We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Staff and Gluten free Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
Ranked #44 of 79 Hotels in Bournemouth
Ryde, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff and Gluten free Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

It was great stay with a fab location close to the beach and shops,The staff were very friendly especially Charlotte the receptionist who really went out of her way to make our stay relaxing. I'm gluten free which can be a really problem in some hotels but not in this one I bought my own bread down for breakfast and they toasted it for me to bring out with my breakfast, they even changed some of the food items around to meet my needs and this was not a problem. It was a great stay and would 100% return if I was staying in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: The rooms are average size however there was only two mini milks in the room for Tea and Coffee faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    187
    88
    36
    17
See reviews for
72
196
25
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Came for a 1 night stay with friend. The rooms were clean,comfy and cosy and the staff were friendly.The let down was cooked breakfast.After a 35min wait we had 1egg, undercooked bacon and the rest was cold and tasteless. Such a shame!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sandy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my wife on a weekend away after Christmas.We arrived by rail at Bournemouth Station and after a 10 minute taxi ride we were at the Hotel. A warm welcome from reception and we were soon checked in and in our warm cosy room..
It was a small double room as requested that had ample room for 2 with two super comfy beds a flats-creen tv and tea and coffee making facilities,along with a private bathroom and clean and fluffy towels.
We could not fault the room, but a larger version was available but the one we had suited our needs for a couple of nights.
The holel is a 10/15 minute walk down hill to the pier,beach and town that on a nice warm day is an easy walk and luckily we had 2 great days.
Breakfast was included in our deal and was excellent with a large choice of cold items and a choice of hot breakfast also.
There is a lift to all floors, a bar and a garden for guest to enjoy, wi-fi is available free and served our needs well.
We found a couple of good restaurants close buy and a much larger choice down town.
Overall a great place to stay for a weekend break of longer but say in a larger room upgrade
Highly Recommended

Room Tip: There is a lift set in the hills overlooking the sea,so this makes waling back to the hotel easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drhawk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Lovely Hotel with Lovely Staff but we had a room next to the reception area where we could hear everyone talking at reception and in the bar area.
Clean rooms but a bit small for 3 people.
Close to the BIC

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael14E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was superb.The staff we're spot on and it ticked all the boxes just a few minutes walk into town, food was superb really good value for money.we would like to thank everyone for making our stay so good and comfortable . Mr and mrs Rose 14th Dec 2013.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coller1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very friendly 3 star hotel, Charlotte on reception was lovely and helpful. Easy to find, plenty of free parking, rooms had a homely feel, With it being an old building the flooring was a little creaky so could hear room above walking but not enough to disturb me. Good breakfast, generous portions and well presented.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKSales_Rep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Located away from the Hen/Stag Hotels but only a short walk from the centre it could not be better located.

The staff were very friendly, the room was amazingly clean and everything worked including all channels on the TV(very rare in the UK).

It would have been a 5 star if the room had been a little bigger, it was very much on the small side plus the shower tap had a mind of it's own.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidComptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#15 of 79 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#55 of 79 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#36 of 79 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 79 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 79 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
Address: 13 Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 79 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Montague is a friendly 31 en-suite bedroom, Metro bed and breakfast hotel.The hotel is in a fantastic location when visiting the south coast. Being only a stones throw away from the cliff tops with spectacular views across the bay, open promenade and miles of sandy beaches. Only a five minute walk will bring you to the town centre with its shops, bars, restaurants, cafés and vibrant night life. For the business traveller we are in a prime location for the Bournemouth International Centre.Our key facilities include: complimentary high-speed internet access in all rooms and public areas, lift to all floors, ample free car parking and a 24 hour reception, bar and night porter service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, SpeedyBooker.com and HRS so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing