We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durley Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Durley Grange Hotel
Ranked #27 of 78 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed in January for a short break with a group of friends. The food is excellent- a good choice for dinner, and a large selection of breakfast dishes. Entertainment every evening of a generally high standard. The hotel is warm, clean and the staff helpful and hard working. Our only reservation would be that the bedrooms seem a little in need of TLC-- non functioning radiator, chipped furniture with unsafe drawers which fell out when opened and a rather old and saggy mattress. However, for a bargain break it's the food and service which matter and they couldn't be faulted.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of the centre of town and the sea front- but uphill coming back! There is also easy access to various bus routes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    124
    27
    14
    14
See reviews for
63
130
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

this hotel seems very popular with retired couples. The staff are all very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Our rooms was a little "tired" but quite adequate. The menu was unfussy and the portions were good. There was a good choice for breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back, overlooking the pool patio. There was a TV, tea and coffee facilities. en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devonwitch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed between Christmas and New Year.
Good Points: Entertainment 10/10, staff 10/10, pool (v cold one day) Jacuzzi, sauna, kippers, soups. Near the centre of Bournemouth and an easy to walk down.
Poor Points: Bed, Bathroom, Room. All in need of updating, but we only stayed there to sleep.

However, we had a good break and were well looked after in other respects.

The staff work extremely hard and the owner should be proud that he has such a dedicated team.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacinSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Durley grange was a lovely exsperience ' with a very warm welcome and a very plesent stay '' all the staff are very friendly'polite' and helpfull ' id rate my stay a 5 / 5 for everything ' and great value for money : )

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewbeccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just a one night, spur of the moment stay. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were exceptional in their welcoming and overall hospitality. Good location for beach, shops and the Bournemouth International Centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Nice room , warm and clean, sink in bathroom cracked, needs bit updating but for price we paid £49 with breakfast is reasonable. 10 minute walk to Bic centre , shopping and beach.perfect location. Breakfast lovely.didnt have evening meal but available for £20, entertainment in evening.we had concert so didnt go to it, didnt use spa , but when looked in it wasnt in use.would stay again as local to facilities

Room Tip: Stayed room 3 , next to sauna, so ideal, didnt use sauna so carnt comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calne wilts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Booked this hotel as a late deal, but I must say just because you book as a late deal you do still expect certain standards. If it had not been that had paid in advance and we were only staying for the one night I would of probably moved hotels. On arriving the welcome was good and the downstairs facilities looked fine, but when allocated our room it felt like we had been put in the dingiest of rooms. The room was tiny, bedding was awful and not matching (but clean), shower would of been ok if you were six feet tall so you could reach the overhead attachment, and the room smelt very damp. The only bonus to this hotel was that we were served a very good breakfast and our waitress was very attentive and polite. Even on the breakfast menu it stated only two items to be had from the buffet section, never seen a limit on any hotel we have stayed at before. Shame really about the facilities as we tend to book hotels quite often and had we been given a good room etc. they may of had our return business - not now though

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guppygat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#37 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#15 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durley Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durley Grange Hotel

Property: Durley Grange Hotel
Address: 6 Durley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 78 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Durley Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Durley Grange is a privately owned, family run hotel, conveniently situated in a quiet corner in the heart of Bournemouth’s prestigious West Cliff and within easy walking distance to the town centre, theatres, conference centre and award winning beaches. On arrival you are greeted by friendly reception staff who will assist and advise you with all of your enquires. In order that we provide the perfect holiday break for you we can also suggest places to visit and book tee off times for golfers and for special occasions discreetly arrange flowers and chocolates in the room. The hotel is personally overseen by our Proprietor, Hamid who prides himself on creating a relaxed and informal atmosphere for all his guests, many who visit us time and time again. All of the staff offer a warm welcome and hospitality with an eye for detail to ensure that the hotel becomes your home during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Durley Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing