We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,220)
Filter reviews
1,220 results
Traveler rating
479
488
139
70
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
479
488
139
70
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool west wing soft play area boscombe pier kids club sea view hot tub lovely hotel small gym the main hotel bunk beds leisure facilities family room land train great facilities room was large car park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,220 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We upgraded to a sea view room and are so glad we did. The view was spectacular (room 320) and the beds were so comfy. More than that tho the hotel was delightful and the staff could not do enough for us. My mum and I ate in the bar for dinner every night and the food was good. Drinks are reasonably priced too. The indoor pool and facilities are lovely as are the gardens and the short walk through them to Boscombe Pier. We cannot wait to return. We wanted ‘R & R’ and that is precisely what we got. Thank you

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank littlemissbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

This was our second stay at the Chine and we were just as impressed. The hotel is in a fantastic location near the beach and the beautiful gardens and outdoor pool really made our holiday. We had a small problem with our shower but otherwise everything was perfect. I would advise people to ask for the code to the garden gate before climbing all the way to the bottom. Also ask about yoga classes - apparently they are available but I didn't know about them.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOuise51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Chine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Dear LOuise51_11 - we were delighted to welcome you back. And thank you for the code tip - I do hope that the shower didn't hinder your enjoyment and that it was sorted efficiently by maintenance? And Go-Yoga holds regular classes at our hotels - ask at reception for class schedules.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

Very nice hotel staff polite friendly and very helpful. Facilities were great would reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for peace and quiet. Beautiful gardens that lead down to a sandy beach at boscombe

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Susangoodwinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Chine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Dear Susangoodwinoo - thank you for your review and thank you for your recommendations, also for mentioning our stunning and mature gardens - we can't wait to welcome you again soon.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

The staff here showed the ability to sort out problems, and to enable us to have a relaxing break by the sea. We had problems with the windows and blinds in our room when we arrived, but within an hour the duty manager had allocated us a better room, which was spacious and comfortable. The location was delightful, with a large and interesting garden, a fine view of the sea, and easy access to the beach via the garden. Our only dinner in the restaurant was excellent, with great food and service in a pleasant setting overlooking the garden and the sea. On other evenings we made use of the other good restaurants nearby. The spa and leisure facilities proved to be very good. The main drawback was that the only lift in the main building was old and small, There were also places on the floors where guests had to access rooms by going up or down steps from the corridor. We did not have a problem with this, but elderly or disabled people might have. For us this was definitely a good holiday.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Chine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Dear Henry T - thank you for your observant review. And I am delighted that the manager solved your issues smoothly - we pride ourselves on service. I have passed on your praise to the kitchen team and thrilled that you made the most of the spa facilities both swimming pools are so popular and a real asset to the hotel.
The Victorian building has some restrictions that are not outweighed by its classic charm - and the lift is modest but it matches the generation of the hotel. Guests with mobility issues can request rooms closer to reception etc. Central reservations are always on hand to advise.
We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019 via mobile

We got rotally ripped off booking direct with the hotel - had a Virgin Experience voucher for 1 night so decided to book an extra night to make most of stay. £150 later, for a 3* hotel at that price, we were expecting a pretty decent room, turns out it was just a 'standard' which meant the most basic, almost B&B style room! Not worth more than £60-70 at most - it was clean and fine for a place to sleep for a night or 2, but way too basic for that price. Tiny bathroom with old mould around bath and on tile seals, battered furniture, old & uneven squeeky floors with actual crevices you could lose a full foot in! Rickety tiny lift that barely fitted 2 adults and 1 cabin size suitcase, plus doesn't work if people leave the gates open (which happened EVERY DAY despite a million signs!!!!!).

Seems we paid for the location and facilities above all else, but still not really worth that price! Don't be fooled by the website photos, there's a tiny gym and pool, outdoor pool was filthy, it's ok for what it is, but definitely not worth more than £70 for the room, £80/90 max by time take into account spa, pool(s), pretty garden (with 2 tables only) and beach location (it's still a good 5/10min walk to / from tiny, basic beach) - plus it's still a drive to anywhere nice to eat / see / shop / visit, so actually, location is pretty dire!

Such a shame, if hadn't been charged so much, would have been fine for a basic b&b but with some extra facilities. Way over-advertised for what it is! Wouldn't say don't stay here, but don't pay anywhere near what they charge direct - book through trivago or something and don't be conned in to anything more than £75 for the 'standard' room!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Vee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Chine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Dear Vee83 - the Chine is housed in a delightful Victorian building - the best part of the charm that welcomes our guests year after year along with our professional and cheerful staff. The lift is also charming, and there are two swimming pools - and the heated outdoor pool of 18m very popular, the indoor pool set in classic cloysters, alongside a modest gym, indoor and outdoor jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. There are many tables in the garden under the garden view terrace. In terms of location - we are on the promenade (through private access through our stunning gardens to the prom) - along to Bournemouth by foot or bike easily, and Bournemouth is just a 3-minute drive from the hotel. The standards and rate proposition are no way comparable to a B&B. And indeed the hotel has just undergone a refurbishment and that includes bedrooms and public areas.
Perhaps expectations vs choice were a little out of line on this occasion for you.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews