We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Marvellous Miramar”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
from midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still Marvellous Miramar”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband &I have just returned from another break at the miramar Hotel,We have lost count how many times we have been. We do know it will not be the last visit.!! Everything was superb no surprise there! Staff so friendly & efficent. Congratulations on being awarded Four star status you certainly deserve it. We loved the new decor etc. very tasteful. Thank you all for all your hard work to ensure we had a wonderful stay. Regards from brian& Sheila room 117.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shebaFromMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    181
    66
    33
    20
See reviews for
174
277
35
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel 4, perhaps 5 times, and have always had a good standard of room with excellent service and food. However, since our last visit, the rooms and other areas have been refurbished and updated to an excellent standard so our stay was even more enjoyable. The hotel is a one off, not part of a chain, and in a great location along the sea front. It is very well managed and I cannot think of anything I can dislike about it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bardi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We have now visited hotel Miramar on four occasions and we have found the service to be first class and now that the facilities have been up- dated they now equal the service provided by the
friendly staff .
.

Room Tip: book well in advance to get sea -view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Spent 3 nights here in March with half board. I'm afraid that I am unable to add to the comments by previous guests of this first-class establishment-VALUE for money would be my main comment. You actually DO feel at home at the Miramar and I feel that the management has made homeliness as their number one priority. Congratulations to ALL staff at this hotel of which Bournemouth must be very proud and rightly so !!

Room Tip: Sea-view room if you can getit !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, South Wales
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just had one night at the Miramar, the hotel and staff were both friendly and welcoming. We had a standard room which was very clean and had everything that we needed. If I was to be a little picky the wallpaper did need attention in a few places and the cold water in the hand basin was a trickle. The proximity of the hotel to all amenities is just a ten minute walk and other hotels could learn from the lovely brightly painted corridors that led to the rooms. How nice and clean and fresh they looked. Would definitely reccommend and stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juaradawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I moved out of a hotel in the town because it was not satisfactory. Walked into the Miramar to enquire about availability and rates.. Greeted in a warm and friendly manner by receptionist Martin and a smiling young lady so decided to stay. This hotel is beautifully situated on East Cliff close to the town centre. Family run and it shows. It is clear that there is constant reinvestment and the hotel has recently been redecorated and I had a big well appointed bedroom and bathroom. The level of service throughout the hotel is attentive and always helpful. Breakfast and Dinner really good. The only minor drawback was that I found the television difficult to operate. The public areas, lounges etc were comfortable spacious and relaxing places. Talking to other residents I soon discovered that many of them were returning highly satisfied customers. Night porter John was friendly with good humour reflecting the high standards and was clearly proud of working in the Miramar. I have lived in hotels 2/3 days a week for years and this hotel is up there with the best. Mike Vaudin.Guernsey

Room Tip: Maybe pay a little extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had a family 80th birthday celebration at the Hotel Miramar and could not have been more pleased. From the moment we called the hotel to enquire about having a lunch there they went above and beyond to make my mum's birthday a very special occasion. We had a luncheon for 20 guests in the library and it was fabulous! The food was excellent along with the service. This is a family run hotel that provides you very personalized service, they make you feel as though you are the only ones being catered to which of course you are not!! I would highly recommend this hotel to cater your 'special occasion'!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl3374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: E Overcliff Dr, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Hotel Miramar is an Edwardian building featuring Roman inspired pillars and curved balconies that overlook the sea and the landscaped gardens. Located less than a mile from Bournemouth town centre and offering free Wi-Fi and free private parking. The award-winning chef serves such delights as Tempura Prawns and Roasted Cannon of Lamb from the seaview restaurant, as well as a traditional Sunday lunch. Afternoon tea including sandwiches and scones are offered from the Ocean Bar and Terrace, as well as a lighter lunch menu. All rooms at the Miramar offer either sea or garden views and some room types feature large private balconies. All rooms include a flat-screen TV with Freeview, tea/coffee making facilities, as well as a seating area and a tiled en suite bathroom. Bournemouth Rail Station is located within a mile of the hotel and the sea front can be reached within 5 minutes on foot. Sandbanks, a popular and prestigious peninsula in England, is just a 15-minute drive away. This is our guests' favorite part of Bournemouth, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Bournemouth! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Miramar
Miramar Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing