We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mulled wine afternoon tea”
Review of The Yenton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yenton
Ranked #12 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just had the most wonderful Mulled wine afternoon tea. The service was outstanding, the food outstanding and the ambience so restful and pleasant. From the time we were greeted to the goodbye at the end of the afternoon, there was nothing that I could fault. The mulled wine was delicious and set the tone for the rest of the afternoon. From our table, we could see outside to the garden and it was such a nice setting. The service was attentive and our every needs were catered to. The starter was a toasted sandwich of our choice, the crumpets were piping hot, served with jam and the final cake was a warmed apple pie with cream. Each dish was brought out once we had finished the first one so that all the food was served hot. At no time were we rushed and made to feel we should leave the table, rather we were encouraged to sit and relax and enjoy the wonderful tea. It was very good value for money and there was plenty to eat. I will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joybells60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for The Yenton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 451 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here a while ago with a view to having a romantic weekend in Bournemouth... The room we were given was a tiny little thing just above the reception area. There was a very small TV, un-vacuumed carpet that looked like it was from the 70s and mould growing on the ceiling. The bathroom was absolutely disgusting with mould and layers of soap scum clogging everything up, and the bed and pillows felt like they were made of concrete.

Neither of us got any sleep at all, partly due to the horrendously uncomfortable bed and partly due to the fact that a small dog was yapping all night in the room next to us. We complained about this and they managed to shut the dog up, but that still didn't change the fact that the room was very claustrophobic and uncomfortable to stay in.

We made a complaint to the manager in the morning and he offered to let us sleep in a different room, but it wasn't much better than the one we had - so we decided to give in and went to stay at a Premier Inn instead - we didn't even bother to stay for breakfast at the Yenton, so I can't comment on what the food is like.

The manager did try to refund our money, however he made a mistake on the transaction - so instead of refunding us he ended up charging us twice!! We only realized this when my girlfriend tried to use her card to pay for something and she was unable to due to there being no funds available. They did of course refund everything eventually, but the whole experience pretty much ruined the beginning of our 'romantic' weekend.

So learn from my experience - when someone seriously considers sleeping on the floor instead of in the provided bed just to try and get five minutes of shut-eye, it's not a good sign! Do not stay here... consider yourself warned!

Room Tip: Don't bother - go stay in a Premier Inn or Holiday Inn instead!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nexus9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattyenton, Owner at The Yenton, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

It is very difficult to respond to a review that refers to a stay that happened a year ago and when no details are given for us to look up the booking or what category of room was booked and what the expectations were.

I have to say that the scenario described does not sound like us and i can only apologise that you were so disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked this stay on groupon for some friends to come down from London and I must say it was a warm and friendly hotel with attention to detail. Rooms very clean, they even had a little chocolate rocky bar to have with a cup of tea. Ipod docking station, spacious room and nice and warm. The service at breakfast and the breakfast itself was really good and they couldnt do enough for you. A really nice place to stay with nice clean rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

On arrival we had the most wonderful “Afternoon Tea” after being shown to our room which would put most of the top class hotels to shame. Breakfast absolutely first class and must agree with other reviewer that the sausages were delicious along with eggs bacon etc. The Yenton was a friendly hotel with lovely gardens to look out on, good parking and a nice walk from the beach. Well Done Hotel Yenton.

Room Tip: WiFi not in range in our room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Looks over the lovely garden. The room needs updating, paint on the ceiling left hand corner flaking off. Bed (2 joined together) new mattress needed (squeaky). Very small TV you will need your glasses to see the screen. Pine wardrobe and chest of drawers. Hospitality tray one of worse we have come across, silver tin with basic tea and coffee sachets. The bathroom, no individual bath/shower products. Badly in need of refurbishment!! Noise from other rooms flushing their toilet/s quite alarming!!
Friendly, proprietors!
Breakfast very good, lovely view over the gardens.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyholidayer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel has plenty of character, it's close to the beach and not far to town.
We got our stay through KGB and t was great value.
Breakfast - nice sausages and eggs! A bit f fresh fruit would be lovely.
Bed - comfy enough and I'm writing this as someone who is 7 months pregnant
Room - clean big, changed daily, coffee and biscuits was an unexpected, lovely touch
Shower - our friends was great but ours was the only thing we could complain about no pressure or regulation but we had a bath instead so ok.
Service- lovely staff but maybe need a few more people on the bar or breakfast.

Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hettie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just returned from a short break at the YENTON on arrival we were served afternoon tea sandwiches/tea cakes and cake what a great way to greet guests.Our room 12 overlooked the garden which was lovely.This hotel has a fantastic location a 15 min stroll to the gardens in the centre of Bournmouth and in the opposite direction to Boscombe again a 15 min stroll .The local bus service to Poole is first class and the nearest bus stop 3 mins away.Finally back to YENTON the breakfast was great, numerous cereals and to follow a great cooked offering of bacon/sausage/ mushrooms/eggs etc. We will return and with friends .Thanks to all at YENTON

Room Tip: Room 12 overlooks the garden
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,035 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yenton

Address: Gervis Rd | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3ED, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $94 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yenton 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Yenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yenton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing