We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Savoy”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb Savoy”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Myself, Husband and Daughter stayed at the Savoy on a Shearings break 17 -21Feb 2014. We
looked at different reviews and decided to give it a go, affording ourselves the luxury of a room upgrade from Standard to Standard Plus, meaning the room had been refurbished.
The Savoy was lovely,the staff were warm, friendly and professional and nothing was too much trouble. My husband has mobility issues and uses a stick and unfortunately I was on crutches due to a knee/ankle injury sustained on the 10th Feb. I hired a mobility scooter for my husband prior to arrival and then hired a second for myself. These were stored effortlessly in reception for recharging every night. Our rooms were absolutely beautiful and clean, our double 103 (near to the lift) and daughters single 105. Brand new carpets, deluxe orthopaedic mattresses on the beds, lovely duvets and linen, flat screen tv's, tea/coffee facilities freely replenished. Nice furniture, spotlessly clean bathroom with endless fluffy, soft white towels and toiletries if you required them.
The restaurant was wonderful with waiter service, breakfast was good quality fruit juices, different cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, toast,Tetley's Tea and Egbert Douwe coffee followed by a menu offering full English Breakfast, eggs boiled, poached, scrambled or fried, Vegetarian Breakfast, ham and eggs, kippers, salmon and scrambled eggs. On our table there was individual jams, marmalades, honey and butter/spreads all branded names.
Dinner in the evening once again beautifully served and lots of choices, warm rolls, soups, fish, meat, vegetarian choice, chef signature dish, steamed vegetables, salad and a nice filling dessert or something lighter, delicious 3 course meal in all not forgetting tea/coffee and wine if desired. All the public rooms and toilets were clean airy and warm, very pleasant surroundings. Each evening there was entertainment and we were able to buy drinks at the bar which was reasonably priced. Also the Brasserie served huge wedges of delicious cake with tea or coffee for £3.75, unfortunately not for me, too full from breakfast. Outside the Garden Restaurant there is a lovely terrace with seating and it's lit in the evening. We were able to sit out during the day due to the extremely clement weather for February. As I've already said we did look at reviews and also we checked Food Safety Agency or Scores on the Doors site, rates hospitality businesses for food, hygiene and conditions, scores ranging from 1 the lowest, to 5 the highest. Savoy scores 5, rightly so, they have in my opinion earned it. Bournemouth is beautiful, Savoy was the icing on the cake, I have recommended it to my family and friends and would definitely return there.

Room Tip: Our rooms were above Garden Restaurant and near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kath035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear kath035,

Thank you for writing such an informative review of your stay with us. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your holiday with us from our staff to our food. Our terrace is a lovely place to sit back, relax and enjoy a bite to eat, especially when the sun is shining.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    335
    147
    52
    39
See reviews for
105
442
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I had looked online for a hotel within the Bournemouth area for a weekend break. As there are plenty of hotels to chose from and the write ups were mixed, we decided to travel without booking.
We viewed several hotels when we arrived and were a little disappointed with what was available at our budget (which was up to £200 for two nights B&B). Certainly if we had booked online we would have chosen another hotel and would have felt let down.
Whilst The Savoy has its shortcomings, our stay was better than we expected and had an enjoyable time.
They had evening entertainment which whilst not what we would normally go for, was a of a good quality.
We had breakfast on both mornings which was very good with excellent choice and friendly staff.

Room Tip: We were quoted a price at reception which when we checked online was significantly cheaper, which th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Graham R,

Thank you for your review. So happy to read that you decided to walk in and book, even more so that you were pleasantly surprised! We do offer value for money on many breaks and the Savoy is in an ideal situation for exploring Bournemouth. We do hope that you will return to us again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We arrived on a Friday afternoon check-in was very efficient , an booked a slot for dinner. We had a standard room that was clean and comfortable mattress and pillow protectors were in use, bed linen was clean an crisp. Room was warm and comfortable. Toiletries were in clean bathroom ,with plenty of towels. Bathroom fittings were a bit tired. Food was excellent as was service, staff throughout hotel were pleasant and helpful. In a ideal situation for town and beach.

Room Tip: Above main entrance on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear GlendaF,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff work hard to provide a helpful, friendly and efficient service to all our guests across all departments. We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Most enjoyable time for a weekend break. My wife and I booked through Shearings for a restfull break after I was recovering from a major operation. Savoy Hotel Bournemouth really was the place to go - good room, good food and very friendly staff. Thank You

Room Tip: Room overlooking the garden and sea was very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Bob G,

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your weekend away with us, especially after a major operation.
We all hope that you are recovering well and will visit Bournemouth once again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The hotel, location, staff and food was top notch, only let down by the shower capacity. A great hotel lets you step into a wonderful shower.....this one just didn't do that. After many minutes with just the cold tap on you got some tepid / warm water, then it would go hot and cold. We had this one regret but it was big enough for us to say....might not stop here again.

Room Tip: 401 is in the roof space, window does open wide but mind your head on the sloping roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian2008uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Brian2008uk,

I'm sorry to hear that you had issues with your shower whilst staying here, we do encourage guests to report any faults at the time of stay so we can try to rectify them whilst their still here, we will look into this problem you had and have it fixed.
I do hope that this will not put you off from staying with us again, as you enjoyed everything else during your stay.
Many thanks for your review.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is our 3rd visit to this hotel, and if anything, I think it was even better than in previous years. We went with a large group of friends (16 in all) and requested seating together in the restaurant, which was arranged. Good menu, excellent service, and standard of food and presentation really good. Our waiter, Marko was very efficient and friendly, and service was extremely prompt..
Our double standard room (125) was spacious, with a bath (shower over it) which we prefer to a shower room. Room was a little on the cool side (radiator not working too well) but an additional heater had been placed there for us, and I have no doubt that if I had requested another, it would have been supplied too. We were happy with it. Bathroom was cold, but it didn't worry us much. Hotel is clean and staff helpful. My only gripe was that the bar advertised wines at £14.95, but they were not available (not even after another 2 days had passed) and the cheapest offered was £17.95.
I have to admit that we all resent the additional parking charges introduced a year or two ago by this chain, but most of us were able to park free in the street, or nearby with no problem. . Great break, I'm pretty certain we'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Way2go20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Way2go20,

Thank you for your recent review, and for visiting us again for a third time!
I'm sorry to hear that we ran out of the wine stated, this was a particullarly popular wine at the time of your stay.
I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us and that the staff took care of you and your group, especially Marko who will be pleased to read your comments.

All of us at the Savoy look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

the staff at this hotel are all very nice and helpful check in was quick and well organised ,the cases where taken to our rooms for us,the room i shared with my 13 year old grandson was in need of refurbishing but was clean and had every thing you needed -- tea and coffee making facilities ,complementary toiletries , and a hair drier,hot water. the food was excellent and plenty of choice and the service was excellent . the entertaiment that was on friday and saturday nights was also very enjoyable and the full size " free snooker table " was a big hit for my grandson and saved me a fortune !!! i just cannott fault anything about this hotel and want to visit again more in season and i will upgrade to a refurbished room with a sea or garden view because the hotel grounds are just beautifull and would love to use the outdoor swimming pool. the hotel itself is in a good position for the short walk to the shops and only 2 minutes to the cliff top walk which has stunning views . thank you to all the staff for a very enjoyable valentine weekend

Room Tip: worth the extra to pay for a refurbished room with sea/garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear chrisntony,

It's such a pleasure to read that you and your grandson enjoyed your weekend with us. The pool table is a great hit with the kids during holidays, and our swimming pool will open from May through to September.
Your lovely comments will be passed on to the team here and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing