We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night away to see show”
Review of Montague Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montague Hotel
Ranked #45 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed March 31, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 502 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed here mid march on a friday and satutday. On first impression the hotel was ok.We booked 2 rooms as there was 4 of us. Charlotte comes across as very friendly. We ate in the Hotel and the meal was very nice. Our first night sleep was fine. The second night had some couples but also groups of men. Most were ok, just a bit loud. We were sat in the bar when 3 young lads were checking in to one room. Dumped their bags and off they went drinking. All ok until they return at 3am and continued to shout about until 6.30am. The other room (both with kitchen, dining room below and a constant very loud, vibrating noise until something was turned off also at 6.30am. The night porter had been informed at 11pm but could not find the source of the problem. The room was unusable but no other room was available to move to. The next morning Charlotte blamed it on a room fan in another room..Rubbish! it was room 4 and i was in room 5. It was obviously something in the kitchen being left on. Also another reason we would never return to this hotel. We came back on the Friday night and Charlotte was checking in a Drunk (with can in hand) man who had been sent over from another hotel as they wouldnt take him. He looked very high on drugs also. Charlotte had commented to me the next morning this is also what she thought and was glad when the night porter turned up as she was on her own with him. The next day Charlotte had said that his dad was bringing 2 black bags of his down to the hotel (His girlfriend had kicked him out) and his dad obviously didnt want him staying with him. Later in the day Charlotte had said that the cleaner had gone in to the room and it was splattered with blood. He was FINALLY being asked to leave. When i complained to Best Western about this someone from the hotel lied and said the man was not inebriated but in fact terminally ill. What a totally shameful lie and insult to all people that are in fact terminally ill.. I thought this was a hotel we were staying in and not a doss house. I did complain to the hotel about all the problems and was offered a 20% discount off my next stay!!! as if any of us would want to stay again. The Hotel finally agreed to a partial refund and Best western have apologised on behalf of the hotel. Our room was ok and breakfast on the saturday was nice. On the sunday though the breakfast menu had been taken away. When i asked about this i was told that they could only do a cooked breakfast and not offer the other things on the menu that morning as there wasnt the staff! So to sum it up. There was some good points but when something goes wrong they (or someone) lies through their teeth. I would not have written such a bad but truthful review had they of apologised and admitted that our room noises were not acceptable and in fact that they shouldnt of allowed such a drunk (and in all of our and Charlotte's opinion) that he was in fact very high on drugs. Enough lies please. Best western have logged the complaint with head office.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sally1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Owner at Montague Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

With response to this review, We would ask the general public to read all the previous reviews and to realise what a caring and helpful Hotel we are. We went out of our way to allow this lady and her parents to change their booking date even though she purchased a non-refundable non-amendable rate. We were advised never to do this and to stick to the terms and conditions, unfortunately this lady has ruined it for the genuine nice customers that book our hotel as it clearly shows to us to try to do something nice backfires. We could of kept all the money paid for the original two nights but we didn't. We have refunded the lady the full amount of her second night minus the VAT and now wish that we hadn't bothered trying to be so nice.
Unfortunately we can not control who books on the internet to stay in our Hotel and all staff including Night porters do their upmost to keep noise to a minimum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Very clean and well looked after 3 star hotel, all staff are lovely and seemed very happy in their work which makes a nice stay.

Room. Fair size with very comfy bed, bright and clean, bathroom did the job with a good shower, nice touch is the room had a trouser press, iron and ironing board. The only fault was the very squeaky/groaning floors. We felt very sorry for the people below us as this must of caused them issues. We could certainly hear the people in the next room walking around, so aim for a top floor if you can.

Breakfast was above expectations, hot food cooked to order so no luke warm food from a buffet, usual offering of continental as well,

Along with the good value of the hotel, the staff, car parking and location this hotel is a good bet for a great stay in Bournemouth

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed her for one night on Saturday 22nd March. From the minute we booked (and we had to alter the bookings - we had 4 rooms), we had a superb service. Charlotte, in reception, was extremely welcoming and very helpful. The rooms were very clean. (obviously the superior rooms are a lot bigger). However, the standard rooms are more than enough. All bedrooms and bathrooms have recently undergone a complete refurb and were faultless. Also the beds were very comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was very good , although a little bit slow. This was more down to only one girl on duty and the hotel being very busy. We had to ask for more cups and plates but they eventually arrived. The full English was definitely worth waiting for.
Overall, an excellent stay and I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Had rooms on second floor...The party we were in had 1 x triple, 1 x superior double and 2 x standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

4x recycled teenagers (70+) stayed for one night to see a fabulous show at BIC (4 Tops, Platters etc.). Montague ticked all the boxes, clean room and bathroom, sheets and towels spotless and felt nice in fact the whole hotel had a welcoming and nice feeling about it. Breakfast 5*, freshly cooked and nicely presented. Would definitely recommend and will be booking again when we next visit. We owned and ran a large Guesthouse for over 30 yrs. so know a bit about the hospitality business.
Gordon & Nancy.

Room Tip: Room 30 has only a hand held shower over the bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GORDON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Donald622014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Booked the hotel on a late deal and was pleasantly surprised. Average sized room and the sheets on the bed were crisp and inviting. Room was very clean and it was pleasing to see the shower so clean and sparkling. Delicious breakfast, freshly cooked to order was included in the price. Easy parking and could walk to the beach. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome, its good to see so many smiles! We stay in a lot of hotels in many countries but found this was good value for money and could recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
407 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,408 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,255 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,560 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montague Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montague Hotel

Address: 13 Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England (Formerly Best Western Montague Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $53 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montague Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Montague is a friendly 31 en-suite bedroom, Metro bed and breakfast hotel.The hotel is in a fantastic location when visiting the south coast. Being only a stones throw away from the cliff tops with spectacular views across the bay, open promenade and miles of sandy beaches. Only a five minute walk will bring you to the town centre with its shops, bars, restaurants, cafés and vibrant night life. For the business traveller we are in a prime location for the Bournemouth International Centre.Our key facilities include: complimentary high-speed internet access in all rooms and public areas, lift to all floors, ample free car parking and a 24 hour reception, bar and night porter service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Montague Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing