We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This is the best hotel I have stayed in. The staff were fantastic - I telephoned a few days before, stating it was my birthday, and on arrival we had been upgraded complimentary for my birthday to a suite overlooking the sea - it was sheer bliss.
There was a wedding on during the day but plenty of staff to cope with the wedding guests and hotel guests. The sun shone brightly and it was a perfect break.
We went out for the evening and returned at 2am - the night porter let us in and opened the bar for us and chatted for ages telling us lots of ghost stories - and booked us in for breakfast in our room for the morning - nothing was too much trouble.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Cant wait to return!!

Room Tip: Rooms were updated, clean, tidy and lots of extras. We had flower boxes on our balcony which were we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyPentreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    181
    66
    33
    20
See reviews for
174
277
35
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The hotel was very busy not only with guests staying there but also with weddings and other celebratory occasions. Every thing was very well presented and the staff coped extremely well under pressure.f

The gardens at this hotel were beautifully kept and well maintained with masses of colour.

The food was good and the restaurant staff was very efficient and helpful. The rooms were well presented and spacious with walk in wardrobes. Lovely.

The only criticism I would make is that for the smokers among us, the terrace was a lovely place to sit and puff away but there were no ashtrays on the tables although there was a container for cigarette stubs but not readily visible from the terrace.. However this wasn't used by all of the guests who stubbed them out on the floor.Bad paractice. Also a litter bin on the terrace would have been useful.

Othere than that, I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeejayStourbridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

I think £17.50 extra per night for a sea view is a bit steep and doesn't represent good value for money as this hotel is 3 star not 4 star and they do charge 4 star prices in my opinion. The hotel commands a good position and is well decorated. The service is good and the food okay. Our shower ran barely luke warm which was disappointing to say the least, the pump was really labouring and we did report it so hopefully they'll fix it. We had a nice weekend so mustn't grumble but we have had better value.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vintage1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2011

I spent 2 nights in a first floor room with a view of the sea. Room and bathroom were in good order and clean, everything worked, no problems. Breakfast and dinner were very good and the service was particularly good. it was a welcoming hotel with friendly staff and it was very efficiently managed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delboy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

If i had seen it on internet i wouldnt have picked it but as we just walked in we had choice of rooms with sea view.Staff were great ,room was big,clean and we both slept well and enjoyed our short stay,and no parking charge

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

we booked the Hotel Miramar for our Wedding in October 2010.
All i can say about this hotel is PERFECT!

Throughout the entire planning process nothing was ever too much trouble
I chaecked into the hotel the day before the wedding along with 12 other members of the wedding party - all rooms were clean and tidy - we were all treated with respect and as the bride to be i was greated by name by the reception staff.
My Husbands elderly grandparents were allocated a room close to the lifts to enable them to easily go to their room through out the day if required.

I was made to feel special by all staff that i spoke to on the morning of the wedding and all of the details were discussed with me directly to ensure that i received exactly what i wanted.

The food service for the 100 guests was fantastic, the quality and portion size could not be faulted - our dietary requirements were handeled with ease.

Service through out the day and into the evening was fantasic - when my husband and i checked in to our honeymoon suite my bags were moved into the new suite without being requested - our "spare" wedding cake and jugs of iced water were taken to the room during the evening for us.

Following the evening reception the staff collected and stored all of our gifts, cards and other items relating to the wedding - these were looked after in a locked area until we were ready to collect.

All in all i must say that all of the staff - front of house and behind the scene - worked well together as a team to give us the perfect day.
All areas were clean and tidy, nothing was ever too much trouble
This is a family run hotel and i would not heistate to recommend this hotel for any function or stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coneyfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I have stayed in lots of 3 and 4 star hotels in Bournemouth due to business and personal trips. I can recommend the Miramar, with just one reservation: before booking ask if there is a function on Friday or Saturday night. Bass notes from cheap, powerful amplifiers can reverberate throughout the old hotel in the late evening, making rest or sleep very difficult.

The staff and management I met were all excellent. The food was freshly cooked and extremely good. The bar prices are standard restaurant prices (just about 10% more than pub prices) and perfectly acceptable. The rooms seem reasonably spacious and the bathroom quite adequate.

Parking is easy and free (unlike the Marriott). For the prices charged and the good location I believe this hotel represents good value all round and is probably the best 3 star hotel in Bournemouth. I will definitely stay here again - but not over a weekend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FileUnderPopular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,420 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: E Overcliff Dr, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Hotel Miramar is an Edwardian building featuring Roman inspired pillars and curved balconies that overlook the sea and the landscaped gardens. Located less than a mile from Bournemouth town centre and offering free Wi-Fi and free private parking. The award-winning chef serves such delights as Tempura Prawns and Roasted Cannon of Lamb from the seaview restaurant, as well as a traditional Sunday lunch. Afternoon tea including sandwiches and scones are offered from the Ocean Bar and Terrace, as well as a lighter lunch menu. All rooms at the Miramar offer either sea or garden views and some room types feature large private balconies. All rooms include a flat-screen TV with Freeview, tea/coffee making facilities, as well as a seating area and a tiled en suite bathroom. Bournemouth Rail Station is located within a mile of the hotel and the sea front can be reached within 5 minutes on foot. Sandbanks, a popular and prestigious peninsula in England, is just a 15-minute drive away. This is our guests' favorite part of Bournemouth, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Bournemouth! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Miramar
Miramar Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing