We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Yenton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Yenton
Ranked #11 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My partner and I visited The Yenton as part of a deals voucher. After reading several positive reviews the hotel did not live up to our expectations. The welcome was lukewarm and in fact during our stay we felt more of a burden than a guest. Our room was large and airy with an out of proportion size bathroom both being clinical with no homely touches. There were what we consider important things missing, ie no tumbler in bathroom, no telephone and short supply of hangers. We did not say anything as previously stated in case we were considered as a nuisance guest! Breakfast whilst adequate was somewhat restrictive with no choice apart from a cooked breakfast. I could not see any fruit on offer as stated on menu. On the positive side location was excellent, good night's sleep had in a comfy bed and was spotlessly clean. We felt that the lack of friendliness from the staff overshadowed our stay and we felt we were staying at a different hotel compared to other reviewers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galaxy1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    91
    27
    13
    10
See reviews for
80
166
43
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South England
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from honeymoon and my first job is to let you all know how amazing the Yenton were in facilitating the wedding of our dreams!
We got married on the 8th June 2013 but right from the very first meeting the service, friendliness and can do attitude were absolutely amazing!
The day was magical and Matt, Thom and the whole Yenton team worked so hard, Matt ensured he had all the details covered and everything was executed perfectly on the day!
We had an afternoon tea which was absolutely lovely, the lemon cup cakes were especially good Thom and then strawberries and cream really finished it off nicely although I still think Mark would have prefered the jelly and ice cream that the children had!
The newly refurnished honeymoon suite was beautiful and breakfast was lovely aswell.
I really can't emphasise enough how the Yenton made our day so extra special, it really isn't just a hotel, the gardens are absolutely beautiful and Matt even let me have a special photo with the guinnea pigs (nothing was too much trouble even with everything else going on) I would highly recomend this as a wedding venue and would like to say thankyou again for all your hard work
Suzy and Mark Harley x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUZY1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at Yenton for a conference in Bournemouth for 4 nights in June 2013. The price-quality ratio was very good. The building is a bit worn-out, but in a charming way. The room was big enough and bathroom (en-suite) was clean and worked well. Yenton is located well for Bournemouth University, a nice walk away from the centre and the beach. However, if you look for something very central, this might not be for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konepajakuiskaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very well positioned for both Boscombe and Bournemouth.Clean and nice rooms with large comfy bed.Hosts Matt and Tom very efficient obliging and friendly. Gardens are large and very beautiful.Drinks prices most reasonable and breakfast excellent. .Definately recommended.

Room Tip: Garden rooms most excellent as gardens beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewish499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at The Yenton during the bank holiday week. The hotel is easy to find, fantastically located just a short walk from the beach, pier and other Bournemouth attractions and is a wonderful hotel.

We stayed at The Yenton using a Dealcloud voucher and Matt & Tom couldn't have been more helpful trying to accommodate dates to suit us for our stay. We opted to upgrade to the Garden Room as it looked so beautiful and we weren't disappointed. The room was in the annexe and was spacious, airy, clean and modern with patio doors out on to the most immaculate garden.

The room offered everything you'd need for your stay, towels, additional bedding (although could have done with another pillow), toiletries, coffee and tea making facilities, kitkats (yum!) and a TV.

The breakfast was delicious and cooked to order so was fresh and tasted delicious. I'm a fussy eater and nothing seemed too much trouble.

Would wholeheartedly recommend The Yenton to anyone looking for somewhere lovely to stay in Bournemouth

Room Tip: Ask for the Garden Room, it's a little more expensive but totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugacube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Legged Cross
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had our civil ceremony at the Yenton in April and cannot praise the Yenton and everything they did for us enough. The service we received was fantastic, and their experience in organising such events was obvious in their ideas and suggestions that really gave the day a great twist.

On the day, Matt and Thom did an exceptional amount to make sure that everything went to plan-both behind the scenes and front of house, and A LOT of guests commented on how well everything had gone. They also helped tremendously in preparation, and even put the cake together!!

The food was exceptional too, and we even met the chef who had prepared a !fantastic! meal and evening buffet, to shake his hand afterwards.

All in all, we can thoroughly recommend the Yenton hotel for your wedding day or civil ceremony. Thank you to all the Staff there!!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite was brand new when we went! The first to sleep there was magnificent, but it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mortacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were greeted on first day by "Hello, what surname is it", with no introductions whatsoever and swiftly told room number and brief instruction as to how to locate it. Not the best welcomes we have ever received.
Although room appeared generally 'tidy', we weren't too pleased with the dust covered lamps and also dust on bed side tables. Pine drawer front panels coming off their dowels as we tried to open them(!!) and the bed was not the most comfortable.
This seemed to be the first hotel we have stayed in which failed to provide change of sheets/ bedding - the duvet having ink(?) stain. Kindly provided with hand/ shower wash but no complimentary shampoo; biscuits after the first night stay not replenished either (which may not seem significant but this again is a first for a hotel we've stayed in).
Telephone in room did not work and although advised one of the gentleman of this at reception who reassured it would be looked into, nothing was followed up.
I'm sure the management team will have their reasons/ excuses, but these seem very basic issues for a hotel.
On the positives, we felt the service provided at breakfast (particularly by the female member of staff on the first day) was exceptional and the food was well cooked, but again, on the second morning we had to change drink glasses as two were dirty around the rim.
I hope this review is taken on board with good spirit as clearly the hotel has many positives in respect to location, the building and the garden but, for us anyway, was let down by the reasons stated above..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newbiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yenton

Property: The Yenton
Address: Gervis Rd | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3ED, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yenton 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Yenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yenton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing