We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tinsel and turkey w/e 18th november to 21st november” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ullswater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ullswater Hotel
Ranked #49 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Castle Donington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“tinsel and turkey w/e 18th november to 21st november”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

with a party of 34 coach passengers the hotel could maybe modernised a little i/e televisions could do with upgrading but on the plus side the hotel is very clean and the meals were absolutely spot on the management and staff especially the restuarant staff were very efficiant and obliging we stayed for 3 nights but would have been very happy to stay longer many thanks to to all concerned at the ulleswater i think we will see you all again kind regards barry barlow

Room Tip: my wife and i were in room 44 on the ground floor lovely light and airy room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 89maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UllswaterBournemouth, Owner at Ullswater Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Many thanks for your praise of our food, cleanliness and staff friendliness-things people often mention.
All televisions are being replaced during our January closure for ongoing refurbs and general decorating which -we are often told -is much better than most places
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    51
    40
    15
    11
See reviews for
29
75
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed four nights in October,the rooms were spacious and clean,the staff were very friendly and the food was very good with a wide selection.We will not hesitate to go again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you prefer a bath to a shower ask when booking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

second visit absolutely fantastic food is amazing can't wait for next murder mystery wk end restaurant staff brilliant

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixieWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Hotel is very nice, although parking for buses and cars must be a driver's nightmare. Staff very good, especially the restaurant and cleaning staff (and there aren't many of them!). Rooms good and very clean. Showers could do with a drop more water coming out of them! Food was fairly good the first night but got worse as the week went on, although breakfasts were very good and the bacon and sausage were very nice. Someone ought to show the Chef which vegetables go with which main dish as we got cabbage at least twice, once with a rice dish and once with a fish dish - never had that before, and I hope not again. The potatoes and accompanying vegetables needed to be cooked a little longer, unless false teeth are to be provided! The sweets were lovely the first night, but were turned out for the next 2-3 nights. The fresh fruit salad was fermenting in the end and the coffee gateux looked very dry. I stuck to ice-cream - was the safest. The meat we were given was what I call "processed" - i.e. rolled and cut very, very thin. No salads were given and oh what we would have given to have some grapefruit at breakfast time. The lift caused lots of problems as you need to close the inside gate and outside doors before ayone else could "call" it. One of my friends went up 3 flights of stairs on 3 separate occasions to close the doors so that we less able could get to our bedrooms.
Shame about the aforementioned problems as the hotel could be one that you would recommend if these were put right.

Room Tip: top floor you get no creaking floorboards and occupants go to bathroom at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

I stayed here on the 9th-10th September. The reception staff were welcoming and friendly and the rooms were OK. They were dated and could possibly do with a revamp. However they were clean and serviceable. Breakfast was OK. The sausages tasted quite nice and we got our food fairly quickly. Could have done with larger glasses for the fruit juice though. They were more like shot glasses! The location is good as the hotel is very close to the sea and not too far a walk from the town. There are lots of leaflets in the reception for ideas on places to visit in the area too. The bed was comfy though I have to say that my room did have a peculiar odour of what smelled to me like toffee popcorn! I would not dissuade anyone from using this hotel. However I would say that it is more suited to senior citizens who like chintz and don't eat much. As a young 35yr old It's not the place I would choose reside at again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briteeyes76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

The best thing is the fact that it's only a few minutes to the beach.
There is by far not enough parking space in front of the hotel and parking can become difficult in that area. The elevator only worked once, the other times it stood on some other floors with a door not properly closed (not the fault of the hotel, but...).
The rooms are quite spacious but the interior looks really old and uncomfortable. Breakfast is below average. At least the staff is friendly.
Another positive: WiFi is free.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GustavWhitelamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We were given a very warm welcome on arrival.The room was moderate but clean and comfortable.The dining staff greeted us cheerfully each morning and evening and the food was good,home cooked and tasty.The position of the hotel,on the West Cliff is just around the corner from a grassy area which then leads down to the beach.A pleasant place to stay and also quiet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#28 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#58 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#53 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tower House Hotel
Tower House Hotel
#34 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullswater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullswater Hotel

Property: Ullswater Hotel
Address: West Cliff Gardens, Bournemouth BH2 5HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ullswater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Ullswater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing