We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Wedding Reception!”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had my daughter's Wedding Reception here on Saturday July 6th 2013. Because of this my wife and myself along with quite a few wedding guests stayed overnight. I really can't fault the reception, right from when we booked it months ago, the hotel's manager, David Bailey, along with his assistant, Brett, have been brillant.
The reception was decorated beautifully, the food was of top quality and everything went of without a hitch. My only small complaint about the wedding was the small bar for the evening part of the reception was initially manned by only one barman. I witnessed somebody paying by card and the barman having to wave the card machine in the air to get a signal so it worked. However a small word at reception and the problem was soon rectified, they soon staffed the bar with an extra barman.
After the reeption, went our room, bed was comfortable, shower was good, no complaints at all. Breakfast in the morning was nice, what there was of it. This is why my review is given 4 and not 5 stars. Yes you can fill yourself up with cereal, but if you order a Full English breakast and the largest item you get on your plate is your semi grilled tomato, its a bit of a let down.we had also had an issue on the day before the wedding when, the bride, myself, best man and two of the bridesmaids had lunch at the hotel. Most people ordered jacket potatoes with tuna or something similar, however my daughter just ordered a plain ham sandwich. Most people had got their potatoes and consumed most of them before my daughter got her sandwich and it had taken two enquiries by myself. Not particularly good service. However on the day of the wedding all the staff were exceptional!
On the Friday night, the night before the wedding, we stayed at the St Leonards Hotel.(see my review on that) We paid £72 less there than the Hotel Miramar, for all in all probably a marginally better experience. I appreciate you are paying somewhat for the location as you have fantastic sea views from the beautiful, well kept gardens.
Generaly a great experience, would I stay here again? Probably not, as there are cheaper options, but a good hotel nonetheless!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 791 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just come back from a 2 night stay with friends at this 3 star hotel. The hotel itself is in a fantastic location; very near to the beach front. The gardens are immaculate and well maintained with beautiful flowers. Inside the hotel, it is very clean and well presented, although very dated. We did joke that it looked like an old people's home! Our rooms were located on the second floor and we had both booked a deluxe sea view. When we started to climb the stairs (there is a lift) to our rooms we all commented on how hot it was and our rooms were even hotter! One bonus is that it does have air conditioning, although ours was slightly temperamental. We did have to get a member of staff to come up and look at it and it had a wedge of cardboard holding the filter of the unit up. Once working, it worked well and we kept it on all night. We were very fortunate as had a hot weekend so were grateful of it, especially at night. I don't think we would have slept If we didn't have it.
Breakfast was ok; a selection of cereal, then a cooked breakfast and toast. We all felt the service needed to be improved. It was not busy, yet we waited to be seated and then had to ask for the milk to be replenished for the cereal etc. we also felt the majority of the staff at the hotel needed some people skills. There were no 'good mornings' or niceties they were just there, even when we checked out we were not asked how our stay was or whether there were any problems in the room. There were a couple of maintenance issues within the room but as we were not asked we didn't want to come across as moaning.
We spent afternoons and evenings before we went out to eat in the hotel and we were all drinking Magners cider. They did run out and made the effort to go out and get some more, knowing that was our drinking choice.
Unfortunately our friends had their car scuffed whilst in the car park and whilst they did have a look at the CCTV, unfortunately the van that was parked in front of it obscured the view! The hotel were very apologetic, but he still has a scuffed car!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sambina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just stayed for two nights with friends.Excellent sea view from our bedroom.Bed too small and had blankets which we didn't like. Furniture rather dated. Marks on the dressing table.Shower over bath very nice. Have read reviews about how hot the higher floors were which I agree with. I thought it was wrong of them to not put the air conditioning on for us just before we checked in when it was a hot day. It was so hot in the room that we could not stay in there and had to come back later when the ac had worked.
The cooked breakfast was small dont think I have ever had such a small one on my trips. The self service cereals etc did not have much choice. The staff didn't seem to be very professional at all.We were not seated both mornings and even had to wait while they laid a table for us.Why wasnt it done before as they were not busy????The gardens and garden furniture were very nice and we enjoyed sitting outside for drinks in the sun.We enjoyed our stay but paid a lot of money for our rooms and didn't feel our stay was worth the money .

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank marlon226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Miramar hotel for 2 nights at the end of June when the weather was fabulous. The hotel was quite easy to find and the car park at the back had lots of spaces. The reception staff were friendly, chatty and helpful. Our 2 rooms on the second floor at the side were adequate with sea views of the Isle of Wight. It was very hot in the room when we arrived but we kept the windows open for our stay which helped. The décor is rather dated but the bathrooms have been refurbished recently and the shower was good. Although there are tea and coffee making facilities in the room bottles of water would be good and may be a fridge with drinks. It is unusual to have sheets and blankets on the bed these days but we coped. Dinner was very good,- we were shown to our table in the bay window with lovely views of the garden and sea and it was good that this remained our table for the duration of our visit. The service was efficient but relaxed and the food was obviously cooked to order. Our starters of Mediterranean vegetable tart and selection of fruit were tasty and our main courses of trout and beef bourginon were excellent. The dessert buffet table only had 4 choices but we enjoyed the lemon mousse and cheese and biscuits. My elderly father enjoyed the attentive service throughout our visit. The breakfasts were fine with a selection of cereals and fruit and the cooked breakfast was cooked to order rather than buffet which was good. We would have preferred to have the coffee pot on the table rather than ask for a refill. The reception staff were helpful when asked about local places to visit. This hotel caters well for older people as there are few facilities for young children. Although there was a wedding with disco our first evening it didn't disturb our sleep. In conclusion we really enjoyed our visit to the Miramar and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheilambutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend at the Hotel Miramar. The hotel is in a wonderful position with beautiful gardens overlooking the sea. Short walk into Bournemouth town one way and into Boscombe the other way.
Room was lovely, decorated to the style of a country hotel and the breakfast was very good.
Very peaceful and relaxing, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill561027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a very nice Sunday lunch in the hotel's welcoming dining room. You get 4 courses, a choice of starters (with a bread roll and butter), then soup or sorbet, followed by a choice or roast meats, fish or vegetarian option. To round it all off you can choose from an excellent selection of desserts. The food was well cooked and the silver service was excellent. They also have a very good wine list.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Katlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having booked in for our anniversary we were very excited. We had, on numerous occasions, been for Sunday lunch, weekday lunch and had even been for Christmas Day lunch. The service has always been good and food very good. So when our anniversary came around we thought it would be brilliant to spend the night after a lovely meal and just chill and have lunch the following day there too.

Unfortunately staying is not nearly as good as Sunday lunch.

On arrival we went up to our room on the 2nd floor to be greeted by the hottest corridor and room I've ever been in. We opened the window directly and then noticed the room had air conditioning so closed the window and after 20 mins of fiddling with the air conditioning and failing opened the window. (I am used to air conditioning I know how it works).

On checking the bed it had blankets. Who has blankets in their hotel these days! I never thought to find this out before hand and had to strip them out as I am allergic to blankets. Oh and the bed definitely wasn't a double somewhere between single and double. Tiny.

On arriving for dinner and shown to our table they seemed keen to get us out ASAP. We had hardly sat down before they asked for our order. After returning for a couple of times we placed our order and asked to order wine. We were told by the waitress that it was not her job and the wine waiter would be around shortly. Within a minute a waiter brought our starter and again we asked to order wine and he also was incapable of taking our order. We sat looking at our starters for 5 mins or so before the wine waiter arrived. As soon as my fork hit the plate finishing the starter it was whisked away to be replaced by the main course. The dessert was buffet so we could take our time. The food was good but it felt very rushed and we wanted our wine with our whole meal not just a bit of it. Also whilst there was a candle holder on the table no candle was in it. Why have one on the table if its not going to be used? We hoped that the hotel would have at least lit a candle in the holder. We had told them it was a special anniversary. Maybe they have lots of people having special anniversaries and therefore have no interest or want you to pay for the privilege of a candle who knows.

On returning to our room it was no cooler. After a practically sleepless night because of the heat we decided to check out early and go home to sleep. The evening was humid but as with the summer in general not hot.

The breakfast was sparse and uninteresting. Plus we came up against another waiter who wasn't going to do something that wasn't his job. Waiting to be seated with another guest he wandered by fiddled with cutlery and wandered back when asked where we should sit he said someone else would show us and wandered off. I am afraid our fellow guest, a businessman lost patience and left. Perhaps staff need to learn or be allowed to multi task.

We checked out early another guest also complained of the heat on the second floor. Another was on the first floor also complained of the heat and said the heating was on which explains a lot.

I would say that if you are elderly or find the cold you will probably be ok otherwise avoid. Definitely don't sleep on the 2nd floor even if the view is great.

I am sad to say we had great hopes of returning but we won't. We have stayed in lots of 3* hotels and this one is bottom of the list and I won't recommend it. We will stick to Sunday lunch although not for a while it leaves a bad taste.

Oh and a final thought we are privilege members and no privileges were forthcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janwisteria53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.4 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,065 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: E Overcliff Dr, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $115 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Hotel Miramar is an Edwardian building featuring Roman inspired pillars and curved balconies that overlook the sea and the landscaped gardens. Located less than a mile from Bournemouth town centre and offering free Wi-Fi and free private parking. The award-winning chef serves such delights as Tempura Prawns and Roasted Cannon of Lamb from the seaview restaurant, as well as a traditional Sunday lunch. Afternoon tea including sandwiches and scones are offered from the Ocean Bar and Terrace, as well as a lighter lunch menu. All rooms at the Miramar offer either sea or garden views and some room types feature large private balconies. All rooms include a flat-screen TV with Freeview, tea/coffee making facilities, as well as a seating area and a tiled en suite bathroom. Bournemouth Rail Station is located within a mile of the hotel and the sea front can be reached within 5 minutes on foot. Sandbanks, a popular and prestigious peninsula in England, is just a 15-minute drive away. This is our guests' favorite part of Bournemouth, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Bournemouth! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Miramar
Miramar Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing