We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and very welcome tea experience”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Following a sad funeral, we really appreciated the splendid afternoon tea. An delicious spread, good value and warm friendly welcome. It was served in their spacious lounge and were looked Thank you for cheering us up on a cold damp day.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank GillySouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Miramar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 782 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed for four nights with four friends and in their words, "the stay was memorable". Greeted with a bottle of champagne and fresh fruit and a lovely room and bathroom. Each night we enjoyed a cocktail party and canapes and wonderful food. David, Jane (and Mum) make everyone feel special. Presents every night on our pillow add to the excitement. The New Year black tie dinner and dance in the garden room was spectacular and beautifully decorated.and the Mama Mia singing group perfect for our age group. Dancing to a different group each evening. Top marks for wonderful , polite and caring staff all reflecting good management.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size and location.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I have been to a few hotels at Christmas over the years in England and abroad but this year I stayed at the Miramar what a Christmas it was the best time in a hotel ive ever had food service the staff were amazing nothing was too much trouble I have rebooked for next Christmas and hopefully ill go in the summer can t wait ti go back

Room Tip: 212 overlooking the sea and garden and 215
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidoff418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Hotel Miramar is a top end 3* hotel that offers a quality stay The location is ideal at the western end of the the East Cliff so it is only a short walk into the town centre and the seafront
The rooms are large and spotless and the floors are under renovation at this time.
We found the staff friendly and helpful and when we return to Bournemouth again I will book this hotel Having attended a function that included afternnon tea we did not have dinner,However breakfast was good and is served in a room overlooking the garden no dried up eggs and bacon under spot lights here .Waiter service with freshly cooked food straight from the kitchen.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAXONY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for a Monday night in November. The hotel is in a superb position overlooking the beach at Bournemouth. We were disappointed we weren't staying during the summer months, especially the great summer of 2013, as this hotel has wonderful gardens overlooking the beach. Out door seating, a large lawned area and palm trees, it would be a wonderful place to sit for an early evening drink or lunch on a sunny day.

The hotel offers car parking but do not approach via the road closest to the beach if you need to park a car. The part of the hotel that overlooks the beach is the back not the front and the car park is at the front. You need to take the road behind the sea front avenue.

Our check-in wasn't as smooth as it might have been but this was largely due to the staff being involved in making a Christmas video. Once someone appeared at reception check-in was smooth and we were quickly on our way to our room. The hotel was undergoing some redecoration mainly on the floor below our room. We were not disturbed or inconvenienced by this.

It was a short walk into the town along the promenade and through the civic gardens.

We had a drink in the bar before having a meal elsewhere. The bar service was friendly and the area was comfortable. The prices of the drinks were what you would expect to pay in hotels.

Our room was on the side of the hotel with a slight view of the sea. It was a good size, pleasantly decorated (I would say parts of it had been refurbished within the last year but I could be wrong), the tv reception was sporadic but this could have been due to the weather, it was warm and comfortable. The bathroom did appear to have had a recent remodelling. Clean, crisp white fitments, an excellent shower, good towels, a very acceptable bathroom.

Sadly the bed was not as comfortable as it might have been but there was no traffic noise to disturb us.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and it was excellent. The dining room overlooks the sea and we sat there enjoying an excellent breakfast, superbly served and cooked while watching the
Isle of Wight ferry sail into Lymington. It was a very pleasant way to start the day.

Would we return, in one word, yes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welsh40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

If you long for old fashioned hotels that serve china tea amidst the chintz, enjoy colourful kaleidoscope Kidderminster carpets, soft lighting and subdued conversation by Bournemouth's seniors this place is for you. There are precious few like it in what was once a classy resort. The Miramar doesn't do minimalistic, no bare floors or 'modern' art, and no high chairs stacked in the dining room for the loud and young.
Sure you won't be able to park until the afternoon set have gone, and judging by the average incompetent aged driver trying to maneuverer into and out of a parking space you'll be glad you delayed your arrival if staying overnight.
The cosy lounge with discreet Christmas decorations is a haven, and the tea and scones were perfect. The olden days live on at the oh so BRITISH Miramar, and hurrah for that. Shame the East European bar staff encountered were abrupt and unsmiling and more interested in conversing with each other. .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunbeamSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I simply love everything about the Miramar Hotel, from the amaaaazing sea front location with it's gorgeous garden and relaxing decking area, and views to better anywhere else in Bournemouth (easy to imagine your abroad when the sun is shining)

The management (David and Jane etc) and staff are extremly friendly and attentive, helping to make each and every visit a joy and a memorable experience…

I have visited lots of hotels in Bournemouth, but the Miramar is always my No.1 choice when I think of somewhere to take my friends, family or neighbours for lunch or just a coffee, even on my own it's such a great place to just chill out with a good book and natter to the regulars!

I celebrated my 50th Birthday there my friends and family and the food was really terrific…they also do a great job of decorating for christmas so I'm now looking forward to spending some lovely warm and cozy afternoons there, dreaming of another good summer listening to the jazz and watching the Bournemouth Air show from the balcony while having a delicious cream tea and sandwiches :)

Even though it says 3 stars above the door, and nowhere can be perfect, the "M" is definitely 5 stars for me…

Room Tip: You can't beat a great sea view, and the "M's" balcony rooms have one of the best...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Infinityjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: E Overcliff Dr, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $115 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Hotel Miramar is an Edwardian building featuring Roman inspired pillars and curved balconies that overlook the sea and the landscaped gardens. Located less than a mile from Bournemouth town centre and offering free Wi-Fi and free private parking. The award-winning chef serves such delights as Tempura Prawns and Roasted Cannon of Lamb from the seaview restaurant, as well as a traditional Sunday lunch. Afternoon tea including sandwiches and scones are offered from the Ocean Bar and Terrace, as well as a lighter lunch menu. All rooms at the Miramar offer either sea or garden views and some room types feature large private balconies. All rooms include a flat-screen TV with Freeview, tea/coffee making facilities, as well as a seating area and a tiled en suite bathroom. Bournemouth Rail Station is located within a mile of the hotel and the sea front can be reached within 5 minutes on foot. Sandbanks, a popular and prestigious peninsula in England, is just a 15-minute drive away. This is our guests' favorite part of Bournemouth, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Bournemouth! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Miramar
Miramar Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing