We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Nearby Hotels
$107
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$134
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$332
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$74
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$216
$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$99
$81
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
$99
$97
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Green House(Bournemouth)
$131
$128
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,392)
Filter reviews
1,392 results
Traveler rating
860
354
123
38
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
860
354
123
38
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewrubber duckexcellent hotelsuperior roomsea frontrestaurant managerhead waiterchristmas partycar parktown centrelong weekendlounge areasingle roomreception staffbuffet breakfastweekend breakfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
652 - 657 of 1,392 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Hotel is in an excellent location, across from the sea, by the gardens and a few minutes walk from town. The Staff are well trained, young, friendly and extremely helpful. We asked for a sea view room and couldn't have had a more fabulous view facing the sea, the pier and over the gardens. The dinner was first class, attractively presented and very plentiful in portion size. The bedroom was clean, the linen fresh each day and with bottles of water daily at no charge - a very nice touch. We had a lovely, relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms with the big arch windows are delightful with stunning views on the higher floors
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We booked a 'compact' room, and frankly, I'd love to see a normal room, because the compact was huge! Loads of space, lovely big bathroom, very clean. Only complaint is the lack of air con (expected in a building of this age) as the room was uncomfortably hot!

Breakfast was fine, plenty of choice. We had dinner one evening in the bar, excellent and very reasonable.

Staff were friendly and helpful. General atmosphere is very relaxed and the location is perfect! Spotlessly clean and very quiet, even in high season. A lovely relaxing stay.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Khastings1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I asked for a quiet room and apart from the call of the seagulls it was amazingly quiet considering the hotel is right in the central gardens/beach area of Bournemouth. The beach, shops, cinemas, theatre and restaurants are a short stroll through the beautiful gardens, in fact the hotel couldn't be better situated.
The room was on the side of the hotel overlooking the gardens. It was well equipped and well cleaned each day.
The food in the dining room was excellent, especially at dinner when the choice and presentation was really impressive. I have found it difficult to find reasonably priced, good restaurants in Bournemouth that aren't chains or of the fish and chip/hamburger variety, so I was delighted with the food at The Hermitage. I couldn't fault it.
Staff are efficient and charming.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank VicLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Room 111 is titled as 'Superior' but I dont know what it is superior to. It was a disappointment. The room is a good size (but I have had equally large rooms for a lot less). It did have a 'seaview' - over a flat roof, between some trees and a raised concrete flyover, so how much of the view is sea? It did have some good features - iron and ironing board, tea/coffee, flat screen TV, but most of these are standard in most hotels these days.

The room was very, very hot - and this was on days which were mainly overcast, cool and rainy. It was a relief to get out of the room - not a feeling you should have for this price. I cannot believe they do not have air-conditioning in this room and a ceiling fan. A table fan was provided but this is far less effective. We had to have the fan on all night the room was so hot. Only one of the windows opened and only a small amount. I noticed other rooms did have other windows that were able to be opened. This is a very odd room. I guess it was the last one available. Perhaps they should make its shortcomings clear when booking and adjust the price accordingly.

The other oddity was the lack of power sockets. There were only two accessible - one needed for the fan, which left only one free for laptops, phone charging, kettle etc - Superior?
The Wifi is free, which is good and quite fast - but it kept failing.

I was aware of the variability of the rooms and so I originally phoned the hotel to book, but was told they had no rooms available. I then went on their own website and booked it! I dont understand why this happens. It did mean I couldnt identify the room and avoid this sweltering room. Other hotels with rooms of various quality have websites that allow you to view each room and book individual rooms - and rooms are priced accordingly. The only 'Superior' point for this room as far as I can see is that it is larger than some others. The price did not reflect the value.
We stayed at the Ramada Hotel previously and it was a much better room and hotel - and a lot cheaper (without the 'seaview' and a short walk to the beach)

On the positive, all the staff were pleasant, breakfast was good - they do have vegetarian sausages available, but no signs, you have to ask - and the bed was very large and very comfortable.

The main plus being is that you can walk to the beach in about 1 minute without crossing roads. However this is not worth the money. It may have been worth 4 stars in the past, but other hotels have overtaken it.

I would not recommend staying in this hotel, it is overpriced, poor value and poor quality facilities. I do not enjoy writing bad reviews, most of mine are very positive, but I would not want others to feel disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 111 is uncomfortably hot
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 186338MichaelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for a week in a superior seaview room. The "sea view" was disappointing....and first impressions are really important! Yes we could see the sea...just about...but it was largely obscured by ugly promenade buildings and a carousel. Obviously the hotel can do nothing about these....but maybe the decription of the view could be more honest. I have stayed in beauiful hotels where seaview means what it says but here? only with a good pinch of salt. In fact the view in general was spoilt by the horrible flat roof of the extended dining room on the floor below.

We were warmly welcomed, check in was swift and efficient and the staff, in general, were friendly and very helpful. The room was impeccably clean and well furnished. It was described as a "very large room" ; large, yes,...very large, not really. When we arrived, the room was extremely warm, had no AC and the window would only open a few inches. At our request, a gentleman arrived and showed us how to undo a clip so that the window could open a little more.....and pointed out implications of health and safety (aaagh, that term!!), the danger of people falling through windows etc. One of us is "older" , the other is distinctly elderly! A fan was provided in the room and I had brought my own ,so we used these at all times to try and regulate the temperature. There was, however, a shortage of electricity sockets. Whenever a phone needed to be charged or a kettle boiled we had to disconnect some appliance or other.
The bathroom was a good size and a gown , slippers and cosy towels were provided. There was a shower above the bath but it was difficult to regulate and was affected by the amount of water being drawn in other locations in the hotel. Really annoying!

Breakfast was buffet-style and included a good range of food although I would have liked a better choice of fruit. It was almost always prunes, melon and oranges . The staff who served breakfast were lovely people although the restaurant manager failed to hide his slight uneasiness when we arrived for breakfast 20 minutes before the official opening time on a Sunday. We needed to catch a ferry.

The hotel is in a really convenient position, a few minutes' walk from the lovely municipal gardens and from the shops. We were not bothered by noise although we were at the front of the hotel and had the window open all night. The hotel itself is quiet and calm with a pleasant bar area for relaxing. We always managed to find a space within the car park.

Despite all the niggles mentioned above, we had a lovely week at the Hermitage and would recommend it to anyone seeking a relaxing break in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you want a reasonable view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meopi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews