We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral UK.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Miramar for many years now each time for a week in May. Its a business trip so a busy week. I cannot praise the hotel enough, it is a haven for the week, the service is consistently good, the Management is excellent and the fact that they retain the same staff is testament to that. Our Company host a big party at the hotel each year and I have never been disappointed with their organisation and the quality of the food which has been a different theme each year. It is a pleasure to return each year, to walk through the door and see all the same friendly faces who simply cannot do enough for you. The food is first class and breakfast is freshly cooked to order. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    186
    68
    35
    22
See reviews for
179
285
36
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Booked this Hotel following positive reviews from Tripadvisor. It could and should be a really nice Hotel. It has lovely grounds and is well located. Rooms are a big let down with a tiny bed with a mattress dating back to the coronation. Bedding reminded me of my chilhood, with wooly blanket and sheets. Surely this is rare in a Hotel nowadays.? Breakfast was quite nice and again in a really nice setting. I really need internet when I travel and this Hotel is supposed to have WIFI. The WIFI was down with no immediate chance of fixing it any time soon. There was no apology from the Hotel. I expalined that a lot of Hotels now charge for WIFI, "oh no Sir, ours i free" I was told. "but you don't have any" I replied and so it went on. I feel entitled to a discount for this loss of amenities, but gave up with the staff who were vague and looked like they had better things to do than talk to me. A real shame...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndySilverfox7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have held three retirement lunches a year for several years at the Miramar and have always had excellent meals and service from the friendly staff. Our guests enjoy the location by the sea, and many enjoy a stroll along Bournemouth pier before or after lunch. Those coming from further away can stay for a short break and enjoy the other attractions in the area.

Room Tip: At popular holiday times (or conferences in Bournemouth) book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35Rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

What an absolute gem of a hotel , set on the sea front in full view of the ocean, it has beautiful gardens with comfy sunbeds. The terrace is a gorgeous place to sit and soak up the sun and view. We only stayed for one night, I am a really fussy person and this hotel was perfect , we had room 112 (sea view) and it was spacious and the bed was huge.
Breakfast was delicious and well presented.
Staff were extra polite , however the only negative was as we sat on the terrace a waiter ( young) was miserable and said he was stressed,I tried to get him to smile but he looked absolutely glum! We has a cream tea and it was fabulous!
Do not hesitate , book this hotel you will not be disappointed. I want to go back now, we paid £120 for a deluxe rm plus breaks. Ten times better than hotel suncliffe where we had stayed week previously, don't bother with that one its not a patch on the Miramar.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cookie6892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

After a celebration of life which was held on 6th July, over 50 friends and family meet up for afternoon tea. The service was outstanding, Theo was a great help before the event and all the staff we could not fault- after a sad event it was so nice to arrive to see the staff smiling.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Had my daughter's Wedding Reception here on Saturday July 6th 2013. Because of this my wife and myself along with quite a few wedding guests stayed overnight. I really can't fault the reception, right from when we booked it months ago, the hotel's manager, David Bailey, along with his assistant, Brett, have been brillant.
The reception was decorated beautifully, the food was of top quality and everything went of without a hitch. My only small complaint about the wedding was the small bar for the evening part of the reception was initially manned by only one barman. I witnessed somebody paying by card and the barman having to wave the card machine in the air to get a signal so it worked. However a small word at reception and the problem was soon rectified, they soon staffed the bar with an extra barman.
After the reeption, went our room, bed was comfortable, shower was good, no complaints at all. Breakfast in the morning was nice, what there was of it. This is why my review is given 4 and not 5 stars. Yes you can fill yourself up with cereal, but if you order a Full English breakast and the largest item you get on your plate is your semi grilled tomato, its a bit of a let down.we had also had an issue on the day before the wedding when, the bride, myself, best man and two of the bridesmaids had lunch at the hotel. Most people ordered jacket potatoes with tuna or something similar, however my daughter just ordered a plain ham sandwich. Most people had got their potatoes and consumed most of them before my daughter got her sandwich and it had taken two enquiries by myself. Not particularly good service. However on the day of the wedding all the staff were exceptional!
On the Friday night, the night before the wedding, we stayed at the St Leonards Hotel.(see my review on that) We paid £72 less there than the Hotel Miramar, for all in all probably a marginally better experience. I appreciate you are paying somewhat for the location as you have fantastic sea views from the beautiful, well kept gardens.
Generaly a great experience, would I stay here again? Probably not, as there are cheaper options, but a good hotel nonetheless!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pieBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just come back from a 2 night stay with friends at this 3 star hotel. The hotel itself is in a fantastic location; very near to the beach front. The gardens are immaculate and well maintained with beautiful flowers. Inside the hotel, it is very clean and well presented, although very dated. We did joke that it looked like an old people's home! Our rooms were located on the second floor and we had both booked a deluxe sea view. When we started to climb the stairs (there is a lift) to our rooms we all commented on how hot it was and our rooms were even hotter! One bonus is that it does have air conditioning, although ours was slightly temperamental. We did have to get a member of staff to come up and look at it and it had a wedge of cardboard holding the filter of the unit up. Once working, it worked well and we kept it on all night. We were very fortunate as had a hot weekend so were grateful of it, especially at night. I don't think we would have slept If we didn't have it.
Breakfast was ok; a selection of cereal, then a cooked breakfast and toast. We all felt the service needed to be improved. It was not busy, yet we waited to be seated and then had to ask for the milk to be replenished for the cereal etc. we also felt the majority of the staff at the hotel needed some people skills. There were no 'good mornings' or niceties they were just there, even when we checked out we were not asked how our stay was or whether there were any problems in the room. There were a couple of maintenance issues within the room but as we were not asked we didn't want to come across as moaning.
We spent afternoons and evenings before we went out to eat in the hotel and we were all drinking Magners cider. They did run out and made the effort to go out and get some more, knowing that was our drinking choice.
Unfortunately our friends had their car scuffed whilst in the car park and whilst they did have a look at the CCTV, unfortunately the van that was parked in front of it obscured the view! The hotel were very apologetic, but he still has a scuffed car!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sambina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: E Overcliff Dr, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Hotel Miramar is an Edwardian building featuring Roman inspired pillars and curved balconies that overlook the sea and the landscaped gardens. Located less than a mile from Bournemouth town centre and offering free Wi-Fi and free private parking. The award-winning chef serves such delights as Tempura Prawns and Roasted Cannon of Lamb from the seaview restaurant, as well as a traditional Sunday lunch. Afternoon tea including sandwiches and scones are offered from the Ocean Bar and Terrace, as well as a lighter lunch menu. All rooms at the Miramar offer either sea or garden views and some room types feature large private balconies. All rooms include a flat-screen TV with Freeview, tea/coffee making facilities, as well as a seating area and a tiled en suite bathroom. Bournemouth Rail Station is located within a mile of the hotel and the sea front can be reached within 5 minutes on foot. Sandbanks, a popular and prestigious peninsula in England, is just a 15-minute drive away. This is our guests' favorite part of Bournemouth, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Bournemouth! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Miramar
Miramar Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing