We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and location, a little disappointed with the seaview room with balcony”
Review of Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chine Hotel
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I booked this hotel on a Secret Escapes deal as a surprise for my boyfriend. We were allocated room 219 which had a Balcony and Sea view. I can't help but feel a little disappointed as when I booked this deal the room in the photos looked modern and fresh. The room we had, looked tired and could have done with being renovated. The bed was two separate beds pushed together and the bathroom toilet was difficult to flush. The balcony was nice and overlooked the car park and part of the garden, you could see the sea in the distance. The balcony railings were also solid metal with small holes and therefore, when you sat down in the chairs you had no view due to the height and opaque metal. It would have been nice to have glass instead? The room was acceptable and clean, perhaps I was just expecting too much?

The breakfast was really nice, however, with a buffet of cooked meats and cold in addition to cereal and toast. The location is also really good and there is quite a lot of parking available. The gardens and view from the hotel is beautiful and the service is very good.

Don't eat in the Harvester by Boscombe beach

Room Tip: Try to get one of the renovated rooms and not 219
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauraw03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
There are newer reviews for Chine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

We booked last minute and got a greatly reduced double room with sea view and a balcony which was not perfect but outstanding value cleanbathroom comfy bed with lovely sparkling white sheets. As other trip advisors have mentioned the staff and the food were outstanding.
We would definitely go back for another short break.

Room Tip: It exceeded our expectations but Thursday morning is Bin Collection day in the area.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I recently stayed here with my boyfriend in April 2013 for his birthday. We stayed in a sea-view room for 2 nights and it was wonderful. The view was spectacular, and the room was large with an ensuite bathroom.

The staff were very friendly and always looked after our every need. We had dinner in the hotel at the Sea View Restaurant the first night and it was very formal, giving the food a rating of 7/10. The breakfast however was wonderful. A large selection including bacon, sausages, hash browns, beans, eggs etc. and it was buffet style so could have as much or as little as you wanted.

Overall, it was a very pleasant and enjoyable stay - somewhere I would definitely recommend. I would rate this hotel as 4/5 due to the local amenities, pools and spa facilities and the staff.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend paying to upgrade to sea-view for an extra £20.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have just spent 3 fantastic nights at this hotel . We thought we would try the restaurant the first night. So glad we did! So we ate there the other 2 nights as well! The food is amazing. The flavours and excellent quality of the ingredients in all 3 courses were fabulous! And such great value for what I would say, is fine dining indeed. I did ask the waiter to pass on our compliments to the chef and his staff, but if he didn't I would like to pass them on now!

I also used the outdoor pool! Yes it had just opened and was brilliant. So warm and empty when I used it . I used the small gym as well as the outdoor hot tub.

Our room was a standard double, and it looked on to the garden. I think it was an accessible room, as it had a wet room. This was fine, but I think the next time we stay, ( and yes. I am certain there will be a next time) we will treat ourselves and upgrade.

I would thoroughly recommend this lovely friendly hotel in a lovely area of Boscombe.

Even if you don't stay here, the restaurant can be highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank boopsyEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in March this year. First time at this lovely hotel. We were in the West wing, which I thought it a little odd to cross the car park to get to the dining room, but having seen our very large room with lovely views, this wasn't a problem.
Large, clean and beautifully decorated room, could see the sea in the distance.
Easy access to the promenade through the lovely landscaped gardens, must be a perfect spot when the sun is shining. Easy walk into Bournemouth along the prom, or cycle, which we also did.
Delicious breakfast, with many choices from full English, fruits, cereals, and seed and nut sprinkles, a perfect start to the day.
Sadly our stay was cut short due to an unexpected family bereavement, but we hope to reschedule our stay sometime soon.

Room Tip: request room in main building if requiring easy access to restaurant and other facilities
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilli93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just returned from yet another very enjoyable few days at the Chine. Cannot speak highly enough of the staff both on reception (Cassa and Marius) and the restaurant (Alex and Laima).
They are always most welcoming and remember us from previous visits. They consistently do their utmost to accommodate our preferences both in choice of room and food in restaurant.
Location is excellent with lovely sea views, gardens and a short walk down to the seafront.

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel both for comfort and location. Looking forward to our next visit already booked.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea and garden view worth the extra.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Public Relations Manager at Chine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you Carol G for this fantastic comment. Our staff really take pride in what they do, I will pass this great review on to them. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights. Wonderful location and very nice service, clean and refurbished room (No.100), reasonable spring prices, magnificent views, overlooking the sea through a big window, very good food and drink, good wine selection, good expresso coffee at the bar, beautiful garden and a basic spa.
Very near the beach and pier, access through the gardens.
The walls of the restaurant, lounge and bar decorated with pictures of actors, such as Terry Thomas, Audrey Hepburn, Sammy Davies Jr. etc. a 'grand piano', surrounded by windows and really spacious.
What else can you ask for?
A very nice outdoor pool in the summer? They've got one!
Wait for it!
No problems parking the car in the street.
We will return!

Room Tip: The ones overlooking the sea are very nice, especially if you like the sound of the waves... Wind th...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfonsoposada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Public Relations Manager at Chine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you very much for this positive review alfonsoposada, we are very glad that you found the facilities first rate. Hopefully the weather will be slightly warmer in time for your next visit so that you can take a dip in our outdoor pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,034 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,967 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chine Hotel

Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $79 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chine Hotel is a charming and affordable seaside destination, just a stone’s throw away from Bournemouth beach. Set in three acres of tranquil private gardens where you can escape for the day with a book, or meander your way through to the golden sandy beach. The Chine Hotel is a humble setting by the sea. Offering outdoor pool and well-appointed bedrooms, most with sea and garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing