We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montague Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
West Cliff Inn(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Croham Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
New Westcliff Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ullswater Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tower House Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Durley Grange Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Connaught Lodge(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveler rating
137
207
107
44
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
207
107
44
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooked breakfastfull englishcreaky floorboardspleasant hotelshort staywest cliffnight porterhotel bartown centrevery pleasant stayrooms were very cleanboth morningsexcellent value for moneystayed for nightsnothing too much troubleplenty of hot watersuperior room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 515 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Booked to stay for just one night. With so much choice it was difficult to know which hotel to choose from. This hotel was excellent value for money. Very friendly lass on reception which was a nice welcome after a 4 hour drive. The room was clean and comfortable but we didn't book for breakfast so cannot comment on the food but if it was to the same standard as everything else, it would probably have been excellent. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and will have no qualms about coming back. Nice garden area to sit in and plenty of free parking in the car park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Montague Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

BlueJulia we are so pleased you had such a lovely 'Overnight Stay'. Next time be sure to book breakfast - its on £1 per person when booked with your room rate.
We hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

There was a problem with their booking system (?) and we were sent to another nearby hotel, saying that it will be the same standard and that we can still have our paid breakfast at Montague/ Best Western.

The hotel we were sent to was quite hidden, we had difficulties in finding it, it had a tiny room, worn-out bathroom and the hallway was smelling strongly of cleaning products. If this is the standard....

We then had breakfast at this hotel as promised. There were no pastries as the menu specified and no selection of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lalai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Montague Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

IaIai as we explained on the phone to you prior to leaving for Bournemouth we are so sorry with the problem we experienced with our booking system. It was beyond our control and regardless of it being the hottest and busiest weekend in Bournemouth we made sure we accommodated your booking in a three star hotel like ourselves. We ensured that all members of staff at the other hotel were aware of how important it was to make sure you were comfortable and I am sorry this was not reflected. I also would like to apologise for us running out of Danish pastries on the Sunday morning.
We would really like the opportunity to accommodate you at our hotel so we can provide you with an unforgettable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Thankfully the English weather is back so decided to stay down in Bournemouth for an extra night and pleased with the Montague. Checkin was friendly and efficient. Allocated room on the second floor which faced the garden and the road. Keycard had breakfast times and wifi details (free and good service) and happy hour times (2 till 7 each day £2.70) Noise was not a problem as the hotel is set back from the roundabout.

Room was average size for a resort hotel. Modern flat screen tv, tea/coffee facilities and the bed was not too bad. No fridge unfortunately. Bathroom was good, slightly more modern than other hotels in the area I guess (water pressure in the shower & tub was fine) Soap dispensers on the wall and soft towels so all set. Even a shaver point.

Breakfast was okay, lots of cereal and fruit choices. Full English was cooked to order but was slightly overdone. Egg was not runny but firm and bacon a bit hard but presented well and hot (7/10) Toast and pastries if you wanted something lighter and great selection of fruit and herb teas.

Great location near all the restaurants and the town center. Free parking in the hotel which was a godsend. Checkout the photo of the hotel from yesteryear in the lobby toilet. Only downside was the thinness of the curtains so it was quite bright in the room at 6.45 a.m. Would definitely return when next down if there was availability.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Montague Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you UncleDom for writing your "great location" review - we are glad the weather was so nice for your stay. Thank you for pointing out the positive aspects of the hotel we are delighted to be able to offer our guests free on-site parking and complimentary WI-FI with the added bonus of happy hour. Your comments are much appreciated by one and all. We hope to be of service again soon where we will ensure the scrambled egg is cooked to perfection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here for a night with my boyfriend for my birthday. On walking in we were greeted by Emily, she was very welcoming and bubbly. The reception area was very clean and welcoming. We then went to our room which had the most comfortable bed I've ever laid on!! It was quite a small room but I prefer to use the word 'cosy'. I work in a hotel myself as a cleaner and I must say the cleanliness was spot on. The shower wasn't a weak dribble like some of the reviews on here say, it was more than adequate. Before getting ready to go out we decided to have a few drinks from the bar and sit in the garden. The young man that served us was just as lovely as Emily but I didn't get his name. The garden was nice and relaxing, closed in by bushes so very private away from the main road. The next day we were very tempted to stay on another night but I had plans with family for more birthday celebrations back home. My next stay will most definitely be for more than one night as I felt so comfortable and relaxed staying here. Well done to u all, I was a very happy guest indeed!!' :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melodicmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Montague Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Melodicmel,
What a lovely review you have posted and thank you for your mention of Emily and the bar man who was on duty. Our staff have natural customer service skills. We are glad you could not fault the cleanliness of the hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated. What a shame you could not of extended your stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us when you are visiting again and we will ensure your are allocated a bigger 'cosy' room.

Thank you again for all your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for just one night, on a room only basis, with a couple of fishing buddies. Staff on reception and in the bar / lounge area were really friendly and accommodating. Great rooms, recently refurbished ( I guess. ) which were very clean and comfortable. Had to leave very early the next morning to get to Poole harbour so can't comment on breakfast. Overall, excellent value for money and wouldn't hesitate in booking again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Montague Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Paul H,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We remember the three of you well as you had some very early wake up calls. We hope your fishing experience was as successful as your hotel stay was. Next time we will send you off with some bacon butties - so book breakfast its only £1 extra and will be well worth it.
Best wishes to you and your fellow travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews