We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall, very good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overall, very good.”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have stayed in the Hermitage four times previously and everything was excellent, it was very good this time, apart from the day we arrived, checking in was fine, we wanted some lunch and sat in the lounge area, we could see others sat as if waiting to be served and we waited for some time, there just didn't seem be be enough staff on duty, such a shame as previous visits this has not been a problem, so maybe just a temp blip. (The roast beef sandwich I ordered was very lacking in beef!)
All that said, everything else was lovely, missed Maria in reception and pleased that Charles is still running the restaurant .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birthdaygirl186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    330
    115
    34
    17
See reviews for
258
512
77
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We've stayed here many times before and this time was like all the others - a very enjoyable stay in a hotel that offers good rooms, good food and a good location, all provided be superb staff.

As a bonus, and unlike some of the other "top" hotels in Bournemouth, the car parking is free, on-site and ample.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GT_Tourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have recently returned from a 7 days stay. In general terms a good hotel and good food and staff, however, this was somewhat spoilt when for 3 days there was a conference of about 80 persons. I would say that the hotel is not sufficiently big enough to host such an event and also cater for the residents.
On the second day of the event i went down into the lounge to have coffee. Unfortunately i could not even find somewhere to sit. The restaurant in the evening was taken up by the delegates and the residents who wanted to eat there were given a small space in the restaurant. In fact on the first evening i was told i could only eat at 6.15 as the delegates wanted the dinning room for themselves, however, i have to say some 2 hours later i was told management had had a meeting and residents could dine at their chosen time. Again i have to say i had good service from the restaurant staff including Charles.
The moral of the story is that i think the hotel should pre warn residents of such an event because if i had been informed i would have spent my money somewhere else. What a shame especially especially when one is spending quite alot of money for the priviledge of staying there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Harroguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourton on the Water
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I picked a sea view room and whilst it was a bit small in was fine food was good and service excellent. will be staying again. Location is also vry good within walkingdistance of peir and sea front. Car parking also an added bonus

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardC012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exmouth, devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 day conference and stayed 2 nights here. Everyone polite friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and very well equiped and a great brekkie to start you off. The thing that made this hotel stand out for me though was the attitude of the reception, general staff and the manager when i mistakenly believed i'd had 2 phones stolen while in reception. Customer service at its best! Thank you

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank gibbyExmouth_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I called the Hermitage after finding them on-line and booked a dinner bed and breakfast as I was planning to propose to my girlfriend. The price was very reasonable and it was explained to me on booking that I would get my room with a discount as although it faced the sea it was on the first floor so my view may be limited. I was a little dubious about this but thought for the price it was worth it. When we arrived at the hotel we managed to park straight away and we checked in at reception. The interior of the hotel is immaculate, clean and tidy, not garish or modern but classic. When we got to our room and I saw the view both myself and my girlfriend were delighted that the sea was clearly visible and whilst the trees in Bournemouth gardens were high and restricted our view slightly the view was more than perfect for the price. Our room was superbly presented with a good sized double bed and a lounge area with tea/coffee making facilities and an en suite bathroom.

The position of the Hermitage is also excellent, probably the best you can get. You can walk straight into Bournemouth gardens and onto the beech without even crossing the road. We walked around the gardens even going up in the hot air balloon. We then had a drink at the end of the pier before I popped the question on the beach. She said yes thankfully!! We were entitled to a three course meal off of the set menu included with the price of the room and went for dinner at around 8PM. We ordered our starter and dessert from the menu but both fancied a steak so for a supplement we did this. The food (steak in particular) was out of this world. by far one of the best I have had. The other great thing about this hotel is the staff, all very attentive and service is polite and fast. The bar is well stocked and no more expensive than the local pub. We had a comfortable night sleep and a lovely buffet breakfast in the morning. All in all it was a fabulous weekend and one that myself and my now fiancée will remember forever. thank you Hermitage for a truly magnificent stay, We will certainly be going back and would recommend you to our friends. Having stayed in hotels all around England and Europe this is by far ONE OF THE BEST HOTEL WE HAVE STAYED IN!

Room Tip: Get one facing the sea!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

my fiance and i stayed here on saturday night to celebrate our engagement. We had a wonderful evening, food was delicious, and staff were great. our room was a limited seaview compact room but we were pleasantly surprised,very clean with its own lounge area and separate sleeping area. tea and coffee as well as hot chocolate and biscuits overall the room was well equipped even had a sewing kit.
we also had enough of a seaview to get the by the sea feeling despite paying a very reasonable rate not much different to premier inn, except dinner and breakfast were included, breakfast was buffet style with loads of fruit,pastries and eggs and bacon ect.
very pleased with our time there and looking forward to visiting again. only negative,it was a little too warm but we opened the windows and used the fan provided and slept well.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah26mt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Property: The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing