We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location that needs some upgrading”
Review of The Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chine Hotel
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Outstanding location that needs some upgrading”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have visited this hotel on many occasions and it is always a delight to step back in time to bygone times in the town and the beautiful rooms, solid wood floors and amazing photographs of theatre stars in years gone by. The service is warm and friendly but the food needs to have a major overhaul to bring it up to speed with its competitors. Having had lunch and dinner here I would say its is often mediocre with smallish size helpings and highly priced. It is a shame as I think if this is a quality hotel but in danger of losing custom over something that is easily changed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binks0045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Chine Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review Blinks0045.

I'm sorry you weren't happy with the quality of the food. I'll pass your comments onto the management team as I'm sure they'll be keen to look into the issue. If you'd like to discuss your stay in more detail please get in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    403
    115
    50
    36
See reviews for
295
454
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just returned from two night break. The Chine is set on a cliff in Boscombe set back from the sea.
Our sea view room was a reasonable size with a small ensuite. A good size balcony overlooking a flat roof and the sea is there in the distance. Not quite as I had visualised it.
For the price the hotel was reasonable. Most of the staff are excellent with the least welcoming /friendly being the front desk receptionists.
We were disappointed that the first evening menu did not suit our tastes so we had a simple but tasty brasserie meal, on our second evening we had an excellent three course meal.
Breakfast today was missing a lot of items were missing even though we arrived at 10 am.
The hotel is good but could improve with more helpful front desk staff and closer management of the restaurant so that menus are better balanced, basic provisions do not run out and it is staffed in accordance with number of customers. The gardens are lovely and the pools nice.

Room Tip: There were noises from above so maybe 3rd floor is a good idea. For two days we could not be bothere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markworthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Chine Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review markworthing.

I'm sorry to hear of the problems you had with the service and restaurant. If you'd like to get in touch with us we can look into in in more detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Visited this hotel for two nights as a gift from my partner for my birthday.
It was booked via Secret Escapes who pride themselves on boutique style hotels. The photos of the room booked, a double with Sea view and balcony, showed a large refurbished room.

On arrival, the reception staff were brusk and not very friendly, but we were allocated room 218. This room was terrible. The room smelt musty,was cold and had a separate electric radiator plugged into the mains and left by the balcony door, which was left unlocked. The carpet was lifting from the floor from the entrance door to the balcony. The bathroom had a shower hose which was unravelling, grouting missing from the tiling, paint chipped and missing from the metal window frame and a light not working. The kettle was full of lime scale and had not been emptied of water. The TV was not working, possibly due to the corroded batteries in the remote.
On complaining we were told that there were no refurbished rooms that had a balcony sea view, but were given an alternative, which was a refurbished family room. This had a double and single bed in the large bedroom, which was nicely refurbished as was the bathroom.

We found the reception staff not very friendly but this was not reflected by other staff. The Spa staff were very good, friendly and informative. The dining room staff likewise. Breakfast was acceptable and of a buffet style.

The hotel when fully refurbished will be a pleasant place to stay. It has very good grounds and the location means you are not subject to the bustle of nearby Weymouth.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Chine Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review James, and I'm sorry you left a little disappointed with our hotel.

If you'd like to discuss any part of your stay with us directly, please get in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I booked this hotel through groupon and were really pleased with the value for money. We stayed during half term and were pleased to find out there was a kids club which ran throughout the day and the evening. The kids really enjoyed making posters and doing crafts whenever they could. You could also buy kids meals in the hotel earlier in the evening leaving you to eat a bit later if you wanted. They were child friendly.The evening food wasnt cheap but it was an upmarket type of restaurant and it was nice to chill out and stay in the hotel on the first night. Theres a harvester just down the rd which we did the second night. The swimming pool was lovely, a nice temperature and the hot tub and jacuzzi were lovely, they supplied towels, the changing rooms were nice and clean.The breakfast was help yourself and supplied everything you needed very nice. The only problem we had was our hot water played up on the first night but they did fix it. Also theres a lovely old lift, but people would use it and then forget to close the door so when you called it from a different level it would be stuck were it was, which is ok if you dont have a pushchair and 3 kids and you have no other option, luckily i had family to help me. I would definetly stay there again, also they sell some nice jewellry in reception.Beutifull gardens.

Room Tip: as far away from the lift as you can becuase i could hear it during the night, think the west wing i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corrine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Chine Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review corrine t

I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of all our facilities! We do our best to keep the children entertained so the adults can enjoy their holiday as well.

We hope you come back and see us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

stayed here on groupon deal on Friday 22.2.13 and had lovely time.stayed in west wing of hotel and room was cosy warm,very clean and had a huge bed in it.Location of this hotel is great and gardens are lovely-but the best things about this hotel is indoor pool and outdoor hot tub which was great on feb cold morn and the breakfast was buffet and had every type of food you want (and the hot food was properly hot which most hotels can't get right).staff nice and and warm would def go back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrs b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Chine Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review Mrs B.

I'm glad you found our offer on Groupon and took advantage of it!

We really hope you come back and see us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for two nights during the feb half-term in a sea view balcony room. All the facilities are there but we were so cold during our stay even with the radiator at it's highest. There was also a lot of cigarette ends on the balcony which is not great when you have a toddler who picks up anything.

Would probably be lovely to stay in the summer.

Staff around the hotel were fabulous but not so polite on reception

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinky2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Chine Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review Pinky2302.

I'm sorry to hear about the mess on your balcony. That's not the sort of thing that normally happens.

If you'd like to talk about your stay some more please get in touch. Also let us know which room you were in so we can check out the heating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked The Chine Hotel for a two-night stay with a friend. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and the room was clean, bright and comfortable. The view from our balcony room was lovely. The outdoor hot-tub is a must - especially in the winter! The location is great as it is only a few minutes walk from the beach and Boscombe pier.

Room Tip: Rear - facing Balcony Rooms have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Chine Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review Cavzed.

I'm really happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chine Hotel

Property: The Chine Hotel
Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned overlooking Bournemouth’s Surf Reef at the edge of West Overcliff. The Chine Hotel is set in three acres of secluded, mature gardens, with magnificent unspoilt sea views and within easy access to the beach and reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing