We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“excitingly old fashion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Miramar to your Saves list
Hotel Miramar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“excitingly old fashion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Generally very good, suffers a little from employing non English staff but never the less they try very hard to please. The room we had overlooked the car parking area but with the windows open we were able to manage through the hot night without any air con. The food was very good both for breakfast and diner but it felt old fashioned but difficult to put my finger on it. The public rooms were spacious and comfortable and the gardens were well kept and with the good weather lovely to sit out in, even more so for the view. My main problem was with the dish washer as there was either cutlery or crockery that had to be changed pretty much at each sitting.
They obviously are doing something right as they were very busy even though mainly with the older generation. Would be more than happy to go back.

Room Tip: room 110 was very comfortable with all the facilities working except the shower was a bit weak. Flat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DOUGAL_London_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    137
    45
    29
    14
See reviews for
129
208
24
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

10 of us ladies visited the Hotel Miramar for afternoon tea on Sun 20th July - we did book beforehand. As soon as we arrived in the car park, we were greeted by a lovely man that helped organise car parking, as the hotel can get extremely busy. We were seated outside on a lovely decked terrace which overlooked their stunning gardens and the sea! We were blessed with beautiful weather, but our long table was also covered with big garden umbrellas too, which I believe would probably be shower proof. The food was delicious and when asked, we were happily served with additional hot water and milk at no extra charge - yes, some places do charge for this. Our waiter were very friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble. The milk was originally forgotten, but then came quickly after an apology. I would actually now like to stay at the hotel, as well as have another afternoon tea there!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My friend and I visited this hotel for Sunday lunch recently.

It was such a shame that the potatoes were tinned, the swede was diced and obviously previously frozen. The quality of this was poor and it was inedible.

When it came to dessert there was virtually nothing left; it just looked like a big mess. One diner was actually helping himself to the dessert, and was using his hand to hold it whilst cutting it with a knife! Charming. Who would want to eat that after he had been pawing it? I explained this to a member of staff but she was non committal. She enquired if there was anything else but was told no.

Although my friend and I decided not to have a dessert because the choice was so limited, we were still charged for it. I think this is a cheek. We were also charged for the coffee. Double cheek.

There are not enough staff to serve the customers in this hotel and you are often left waiting for a long time to be served.

We won't be returning. Customer care and satisfaction is completely lacking in this establishment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without the air conditioning unit outside. It will keep you awake all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BournemouthBiddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel stands in beautiful grounds on the sea front. The bedrooms have recently been refurbished, and their junior suites are excellent and good value for money. All staff are caring, efficient and friendly and happy to attend to any need. The brother and sister who run the hotel are omnipresent = and it shows. Rooms are extremely comfortable and provide all the amenities you could need (including robes and slippers in the higher priced rooms). Light lunch and tea on the Terrace overlooking the stunning gardens and the sea are just delightful. Food in the dining room is average; somewhat old fashioned for breakfast and dinner, and reminiscent of holidays past! The charm and comfort of this hotel has been cleverly maintained and guests seem to book from year to year. We shall certainly be back.

Room Tip: Try to book sea facing room, and a junior suite if you can afford one. The difference is considerabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel as we enjoyed it very much last visit.We were with my brother and sister in law and had a lovely time.The rooms and bathrooms had been refurbed with beautiful soft furnishings and a modern bathroom.The new outside raised decking area is fabulous especially as the hotel has a great sea view.The breakfast and evening meals were very good and the service excellent. Thanks again for a wonderful couple of days.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. Had a great experience. Well worth the visit lovely hotel all round. Good location. Delightful town .......will visit again......most enjoyable .... Can recommend if you are on holiday here and want a treat or relaxing time

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Alasdair-Roxburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Delightful and annoying in equal measure. A warm and welcoming environment with lots of attention to detail juxtaposed with jarring oversights. Endless air conditioning complaints were heard at reception although ours worked fine, showers were barely more than a drip. Newly refurb toilets had bare wires sticking out of walls. Beautiful gardens and a homely feel. Mostly the staff were outstanding, the Night Porter and James to name two most memorable. The Head Breakfast waitress tried to argue with everyone - endlessly.

There was an issue with a beer glass but if it arrives as promised then there won't be a further comment.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DrachirSiwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,878 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Miramar
Miramar Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing