We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best value for money hotel I've had in Bournemouth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Durley Grange Hotel
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best value for money hotel I've had in Bournemouth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good clean hotel. I booked 5 rooms for a single Saturday night. Rooms are of adequate size, mine had been recently done up. Would have liked to have seen a more modern shower, rather than run off bath taps which are always difficult to control temperature wise. Breakfast was very good, fresh and filling. Staff (Emma in particular and night porter) were friendly and helpful. Have paid double the amount in Bournemouth and been disappointed. Bournemouth seems to have more than it's fair share of 'tired' hotels. This is not one of them. Try it if you want a value for money stay, it's not posh, but clean, friendly and hard to beat for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    127
    28
    15
    17
See reviews for
72
147
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

For my daughter, two grandons, my wife and I, this first visit to Durley Grange, which was from Friday to Sunday (19th - 21st July), was brilliant. We have stayed in several hotels on the westcliff over the past 40+ years and I can honestly say that this hotel fulfilled all our expectations - and more! Emma and her friendly staff made us so welcome and made sure that we were well looked after. A hearty breafast was served and the dinner menu was excellent and included a fish dish every day. Youngest grandson told us that it was the best hotel food he had ever had. Chef even provided sweet corn for the boys as it is one of their favourite vegetables. Room size was adequate and cl;ean with a comfortable bed. This hotel was a little further from the beach than we have been used to - but nearer the shops - but still just a few minutes to the sands. We spoke to many of the other guests and discovered that nearly all of them had stayed in Durley Grange before with some staying more than once a year. My wife and I have already booked to return in early October and I'm sure that along with many other guests we will enjoy our stay in this very friendly hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnH915_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed here recently for 1 night and did not get a pleasant night sleep due to the noise coming from next door which is apparently a stag and hen hotel I found the bedroom dirty and according to me the sheets hadn't been cleaned from the previous stay, staff were pleasant enough but felt an overriding tension in the air. Talking to fellow guests the hotel seems to be going down hill and savings seem to be made to the detriment of guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed for the weekend from Friday to Sunday, normally stay in a Premier inn or Travelodge as know what you are getting but took a risk and it paid off. The staff were lovely and friendly, they made you feel really welcome. The breakfast was lush, ate way too much, could choose cereals, fruit and yoghurt at the buffet and then breakfast cooked fresh to order with loads of toast! The rooms were spotless. Twin beds, dressing table, tea & coffee making facilities, huge wardrobe, loads of space in the bathroom with a modern shower. Really enjoyed our stay and will return. Also a big thank you (I think Emma) for doing me a massive favour with the car parking situation! Please go and enjoy this hotel, we spoke to people who have been coming to this hotel for 20 years and I can see why.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed Fri to Sun and was blown away from the moment we checked in to the moment we left as to how friendly all the staff were. They can not do enough for you they made us feel at home and very very welcome.

The hotel is in a prime location 5 mins to the beach - everything you need in walking distance.

Room was great, twin room nice spacious shower and lots of space for clothes.

Hotel was very very clean and the breakfast well what can I say - freshly cooked to order and amazing.

This is a must for anyone and def will return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smurf-Hughes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

After deciding to enjoy the extended heat wave with a last minute trip to Bournemouth for a weekend away, we hastily booked a hotel on booking.com but on arrival decided it just wasn't for us so rang up the Durley and luckily enough they had a room left for the night and could check in straight away! Bags dropped off we headed for the beach. Perfect hotel with a relaxed atmosphere nice bar for a chill out beverage before bed, great service and food for breakfast. Will also try and use the pool next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr-Jamesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

we stayed at the durley grange last year and will definitely be back this year,it was a lovely atmosphere, you really feel that your custom is valued and the food is fabulous,we would tell everyone to try this hotel,the staff are excellent .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durley Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durley Grange Hotel

Property: Durley Grange Hotel
Address: 6 Durley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Durley Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Durley Grange is a privately owned, family run hotel, conveniently situated in a quiet corner in the heart of Bournemouth’s prestigious West Cliff and within easy walking distance to the town centre, theatres, conference centre and award winning beaches. On arrival you are greeted by friendly reception staff who will assist and advise you with all of your enquires. In order that we provide the perfect holiday break for you we can also suggest places to visit and book tee off times for golfers and for special occasions discreetly arrange flowers and chocolates in the room. The hotel is personally overseen by our Proprietor, Hamid who prides himself on creating a relaxed and informal atmosphere for all his guests, many who visit us time and time again. All of the staff offer a warm welcome and hospitality with an eye for detail to ensure that the hotel becomes your home during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Durley Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing