9 on the friday evening, hotel emailed back offering a cold buffet if we would like it upon our arrival (ate before we left, but were impressed with the service they were offering). Everything about the Durley Grange was spot on from the cleanliness of our room to the friendliness of the staff. Every member of staff we encountered were helpful and extremely friendly from the waitresses to the management, thankyou so much Emma, Sue & Suzanna for making our stay extremely pleasant and memorable, we will definately be back in the very near future!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is to best value for money hotel I have ever come across. The food is absolute outstanding. The staff are always very warm and down to earth which creates a nice freshly family atmosphere amongst the guests. This is definitely the hotel I will use for future stays in the Bournemouth. It truly is an amazing hotel at extremely competitive prices. Very highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jobj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed in January for a short break with a group of friends. The food is excellent- a good choice for dinner, and a large selection of breakfast dishes. Entertainment every evening of a generally high standard. The hotel is warm, clean and the staff helpful and hard working. Our only reservation would be that the bedrooms seem a little in need of TLC-- non functioning radiator, chipped furniture with unsafe drawers which fell out when opened and a rather old and saggy mattress. However, for a bargain break it's the food and service which matter and they couldn't be faulted.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of the centre of town and the sea front- but uphill coming back! There is also easy access to various bus routes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montague Hotel
Montague Hotel
#44 of 66 in Bournemouth
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durley Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durley Grange Hotel

Address: 6 Durley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $51 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Durley Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Durley Grange is a privately owned, family run hotel, conveniently situated in a quiet corner in the heart of Bournemouth’s prestigious West Cliff and within easy walking distance to the town centre, theatres, conference centre and award winning beaches. On arrival you are greeted by friendly reception staff who will assist and advise you with all of your enquires. In order that we provide the perfect holiday break for you we can also suggest places to visit and book tee off times for golfers and for special occasions discreetly arrange flowers and chocolates in the room. The hotel is personally overseen by our Proprietor, Hamid who prides himself on creating a relaxed and informal atmosphere for all his guests, many who visit us time and time again. All of the staff offer a warm welcome and hospitality with an eye for detail to ensure that the hotel becomes your home during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Durley Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing