We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“By far the best Hotel in Bournemouth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“By far the best Hotel in Bournemouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Another fabulous stay for our party of six. We stayed from the 27th to 31st May.

From arrival at reception to being shown to our room,to eating in the restaurant and drinks in the bar, everything about The Hermitage was faultless. This was our second stay at the Hotel and will not be our last. Our room was spacious, spotless, comfortable and bright. The staff are friendly, efficient and professional. The Hermitage is a must if you are wanting to stay in Bournemouth. Lower cost hotels are available but beware of false economy as The Hermitage is definitely value for money.

To round off the complete holiday package this Hotel is in "the" prime spot in Bournemouth!

Thanks to all the staff, we'll see you next time.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    328
    113
    34
    17
See reviews for
256
507
77
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed for two nights in May due to attending a conference at the BIC. This hotel is ideally located for attending an event there. The room was clean and nicely furnished and with a stunning view of the pier. The food was superb and plenty of it too. It was very peaceful and relaxed and all the hotel staff friendly and helpful. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: There is no pool or gym facilities but one a walk away if required
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just returned home after a Masonic Weekend at the Hermitage Hotel in Bournemouth, Dorset Uk. From the moment we arrived we found the all the staff really helpful and very pleasant.Our room was very bright clean and all amenities there for you comfort. We found the beds very comfortable. All the staff were friendly from the moment we arrived, We were made to feel very comfortable from all the staff. The food was excellent from breakfast, lunches and evening meal, the Ladies Night on the Saturday evening was superb, seven courses of pure joy. I would highly recommend this hotel for an excellent weekend and good value for money.

Room Tip: We had room on the ground floor at the rear of the car park Room 607, which was very quiet as I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brinol59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is in the best location overlooking the seafront with easy access to the beach, gardens and town. The bedrooms are bright and airy with modern decor and spacious bathrooms. Plenty of choice at breakfast and spoilt for choice at dinner which was freshly cooked and well presented. What makes this hotel special is the staff who are friendly and attentive whilst being very professional. Our family have been staying at this hotel for about 25 years, what more do I need to say!

Room Tip: Chose a sea view on 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-in-style-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

2nd time staying at the Hermitage and again it didn't disappoint. Staff were friendly and efficient. Rooms were clean and location couldn't be better. Free wifi and parking into the mix all added up to a relaxing weekend away by the beach! Thanks to all the staff and hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmamanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I've stayed at a few hotels in the Bournemouth area over the years and once I found this little gem I've not looked any further. It's quite delightful and the staff are extremely friendly and ensure you have a wonderful stay.
The rooms are nice and comfortable and there is free wifi (good signal too), every time I've stayed I've also had a lovely view of the sea (sunrise is beautiful!). In the bathroom there is an interesting sign that mentioned ducks (I didn't have one.... But it did make me chuckle!) my only change would be to have mixer taps rather than individual taps and a slightly larger wash basin.
The breakfast is good and the service excellent, I would perhaps have the cooked dishes that are suitable for vegetarians (eggs, mushrooms etc) away from the non-veggie dishes like black pudding as people were using the same utensils for both which put me off a bit (I'm a vegetarian by the way!)
The car park is free and reception give you a pass to place on the dashboard, the car park is a bit tight here and there and double parking occurs so you can end up being blocked in for a while (leave a bit of extra time just in case reception have to contact another guest)
It's also ideally situated for BIC (just across the road) :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed for the weekend of the 10th-13th May, for a masonic Ladies Weekend. We had used this hotel some three years ago, and on our return found it has not changed at all. The food was very good, the five course dinner on the Saturday evening was very very good. As previoisly stated Charles who is in change of delivery of the superb food, runs a very smooth operation, even when he had some new young waiters who were not yet up to speed. A review said that they had to wait for eggs at breakfast. So did I only a few minutes, we have all stayed in those hotels that put out the egg's on a hot plate at 7am, and by 8am thay are like plastic discs.

Our room was very large, with a queen size bed, and a view of the sea. I agree that the fire alarm just after 7am on the Sunday morning could have been handled better with a little information. This was a super weekend. "Well done the hermitage"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Property: The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing