We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed one night only.”
Review of Ullswater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ullswater Hotel
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Iver, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stayed one night only.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night as its dog friendly and close to the beach.
On arrival parking was good.
Reception were very welcoming and gave us any info we needed.
The hotel is very old fashioned but its right next to the beach and cheap so cant complain.
The room had a funny smell.
We left something in the room and the staff were very helpful and kept it behind the front desk for us to collect.
Great location if you are looking for a day at the beach, wouldnt stay here for more than one night though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UllswaterBournemouth, Owner at Ullswater Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. You did say that you had not taken your dog away before and therefore was the smell possibly due to the different new surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    55
    42
    17
    13
See reviews for
32
78
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Nicely positioned with a five minute walk to cliff top, and town centre/Pier a pleasant twenty min walk, we had great weather, which made it all the better. Bournemouth is a great place to visit with its sandy beaches, pier,parks and attractions, shopping and eateries, any age would find this town great!
Parking is tight at the Ullswater, but don't fret, park outside and leave the keys with the staff who will move if necessary.
Room pleasant, clean and comfortable,although dated,bathroom water not drinkable, which as its not mains fed is perfectly understandable, but 2 complimentary bottles of water would go down well here, the room is above average in price, so would of really expected this.
Pillows were very flat and as my husband has a health problem and has to be sat up during sleep, at around 10pm we requested extras which were brought immediately to our room, great service!
Hang on though, two minutes later, same chap bangs door(husband near naked, me half undressed) 'I need to ask u how many people you have in room' I reply, err two, to which he then says 'because we ordered xtra pillows, he will need to come in and check its just us!!!! ' so in he comes and checks! I still cant believe it?! How rude!
Breakfast was good by the way, but would stay at the hotel my son and his partner stayed in next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honestlady72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UllswaterBournemouth, Owner at Ullswater Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback, which, everything seems was ok until you were disturbed by our Manager -Apologies, but let me explain why !
You originally booked 2 double rooms , but your husband rang and said he wanted to bring your daughter and 2 children. Manager advised that we were full due to bank holiday and your husband said he did not mind if you all shared and Manager stated we would put z beds in one room for a small extra charge.
On arrival you told the staff you had booked 3 rooms ( incorrect) and Manager reiterated conversation you had. All seemed fine until you returned to the hotel saying that the original couple who you booked, had found another hotel and that your daughter and children would be staying-and further questioned whether the extra bed was still in the room.
Therefore with the extra pillows request and the fact that it was a bank holiday with very little last minute accommodation, he found it strange that we were now accommodating the additional persons and not the original.
Unfortunately, we do find the public do sometimes think that because they have booked a room they can put any number of persons in it. Unfortunately this is not the case, and his concern was for the hotel.
Once again, if it was handled inappropriately the please accept our profuse apologies and yes ,the hotel which had a vacancy would probably be better for you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the Ullswater for 4 nights. We booked a family room. The room was large and very spacious and easily accomodated our large family. The decoration was absolutey fine. It was cleaned to the highest standards. The room carpet was of a very high quality. The wardrobe was double deep. The bathroom was spacious and nothing to complain about,.
Overall, the room was top notch and better than expected.

The staff were friendly and very helpful. Location was very good with good parking. Parking was a problem leading up to the weekend as all the hotels in the area got busy.

I would book here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue_rock77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Ullswater for one night. Our main purpose was to visit the beach so for this the hotel is a great location. Just a few moments walk to the beach. The rooms were clean and parking was provided. Breakfast was good and staff were friendly. As it was hot the room was very stuffy and unfortunately did not have drinking water which was a bit of a pain. Personally I think the hotel is suitable for a mini break but I wouldn't stay for a long break.

Bournemouth itself if beautiful. Gorgeous beach. The mini golf in the gardens is fun too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janine_hallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night at the hotel and it was what we needed for one night, however the hotel does need modernisation as the decor seems to be from 70s or even earlier. Room was small and just enough space to move around. As the title say its a typical beach hotel. It's fine for just to stay acouple of nights if you are a young couple. I wouldn't recommand it for long term breaks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcusT127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I visited the Ullswater for 2 nights on the 19th July 2013 and stayed in room 17 on the 2nd floor.
The hotel buildings date back to the Victorian era and I think that the lift is "original" as are some of the features in the lounge,dinning room and bedrooms.
It is a quiet hotel more suited to the older generation, however, you do need to be fit and like climbing as the very small lift requires the users to close by hand the inner sliding iron gate on leaving otherwise no one else can use it. Even if the gate is left only an inch open!In our 2 night stay I had to climb all three floors on 2 occasions to find where the lift was stuck.My wife being disabled it was essential that she could use the lift.
Room 17 was clean and bright and "functional" with a double bed,2 side cabinets,a wardrobe, a dressing table and a table for the tea making facilities,plus a chair in the corner.All items were
in good order and functional although they left little free space in the room.
The en-suite was sectioned off from the bedroom and consisted of a WC,Shower cubicle and washbasin.The walls were tiled except in the shower were the walls were lined with "Formica" type wall panels.Everything was clean however-The corner doors to the shower did not close to,there was no place inside the shower to put soap,sponge etc and the adjustable shower was broken so that you had great difficulty in adjusting the spray and the temperature control was not reliable but worse was that the water from the shower had no power or volume and was insipid. The towels were clean and white but the bath towel was a little on the small side.
There was no air con but both sash windows opened but this also let in all the noise,particularly from the hotel opposite.
Breakfast was traditional with limited choice but adequate. Seating in the dinning room was comfortable but I did not welcome being turfed out off my table on the second morning because they had a coach part in(I thought they were guests like me??) No offer of top up for coffee or tea and no enquiry if all was ok!
The lounge is reasonable but there are too many seats and obviously caters for the older clients.
We did not use the small bar except to order 2 coffees but after 5 minutes the barman advised that someone had switched off the drinks machine and it would take ages to heat up,so we did without.
Parking is limited and some cars overhung the adjacent footway.We were told to park behind the cars on the road blocking in the other cars.We had to leave the keys to the car incase they needed to move it. A little concerning but not a big problem.
Other than having breakfast in the hotel (it was inclusive with the room) we ate out as the evening menu was very limited and did not appeal to us as well as being expensive.
Conclusion-
A old style Hotel more attracted to the older market.
Clean,with pleasant staff.
Could do with some improvements in the bathrooms.
However,not bad for a short stay and probably worth its 3 star but only just.
p.s-plenty of sockets in the bedroom (room 17)which makes a change!!!!

Room Tip: Choose first floor if you have mobility issues due to the problems with the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UllswaterBournemouth, Owner at Ullswater Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Sir, you made your 2night B&B reservation with us via an internet site with a low rate. Immediately after booking via the site you contacted us direct with a number of requests mainly due to your elderly wife being disabled, including- quote:
"I was wondering if you could possibly provide a room which is easily accessible in a wheelchair.
My wife has very limited mobility and has great difficulty in walking and can not climb stairs"-unquote
I emailed back stating that we did think that the hotel was suitable mainly due to its age and the fact we have front steps and could not cater ( unlike modern purpose built hotels) for your requests such as a ground floor room, as they were taken.
We offered to allow cancellation of you reservation due to the above and overall tone of your concerns with no charge whatsoever, but you stated quote
"Thank you for your prompt reply.
I understand what you say and we shall just have to do the best we can"-unquote
Therefore, we cannot understand your general comments about the age of the hotel, the lift, noise coming in when the windows are open etc., and would suggest that you book directly with hotels, due to your precise requirements, and opt for 4-5 star hotels ,which although charging you a lot more , may satisfy your requirements.
Our evening dinner is only £15.75 for a 4 course dinner-which is hardly expensive to most people, and again , would be a lot more in 4-5 star hotels , unless you find that cheap deal.
Our menu is limited because it is freshly prepared and we try to maintain competitiveness and offer good value, which is the case in a lot of restaurants these days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have just had 2 fantastic weeks at the Ullswater thank you to Clive and Sam, the hotel Manager and all of the staff that helped us both have a wonderful holiday. We had a good hearty Breakfast to start off our days and a good choice of menus for our evening meal, we had a comfortable room that was well serviced every day can not fault this hotel for service we enjoyed every minute.

We will be back next year or maybe sooner who knows, thank you again for our perfect holiday

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UllswaterBournemouth, Owner at Ullswater Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Many thanks for your positive ,kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#32 of 66 in Bournemouth
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#33 of 66 in Bournemouth
398 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullswater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullswater Hotel

Property: Ullswater Hotel
Address: West Cliff Gardens, Bournemouth BH2 5HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ullswater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Ullswater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing