We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent two days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chine Hotel
Ranked #24 of 79 Hotels in Bournemouth
Wellesbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent two days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely with sea view bed linen and towels excellent quality, everywhere very clean. We ate both nights in restaurant food v good. Would stay here again, and hope for better weather!

Room Tip: Room 100 was v large and lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    375
    114
    48
    36
See reviews for
277
434
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights (31st Jan - 2nd Feb) for her birthday and we couldn't have picked a better hotel to stay at in Bournemouth. Over the weekend the weather was awful but the hotel offered a warm, draft free haven out of the cold and the wind. We loved the old Victorian feel to the hotel with the huge staircase, massive dining room and old school elevator.

The room was clean and the bed was very very comfortable and looked as if it had been recently decorated. Housekeeping came round fairly early so the do not disturb sign was very helpful. Once we had left the room it was impeccably tidied and fresh towels were all laid out.

The first night we had dinner in the restaurant which was delicious and very reasonably priced. The hotel staff in general were very friendly and extremely helpful with any problems or questions we had. The only thing that I would knock is that even though the breakfast was great the coffee wasn't quite up to par.

Getting to the town center is fairly simply as there is a bus stop on the hill that takes you to the center on the no. 33 bus in about ten minutes.

Fantastic for a short or long stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 116 which was larger than expected with a sea and garden view and had been recentl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Have just returned from this excellent hotel following a three night stay with my wife (2nd Feb-5th Feb). Contrary to some TA reviews we found this hotel warm, welcoming and scrupulously clean.
The staff were friendly, helpful and worked hard to make our stay as stress free as possible. Our room had a sea view, was more spacious than average and had been recently re decorated. It was warm and draft free despite the worst weather for ages. There was always plenty of piping hot water and fresh towels everyday.
The by-word at the Chine was 'quality'. The facilities, linen, toiletries and leisure amenities were good quality, and that included the food and wine. Dinner was excellent, smallish portions but very well presented, flavoursome and ultimately satisfying. Breakfast was self serve and the buffet was continuously replenished.
I think some reviewers have been unfairly harsh. Yes the Chine is an old building and the majority of the staff are 'foreign' so what! It all works well, just like the heritage elevator/lift to all floors, which is an absolute gem, we loved it. We will be back.

Room Tip: Specify a refurbished sea facing room on the second floor or higher if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just returned from an Amazon Local break in Bournemouth. Not the best weekend, the weather on Saturday was cold and very windy. The hotel bar was not too warm either, but that is my only moan. Great room with a sea view, clean and very comfortable. The food was excellent and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. All in all it was a good weekend.

Room Tip: Room 304 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malp1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I visited with my partner in January and we were very impressed! It doesn't look like much from the outside, but inside is very modern and well presented. The room we stayed in (206) was clean and the bed was comfortable, although the furniture and decor were a little dated. However the bed was super comfy! The toiletries smelled awful to me, so I would recommend bringing your own just in case! The pool and hot tub were clean, and it was wonderful to have that just downstairs! The food in the restaurant was very good value, and was delicious! staff were very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping come round quite early, at about 9ish, so the do not disturb sign was helpful, and they left fresh towels and things outside the door for us which was lovely! It is situated about a half an hour walk from the main Pier and town centre, but the walk along the beach is lovely, and taxis are quite cheap too. The gardens of the hotel look beautiful in winter, so I imagine in summer they would be gorgeous!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

The Lady and me had a romantic Sun and Monday till Tuesday at the Chine hotel in Bournemouth. Most excellent, service, views, location and helpful and friendly staff and the food, breakfast, lunch and diner were unEnglish good.
Shame about the freezing room which cost them a star from being outstanding.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Baron2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel was spacious, clean, very attractive very well decorated. The breakfasts were lovely (especially the coffee). The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful - thank you so much for a very enjoyable, if somewhat short, stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 79 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 3,009 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 79 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,592 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chine Hotel

Property: The Chine Hotel
Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 79 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned overlooking Bournemouth’s Surf Reef at the edge of West Overcliff. The Chine Hotel is set in three acres of secluded, mature gardens, with magnificent unspoilt sea views and within easy access to the beach and reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing