We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Miramar to your Saves list
Hotel Miramar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. Had a great experience. Well worth the visit lovely hotel all round. Good location. Delightful town .......will visit again......most enjoyable .... Can recommend if you are on holiday here and want a treat or relaxing time

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Alasdair-Roxburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    137
    45
    29
    14
See reviews for
129
208
24
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Delightful and annoying in equal measure. A warm and welcoming environment with lots of attention to detail juxtaposed with jarring oversights. Endless air conditioning complaints were heard at reception although ours worked fine, showers were barely more than a drip. Newly refurb toilets had bare wires sticking out of walls. Beautiful gardens and a homely feel. Mostly the staff were outstanding, the Night Porter and James to name two most memorable. The Head Breakfast waitress tried to argue with everyone - endlessly.

There was an issue with a beer glass but if it arrives as promised then there won't be a further comment.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DrachirSiwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Our wedding day at the Miramar hotel was just amazing.
Miramar is a very beautiful and stylish venue, with its old-fashion listed building, lovely garden and breath-taking sea views. Hotel is very well-maintained and, at the time of our wedding in May 2014, the whole third floor public areas, rooms and downstairs toilets were freshly renovated and spotless. We stayed in the Bridal Suite which also was refurbished; and our wedding pictures, taken in the room, on the balcony, outside garden area and the function room and lounge are absolutely amazing.
Staff at the Miramar are real wedding specialists, and their professionalism and attention to every little detail were remarkable. Service at the hotel is excellent, and all staff very friendly, attentive and polite. We would like to pass special thanks to Front of House Manager Marcin, who helped us to plan everything, we and all our guests are very impressed with his passion and outstanding skills. Nothing was too much problem, and Marcin always had time to discuss our requirements when it suited us, very often in the late evening hours. Overall we had a really great experience, and we didn't go for one of the wedding packages offered by the hotel, but instead planned more of a private lunch party. I also have to mention that our perfect wedding function didn’t cost us a fortune.
On our wedding day, May the 22nd, from the early morning, it rained. Heavily. We decided to have our ceremony at Bournemouth Registry office, then planned to have some pictures taken in beautiful Bournemouth gardens, before arriving at the Miramar for our wedding lunch with our 30 guests. However, straight after the ceremony, we were asked to leave the Town Hall building immediately with all our guests as they needed space for the next wedding. Not only in the rain but also a thunderstorm we had to wait for cars to pick us up, and, having no choice, we decided to go straight to the hotel, hour and a half earlier than planned. Despite of us arriving at the hotel much earlier than agreed, we were sincerely welcomed, and had plenty of space organised in the lounge to greet our guests. Furthermore, the hotel offered to serve our lunch earlier due to horrible weather and the last minute change of plans. We have moved the meal time forward, and then the miracle happened- sun was shining unexpectedly, and we still had plenty of time to take beautiful wedding photos in the stunning front garden.
Our wedding lunch was fabulous. The Library room looked very elegant and was decorated exactly as we wanted. The food was simply excellent. My husband is a chef, and despite the hotel offering several different wedding package menus options we have designed our own menu. Not only the meal was delicious, but the presentation of the food was gorgeous. Hotel catered for all dietary requirements; from diary free meals or variety of children menus to alcoholic-free fruit punch and our own choice of wine. We still hear compliments from our guests, and some of them have already retuned to Miramar for lunches and afternoon teas.
What we and our guests liked most about Miramar was the relaxed but posh atmosphere throughout the day. Since the moment we arrived, everything was just as we wanted. After our delicious meal, and wedding cake cutting and toast, we nipped out and went to the beach for some more wedding pictures. When we returned our guests were already in the lounge with drinks and having fun. Because 6 out of our 30 guests were babies and young children we didn’t have the usual evening reception and disco, instead we had a peaceful afternoon with kiddies running and playing around the lounge, we had time to talk to all of our guests and open our lovely wedding gifts together. Again, everything was arranged by the hotel and the service was excellent. In the evening we listened to the beautiful music by the hotel pianist and had some wedding cake and more drinks. Our small wedding was definitely tailor-made for us and everyone at the Miramar did everything to make us so very happy. We can honestly recommend the Miramar as a perfect wedding venue; and we talking not just from our experience, but have also attended our friend’s wedding there and have really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Agnieszka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel staff are well mannered and attentive . The hotel as been refurbished but it is not austentacious . The food is exceptional . The grounds are well kept and the views over the Bournemouth bay over to Poole and Studland are magnificent. Definately on a sunny day it is the place to have your drink or meal. At the end of the day it comes down to price and you get a lot for your money . The price is spot on and not too expensive for a 3 * hotel. The location is perfect. The beach is within 5 minutes walk away and you are there.

Room Tip: Ask if there is any wedding celebrations during your stay. It can get a bit noisey when people enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBrod2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is ia really good hotel, very clean and tidy with exemplary service. Great location and very good food. The room was well equipped and the bed was big and comfortable. Car parking on site (free) and easy walk to key locations in Bournemouth including the town centre and the seafont acttractions.

I unreservedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsdoidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Had a great afternoon tea in the gardens of this hotel overlooking the sea...although halfway through the heavens opened and the brilliant staff efficiently removed us to indoor tables. The hotel pianist added ambience to the traditional atmosphere. Good service, brilliant cakes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMICHAEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

we have just celebrated our daughters wedding at the Miramar and it was amazing. The whole staff couldnt do enough to assure that everything went off well . We were able to have the ceremony outside as our daughter wanted and every little detail was catered for . The food that was served at the reception was delicious and special thanks has to go to the staff that arranged the table centres that were rather unusual but arranged beautifully and exactly as our daughter had planned. We will certainly recommend the Miramar and thanks to all the staff

Room Tip: ask for a junior suite .Amazing rooms with balconies and beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seahorse238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,878 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Miramar
Miramar Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing