We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“breakfast at let down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“breakfast at let down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel had lovely staff and they are very friendly and helpful but for me the breakfast let it down. I do not eat a cooked breakfast and lack of fresh fruit and not a good choice of cereals .Coffee was warm not hot most morning and toast not done enough When I ask for porridge it came warm not hot .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank k_booroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    300
    103
    27
    14
See reviews for
235
465
70
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Hermitage is a very nice, slightly old fashioned but good quality hotel bang opposite the BIC and yards from the beach. I had a very small single room (which was very reasonably priced and which I had been warned about size-wise when I booked) but all the necessary facilities were there so it was all fine. The staff were very nice indeed, breakfast was good, I think the bar staff on a busy Saturday evening were a bit stretched and I felt they were a little understaffed and there were rather long waits, but they were charming. Breakfast was very nice, coffee could be a bit better but other than that, all happy and I had a nice stay. Room was very good value as this hotel is nice and well appointed. No air-con, but I didn't really expect that in the UK, but there was a fan already in the room, VERY welcome on such a hot weekend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shughes1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

A lovely family room giving lots of space, free wifi and rubber ducks for the bath! Kids were happy with the hot chocolate option for breakfast drinks and also childrens menu for lunch or tea with cheesybeans being a favourite with all preferences catered for. Biscuits and free bottled water in the room eased the warm nights as we were lucky enough to have fantastic weather. The location of the hotel makes a beach trip so easy and with adjacent car parking there is no need for beach stuff to go into your room. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff all looked after us. We can't wait to return and whether for a beach trip, walk in the beautiful gardens or into town as they are all so close. We would like to thank you for making our stay so perfect and enjoyable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CIAC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I recently stayed at The Hermitage Hotel whilst on a business trip to Bournemouth. I needed a hotel close to the sea in order to swim, and few hotels can claim to be closer to the Big Blue than The Hermitage - it sits right by the main Bournemouth pier, just three or four minutes stroll to the sand.

The staff were welcoming and friendly. The single room I booked was slightly small, but for a business trip it was fine, and for the price I really could not argue - you even get a plastic duck in your bathroom - and you can take it home for the kids!

I would have no hesitation staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al_Gale777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

There are certain things you expect in a 4 star hotel as standard. The Hermitage didn't have any of them room wise. No bar fridge, no fan, no air conditioning etc. My room did have a beautiful parking lot view after you walked thru the middle of the main restaurant to get to it.

However with the above said the staff are very nice and friendly, they all seem genuinely happy.

We were very pleasantly suprised with a superb meal in the Hotel restaurant. Excellent all around, delicious smoked salmon and excellent quality perfectly cooked fillet mignon. Very good French wine at a great price.

I would recommend not using Booking.com for this hotel as I think that may have been why our room was so special.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helimad3, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi Andrew,

I've looked at the room you occupied (604), and I'm unclear as to your comments - its a nice large room, king size bed, new furniture / decor and a new bathroom / power shower.

A standard room was booked, however our best rooms, being superiors, do have many additional extras - bedroom fridge, gown, slippers, Nespresso coffee machine, and are of an equal size to the room you stayed in. However these rooms understandably are extremely popular, and at a higher rate then the room you booked.

I have contacted TripAdvisor to see if it is possible to upload a photo of the room occupied.

All the hotel rooms including this one are provided with a fan (additional fans are available from reception if required)

Kind regards,

Elliott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at The Hermitage and each visit has been a delight, the rooms are clean and well presented, the food excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We certainly hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

35 of us had a fantastic afternoon tea at the Hermitage Hotel at the end of our sunny day in Bournemouth. The food was excellent and the staff were very attentive. Booking was simple and the hotel were very good at catering for different dietary needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,948 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Property: The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing