We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Montague Hotel
Ranked #45 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!!!!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Upgraded a Buyagift Voucher to avoid the economy rooms from experience. Being a Best Western was apprehensive but very pleasantly surprised!! Very clean, friendly staff, great room which was like a suite, though slightly disappointed with breakfast. Pastries not replenished within an hour before finish and cereals and fruit didn't look fresh. Help yourself to tea and cook your own toast, can't be doing with that when away, do that at home, that is what a break is for, to be waited on ... Decor slightly dated and short staffed, that said would return but not for breakfast!!! One thing, The Barman was really friendly!!!! Oh and reception staff very welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeniecrew-182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear beeniecrew-182,
We are so pleased that you had a great stay with us using your Buyagift Experience Voucher. All Best Western Hotels are independently owned - all hotels are a high standard. Hopefully we have built on your expectations of the Best Western brand and next time you will not be apprehensive. Thank you for your kind words about our bar man and reception team I will ensure these kind words are passed on.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    202
    98
    41
    18
See reviews for
77
214
28
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. As soon as we arrived we were met by a friendly receptionist who made us feel most welcome. The room was on the top floor, very comfortable and well furnished with good decor and a reasonable size. We didn't have the best of the weather so ate in the hotel on a couple of evenings. They only do bar meals but the menu has a reasonable selection and the quality of the food is very good. The location of the hotel is superb as it is a very short walk to the town centre, beach and entertainment venues. The hotel was very busy during our stay but all the staff were very attentive and friendly - it made us feel like we were the only guests staying there! We would definitely make a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear JimmyZ,
Firstly thank you for choosing our hotel as a base for your stay in Bournemouth. We hope your anniversary was one to remember. We only wish the weather could have been better - Bournemouth is even more stunning in the sunshine. I am glad you could experience the hotels long serving members of staff and also our evening bar menu. We are a small hotel and you are right we do have a big heart. Every guest is individual to us and just as important as the next.

We really hope we can welcome you again in the future
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales, UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed just one night. £56 per room including great breakfast! Shower in room 26 bit snug and dribbly but does the job. Great location tho parking was a bit tight with few spaces. Receptionist on arrival gorgeous and friendly. Would stay again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazzag61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear bazzag61,
Thank you for writing a review post departure from our hotel yesterday. We are pleased you enjoyed your flying visit to Bournemouth. Due to our great rates offered the hotel was exceptionally busy - next time you stay with us a complimentary upgrade will await you. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our front of house receptionist. We do hope you will return again.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

i stayed here for a couple of nights i would not recomend it at all
there was no plug for the sink i asked at reception and was told no problem sir never got one
1st morning breakfast was realy realy greasy
2nd morning at breakfast i eplained to the waiteres that the breakfast the day before was realy greasy so could she ask if they could grill or dry fry my breakfast she seemed to understand 10 mins later i asked where my breakfast was she said you no want breakfast i re expained what i asked for and explained that the water for use to make tea was cold and the fillter coffee was allso cold they said there is a problem with the electric in that room she still did not understand so i said forget it and went to the reception to complain
the receptionist went and spoke to the waiteres then came back and accussed me off talking to the waiteress inapropiatly i advise people to stay clear very poor hotel the worst i have ever stayed in

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Peterad01,
We take all reviews, good and bad, most seriously and try to deal with them in the most appropriate manner. I know you have also logged a complaint regarding your Buyagift voucher reservation with Best Western head office which is being dealt with as we speak. I am sorry that you feel you have to voice your dissatisfaction to so many avenues and that we could not correspond directly. I apologise that your opinion of breakfast was that is was greasy however the only items on our breakfast that are fried (if taken) are 'fried' eggs and 'fried' potatoes. I also would like to apologise for the problems we encountered with our electrical items on your second morning - this was out of our control and rectified that day.
I am sorry that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay - should you wish to return please contact me directly where i can assist with your reservation.

KIndest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in February for a valentines break. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The hotel itself was nice although could probably do with some decorating.

There is free parking but only about half a dozen spaces or so, therefore it's best to arrive early then not move your car for the duration of your stay or you probably wont get a space.

We had breakfast both days, it was small but adequate I guess and there were no croissants out despite this being on their menu.

The room we were given was pretty much in the loft, it was really hot, the windows only opened about 2 inches and didn't cool the room down at all. We managed to turn the radiator off but this didn't seem to help much. Although a double room, it was clearly 2 single beds screwed together which made an uncomfortable gap in the middle.The floor was unbelievably creaky which made me scared to walk around at night for fear of disturbing other guests (this was probably the only plus of us being so far upstairs as we weren't disturbed by noisy floors!)

The bathroom had only a bath and a shower nozzle. The shower hook was about 1 foot off the bath and therefore you couldn't stand up and have a shower. Also, the water pressure was awful kept changing from a powerful gush to just a trickle and the temperature of the water was up and down too.

However, we were only there 2 nights but housekeeping did come in and make the beds and change the towels which was good.

It's advertised as free WiFi throughout the hotel but as we were on the top floor I'm guessing we were exempt from this but as it was a break away I wasn't too fussed.

The only time I would stay again I think is through Groupon again as I wouldn't want to pay full price for this hotel, it's very basic but for the price we paid we can't grumble.

Room Tip: Ask to not be put on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenbeck29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Helenbeck29,
I do have to disagree that you get what you pay for when purchasing a Groupon deal for our hotel - the service, room allocation process, facilities are the same for each guest regardless of the booking channel your reservation has come from. We are extremely lucky to have a large car park compared to the majority of the surrounding hotels and our priority is to assist all guests with parking on-site or in close proximity to the hotels grounds. You are correct we do advertise croissants on our menu however due to circumstances beyond our control these were exchanged for homemade Danish Pastries - if this caused any inconvenience i do apologise.
I do hope that you can consider giving us another hotel to exceed your expectations where I will personally oversee your booking.

Kindest Regards
Anna Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Took my mother for a birthday stay to visit the town she grew up in. The hotel was very well situated for all our sight seeing and the staff were very helpful and friendly . We ate there in the evening and the food was lovely as was the breakfast. The only downfall was we had the room above the kitchen so from 6.15 in the morning it was very noisy with the doors banging which you could hear and feel too as the room seemed to shake! The room was lovely and clean and a good size for what was needed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motty69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Motty69,

From your Tripadvisor profile I can see you have reviewed quite a few hotels you have previously visited and must say we much appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay with us at the Best Western Montague. I hope your mother had a great time reliving the memories of Bournemouth and an even better Birthday. We are glad you were able to experience our lounge menu with our homemade specials. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel (where I will personally ensure you are allocated a quiet superior room)

We cannot emphasise how much we appreciate that you took the time to review your stay
Kindest Regards
Anna Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked our 2 night stay with Groupon and for the price we paid were very pleasantly pleased with our accommodation. The reception staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble if you needed to ask anything. The room was clean and adequate in size for the length of stay, light and airy with dual aspect windows. The shower room was small, but again adequate and clean. Breakfast was lovely with an excellent choice, traditional full english and buffet with fruit, cereal, yoghurt, toast and pastries. Waitress was friendly and service was quick. Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenG281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear DenG281

We are so pleased you could incorporate a great Groupon offer with your Anniversary celebration. We are highly commended on the personal service the hotel offers and the high level of our customer service and I will ensure your comments regarding the staff are passed on to each department. We would love to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Thank you for your great feedback
Kindest Regards
Anna Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Montague Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Montague Hotel

Property: Best Western Montague Hotel
Address: Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Montague Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Montague is a friendly 31 en-suite bedroom, Metro bed and breakfast hotel.The hotel is in a fantastic location when visiting the south coast. Being only a stones throw away from the cliff tops with spectacular views across the bay, open promenade and miles of sandy beaches. Only a five minute walk will bring you to the town centre with its shops, bars, restaurants, cafés and vibrant night life. For the business traveller we are in a prime location for the Bournemouth International Centre.Our key facilities include: complimentary high-speed internet access in all rooms and public areas, lift to all floors, ample free car parking and a 24 hour reception, bar and night porter service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Montague Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing