We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel could not be positioned any better. It is literally a stones throw away from the beach, winter gardens and town centre! As others have mentioned the staff were excellent and could not do enough for me. Particularly, Elliot, who went above and beyond my expectations to see that my trip was successful. The one negative I had was that I would have liked extra power points in my room for all my chargers I had to take with me. However, overall a great hotel

Room Tip: If you want a cool room don't choose one facing the front (south facing) as in very hot weather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

We love this hotel, we have a trip most Sundays and we have taken friends and family to this hotel, our friends have stayed here as well. Excellent food great service, you can just pop in for a light lunch or have a meal in main restaurant, always get a nice welcome especially when Elliot is working.

Room Tip: Double room sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I recently had to go to Bournemouth on business and found myself booked into this excellent hotel. The Hermitage is ideally located - a very short walk from the beach but also close to the town centre. The room was comfortable and the public areas light and airy but what really made it stand out for me was the staff. Everyone we dealt with there was extremely helpful and very pleasant to deal with. We had a very early start to the day the following morning. The desk staff apologised that they couldn't provide us with a hot breakfast that early (6am) but offered to deliver a continental breakfast to our rooms - and it was excellent and there was plenty of it.
A really enjoyable stay in a friendly and comfortable hotel. It well deserves its 4 star status.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rickbtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

It was 1st time we stayed Hermitage I must say We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and in particular the Excellent staff. I could not describe highly enough of the dedication in ensuring our stay was totally memorable. Specially reception staff(Anneles) as I have been served 3 times. staff really worked hard on our needs, Reception staffs are very informative & polite.especially as we had a vehicle involved they allowing us to park extra 3 hours after we checked out.This hotel got a very good parking facilities.Hotels in a top location.we stayed room 308 Beds were great rooms spacious,lovely sea view ,Excellent Breakfast well worth the effort.we will definitely coming back soon.Highly recommended .

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HATCH GATE I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Although the hotel web site has several room types, we used Booking.com which only had "double room" so did not have high expectations. Our room was very large, additional area with desk, coffee etc, and very large bathroom. All were spotless, and we had a sea view. Only food we had was breakfast, which was very good, and the dining room is very well run. Tables cleared promptly, coffee and toast order taken quickly, and supplied within minutes. A better fruit selection would have been nice would be only criticism. Location, with free car parking could not be better.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Hermitage is our favoured hotel of the six in which we have stayed in Bournemouth. It is situated some 200 yds from glorious beaches and a short stroll through the well manicured park to the very good shopping centre. We stayed in a "superior " room with some features not often found in more prestigious establishments (a Nespresso machine, Terry towelling bathrobes, tissues and bottled water) The hotel's Victorian origins are seen in high ceilings and elaborate coving in the well appointed public areas which reflect thoughtful updating.
Menus are varied, well presented and good value. The wine list is balanced and refreshingly short; house wines start at around £17.
The only downside to a sea view room was the persistent sound of pop and rock in the evening from the covered stage some 200 yds away offset only partly by double glazed windows.

Room Tip: Look for a superior room on the second or higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed at the Hermitage with my partner and 3 boys in a spacious family suite. Hotel staff very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast menu quite extensive . tasty full English! Drink prices very reasonable. Only grumble was it was too hot . We did have a fan in the room though. Air Conditioning would have made our stay perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carlin_baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#5 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 67 in Bournemouth
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 67 in Bournemouth
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $105 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing