We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our lovely comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
dorney in uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“our lovely comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Have just returned from our third visit to your lovely hotel. The food is still excellent , rooms soooo comfortable and the staff so helpful .We feel so relaxed as soon as we get to reception and meet their smiling faces. We had to change our room as I could not access the bath and it was done in minutes .Thankyou all .We will return.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear janbrench,

It's lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt so relaxed here. Our team work hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable holiday. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    322
    137
    50
    37
See reviews for
102
422
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Have just come back from a lovely sunny break in Bournemouth at the Savoy. My Mother and I went on a coach trip five years ago and liked the hotel very much then and we returned this time with my sister and came by car.

Our rooms were standard but clean, comfortable and fairly roomy. The food was very good and the service was excellent in the dining room. Our waitress was Barbara who was both efficient and friendly. All the staff I came across, were very polite and helpful.

The evening entertainment varied but after a long day it is very nice to just sit down and get a drink from the well-stocked bar and listen to the music and comedy provided.

The hotel is in a very good position for the beach, lovely views of the sea from the hotel itself and it is a short walk into town or the beach, so you have the best of everything on the doorstep.

We all really enjoyed the break and would come again.

So thank you to all the team, your hard work is much appreciated.

Room Tip: I telephoned to make the booking, that way you can ask for your preferences with the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear KayDarling,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I'm pleased that the sun shone for your holiday and that you enjoyed your stay in Bournemouth. Your wonderful comments will be passed on to all the team here. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Have just returned from a 7 night self drive holiday at this hotel.
Food quality.
As a Coeliac my diet has to be Gluten free, the range of food on offer for a Coeliac was excellent & great care was taken to ensure that I was advised as to what was available for every meal, all the food was well prepared, well presented & plentiful from a varied menu every day.
Room quality.
My room was first class & with a great view over the large grounds, Bournemouth beach & the sea, it was in excellent decorative order & was cleaned & tidied every day to a very high standard, "thanks Sabrina".
Entertainment.
There was entertainment for 5 of the 7 nights from 21.00-23.00 all the entertainers were of a very high quality, & did everything required to see the customers were happy, the 2 hours that they entertained just flew by.
Bar & drinks.
The bar was staffed at all times & the bar staff were pleasant & attentive, the tables in the bar/terrace area were always being tidied & cleaned of any glasses or mess, a well run bar all in all, my only concern was the bar pricing, as with all the Shearings hotels they charge far too much for the drinks & wines,"the house red was £14.95 per bottle, or £6.95 from the off licence down the road".
Overall view.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone be they Coeliac or not, all the staff from the reception through to the dining room, cleaners, & bar were well on their game & nothing was too much trouble.
Recommendation.
It's well worth the £5.00 per day/night for the on sight parking, the street parking is a nightmare with a high risk of your vehicle being damaged by others trying to get into very tight gaps, also the parking is both sides of the road with very little room left for passing traffic.
If you're a senior with a freedom pass there's a good bus service into Bournemouth town centre with excellent services running from there to most of the main Dorset resorts.

.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear MikeBearsby-Cook,

Thank you for your recent review. It's lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

My family and I didn't have the pleasure of staying in this this hotel but we're lucky enough to eat in the restaurant. The whole experience was fantastic from start to finish. Great location with a lovely balcony and almost perfect sea views.

The staff were attentive and very friendly, nothing seemed to be to much trouble and the food itself was of a very good quality and best of all exceptional value for money.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the savoy hotel as a place to eat, we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamTrewern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear KenS,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. Bournemouth is indeed a lovely town to explore with plenty to see and do. There is a bus service which runs from the hotel into town and back for those who may struggle with the climb back. We do hope you will visit Bournemouth again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-on-Sea, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

The company offer excellent value for money for a weekend stay and the Hotel has a prominent position on the cliffs to the west of Bournmouth. A short steady walk down the coastal path and you can enter the beach, the pier, the park and the shopping area. However, the return journey is a climb back to the Savoy but the views can make it worth while.
Bournmouth, and the surrounding towns, have much to offer the visitors and an excellent bus service makes them easy to access and return. The Hotel car park charges make life easier as it guarantees an 'off-street' space rather than having to search the local streets.
The Savoy is an old building which now shows it's age and some areas require 'some loving tender care' to maintain the standard expected by the modern day traveller. Whilst the food, the dinning room, and the staff, make the holiday an enjoyable experience, the room my wife and I stayed in is not to the standard we would normally expect. The corridors, our room door, and the bathroom, badly need a 'Handyman' with screwdriver, tube of filler, and some paint, to rejuvenate them to an acceptable standard due to their wear over the years. However, the condition of the bathroom, and corridor was reflected in the price and presented us with value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Ken S,

Thank you for your recent review. We do feel we offer value for money and indeed we are in an excellent position for all of Bournemouths delights, be it a stroll to the beach or a walk into town. I'm sorry that the accomodation was not up to your standard and your comments have been noted, there is also an on-going refurbishment programme here regularly up dating our rooms. We do hope to welome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

I have stayed at The Savoy and run workshops there over the last year on many occasions. In general, the venue has suited me pretty much perfectly in every way. In terms of the accomodation, it is well priced for my purposes and perfectly adequate though nothing special. The room where I run my workshops is ideal though the dark ceiling in winter makes the room appear very dark so we need extra lighting. The staff are all very helpful, polite, efficient and help out with any requests I have. And the location is perfect, perched on the edge of the cliffs with a short walk to the beach. I've grown very fond of Bournemouth and running my workshops there over the last year and The Savoy and staff are a large part of that. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan1012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Tristian,

Many thanks for the lovely review. It's wonderful to hear that you find the venue and facilities we provide pretty much perfect, and that our staff are always willing to meet your requests. Our aim is always to please the customer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I are regular visitors to Shearing’s hotels and know pretty much what to expect but we were both pleasantly surprised by The Savoy.
Yes it is an old building but it has a great location and a lovely garden area as well as the best, friendliest and most helpful staff we have come across in a long time.

The public areas are well looked after and the dining room has great views, although the self-playing grand piano was a little annoying after the first day! The food is pretty typical of this type of hotel but I was disappointed by the number of times the kitchen seemed not to have everything on the menu – especially as it always seemed to be what I’d chosen to have! Also after a busy bank holiday weekend the hotel quietened down and the number of staff waiting on the restaurant also diminished but to a level when long waits for food, especially at breakfast, were commonplace which isn’t really good enough.

Our room, which was a superior plus, was large and on the top floor so boasted a good sea view – well it would have been good if both the panes of double glazing hadn’t been broken down which meant it always looked like it was raining. Also the shower was nothing more than a pathetic trickle that was sometimes so hot you couldn’t really stand under it. The temperature of the water seemed unaffected by anything you did to the taps. These two things let down an otherwise good room and need to be addressed by the management team.

Bournemouth is a lovely seaside town and a good base to discover the delights of Dorset from and you could do worse than this hotel but sadly you could also do better. Just a few little changes would improve the place considerably.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dez_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Dez_11,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the relevant persons and we will look into the problems mentioned. We do hope that you will visit the Savoy and Bournemouth again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,267 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms and Despegar.com so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing