We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in Beautiful Boscombe”
Review of Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chine Hotel
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were travelling down from London early on the Saturday morning for a friend's wedding (the reception was also at the Chine Hotel) and we arrived at about 9.15. Normal check in time was 11 so we didn't expect the room would be ready yet, but the staff at reception were very helpful and let us check in early as our room hadn't been used the night before. This enabled us to get ready for the wedding with plenty of time.

We had also booked the room at the standard rate rather than the discount rate they had for wedding guests, but after the groom spoke to management, they credited the difference (£30) to our room so we could put our drinks on the tab, which was excellent customer service and we were very grateful. The room itself was really lovely with a beautiful sea view from the balcony, very clean with nice neutral decor and a clean bathroom with fresh towels.

The reception itself was lovely and it was clear that the Hotel had been very accommodating to my friends who were getting married.

The Hotel has a relaxed atmosphere with lovely classic decor in the upstairs bar and a few eclectic antique pieces dotted around to give it a classy vibe. The only thing I would say is that the carpets need a spruce up, they didn't really fit in with the rest of the decor. Other than that I don't really understand why the Chine isn't a four star, I thought it was lovely. And only a five minute stroll to Boscombe seafront!

The food at both the reception and for breakfast were also very good quality - I would highly recommend the tarte au citron!

All in all, great service, lovely atmosphere and a successful stay, I would recommend :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed just for 1 night but would live to have stayed longer. We had a large room with a bay window over looking the sea, everything was spotless and staff couldn't do enough to help. Excellent breakfast too! Good to see such a family friendly hotel. The outside of the hotel doesn't do it justice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had booked a sea view room, but when we arrived we found that the lift was out of order and our room (407) was on the top floor. Add to that that my wife was recovering from foot surgery, and this wasn't looking good. To be fair, the receptionist found us another room (119) on the ground floor and said that it was an upgrade - as it had a balcony - but that we wouldn't be charged £200 for this. Blooming right! He added that if we'd have let them know about my wife earlier, they could have arranged something else. What!!! I mean, it's a perfectly reasonable assumption that a hotel will have a working lift (goodness knows what they did with wheelchair bound guests)!

As it turned out, the room was small, in need of tlc and was generally pokey, and although it technically had a balcony .. well, it's stretching the definition and certainly the expectation a bit.

A couple of further annoyances. 1. they insist on taking a pre-authorised £30.00 off you - I've no idea why. So now I'm left to check my credit card statement to see if this has been re-paid (has the feeling of a ripoff) - on querying this at check out, I was told it should be repaid in a "few days"! 2. the tv in our room didn't work and when a porter came to sort it out he put it down to a loose scart socket - there was a couple of boxes jammed in behind it - wires hanging down out of it - a digibox of sorts plugged into an early analog flat screen maybe? Anyway, when it again didn't work again later, we found that the real problem wasn't a scart socket but that the digibox needed regular rebooting (weird).

Breakfast was good, but that's about it on the plus side of things.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxacuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Public Relations Manager at Chine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your review oxacuk, we are sorry to hear that your stay was not up to our usual exceptionally high standards. It is great to hear that your breakfast was good. Unfortunately our lift, although very beautiful, is old and unique and as a result it takes slightly longer to obtain parts for it. As a result, all guests were contacted prior to their stay to organize any special requirements and we apologize if you were not contacted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

One of the best 3 star hotels I've stayed in, even better than some 4 star hotels I've been too.

My 2.5 year old was pleasantly surprised with the soft play area in one of the rooms in the hotel. It does get locked some hours if there is a wedding reception though but we went to the indoor pool so my toddler remained happy! For lockers remember £1 to lock.

We only discovered that there is a gate at the bottom of the garden which is a much shorter route to the beach than walking along the street.

I've read that the restaurant serves lovely food but could only make a booking for 8:30 on the day we arrived which is too late for a toddler. Thus, book dinner days in advance if you need an earlier dinner.

Happy stays!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Public Relations Manager at Chine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you Gavson for this very positive comment, we are glad that your toddler enjoyed the soft play area, be sure to visit again soon as we are currently in the process of refurbishing the play area and our children’s entertainment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is absolutely ideal for a relaxing few days and is clean and staffed with wonderful staff who care and are knowledgeable and willing to help on every occassion. The hotel is of the older style perfectly suited for those who prefer a bit of character. The decor is beautiful and clean, the gardens are so peaceful and beautifully kept - not a scrap of rubbish anywhere, the gym is well equiped, the pools attended and the 2 jacussie's perfect (in and outside). Above all the food in the Sea View restuarant is OUT OF THIS WORLD!!. It is so well presented and of excellent plus quality with a good wine selection. This hotel is advertised as a 3 star but in my opinion it is of 4 and a half star quality. Perfect holiday hotel on south coast.

Room Tip: Perhaps a more expensive room may have been a little bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyGogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed over the Bank Holiday weekend with Secret Escapes for £124 for two nights B&B. We were shown into the West Wing room No.11 right next to the entrance door which banged so hard it shook the building so I asked reception for another room and was offered a free upgrade to the 3rd floor with a spectacular sea view room (room No.35) The rom was very big with a comfy bed and a very nice bathroom. It was a little shabby but we didn't care, as it was clean and had character. Very quiet at night.

Parking. This was not problem with PLENTY of free street parking one minutes walk away if the car parks were full (which they weren't) even on a Bank Holiday.

Gardens lovely and a fab outdoor heated pool. Also good gym and indoor pool.

Breakfeast was very good with a wide range of fruit cereal and cooked food. Table service was available free if required as stated on the menu. The view from the restaurant was fantastic and the waiting staff were very attentive. Poached eggs were cooked to order and perfect.

The location was ideal, far enough away from the noise. Lovely walk along the cliff tops and easy access to the beach.

All in all for the money it was excellent and very relaxing and we will return and recommend.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank eeeeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was much better than we expected ,the staff were brill and very helpful. LARGE ROOMS, VERY clean and well furnished, flat screen tv.etc. We stayed on a bed and breakfast break which was superb. The breakfast was great, plenty of choice, and you didn't need to eat again until very late. Will go again. BRILL.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool, very large .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
608 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chine Hotel

Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $81 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chine Hotel is a charming and affordable seaside destination, just a stone’s throw away from Bournemouth beach. Set in three acres of tranquil private gardens where you can escape for the day with a book, or meander your way through to the golden sandy beach. The Chine Hotel is a humble setting by the sea. Offering outdoor pool and well-appointed bedrooms, most with sea and garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing