We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in lovely Bournemouth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Montague Hotel
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in lovely Bournemouth”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Firstly, I’d like to say what a great little hotel this is... great deal for 2 nights with bed and breakfast, clean 3 star hotel with nice welcoming staff and good location for our stay in Bournemouth.

We really enjoyed the breakfast which had several hot options (I always go for the full English) and a good choice of cereals, fruit and fresh juices etc... lovely start to the day!

The staff were great and helped to find a parking space and also arrange taxis when required. The hotel itself was also very clean and the rooms were smart and comfy with a good bed and decent shower (over the bath) which helps, one thing I hate is when hotels/B&Bs have poor showers!

The only downside with the hotel was the creaking floorboards from the room above, it was really bad and meant that we had an interrupted sleep both nights and early morning. We were in room 1 which was on the ground floor and if we were to stay again we would certainly avoid this room, the noise felt like someone was going to come through and end up on the bed!

When I spoke to the staff about this after the first night they did mention that they were willing to move us and understood our frustrations and recommendations that someone should look into this before guest start to complain. We have stayed in other hotels in Bournemouth and sadly creaking floorboards and noisy pipes seem to be a common occurrence... hopefully the Montague will take note of this and address the issue to ensure that guest can sleep soundly..

Other than the creaks, thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 if you want a good nights sleep... until they sort out the creaking from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALLOMATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Allomate,
What a breath of fresh air reading your review of our hotel. We agree breakfast needs to be the kickstart to your day - we also agree with the title of your review Bournemouth is lovely - we are glad you chose it as a destination for your stay and even more glad that you picked our hotel as your base
We hope to welcome you back again really soon
All the best
The Montague Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    200
    97
    39
    18
See reviews for
77
211
27
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We paid a little extra and had room 15, which was neat and tidy and we had a very comfortable stay. One of our group insisted on having a room with a bath, but personally I would much prefer just a shower, because I can't bear showers where the water goes onto the floor. I know that hotels have to cater for everyone, but I would have liked the screen to have been bigger and more effective. The bedding was crisp and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. I did not get on with the pillows at all, but again, there was nothing wrong with them, just not my preference. The staff and the parking were excellent, and I liked the lounge area which was very comfortable. We had a drink both nights, and we felt comfortable with the prices and the ambiance. (First night we went in a pub called The Hop Inn on the way back from eating - not nice.) I enjoyed breakfast which had a good variety on offer. The two hard working girls also served us at lunch when we turned up at Poole Pottery ! Finally, we were expecting creaks and noise. The first night there was no noise at all, and we had a great night. The second night there was creaking from the room above at midnight, and again at 5.20. We assumed that must be staff or night manager, but we didn't mention it. It wasn't horrendous, but if you are really fussy about noise, you might struggle. All six of us had a very nice stay. Thank you to the staff.

Room Tip: We had 15 which I would recommend. Friends in 16 and 17 said they heard a hum in the night, but both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spassky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Spassky123,
Thank you for writing a review post departure from the Montague last week. It was a pleasure to meet your group and host your two night Groupon stay. The Hop Inn is a popular venue for groups visiting Bournemouth and am sorry you did not rate your experience there. A lovely pub is located two minutes from the hotel called the 'Goat and Tricycle' which is renowned for its real ale - next time you are in Bournemouth i would definitely suggest a visit.

Please come and see us again soon
Everyone at the Montague Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is small and very welcoming with fantastic staff, especially the girls on reception, Very nice little bar with a happy hour that lasts for five hours and very cheap drinks, the bar area is also very clean and tidy, the rooms are small but every thing you need with nice beds and again very clean and tidy. On our first night we had a problem with the people in the room above which was no fault of the hotel, but next morning they went out of their way to move us and sort out this problem. The dining room was clean and the breakfast was great with lots of choices, we would stay here again as it is also very close to some nice food establishments, bars the B.I.C. beach etc.

Room Tip: Choose a room on level 1 or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
David B
Thank you for reviewing your stay it is very important to us to gather as much feedback from our guests as possible. We are extremely lucky to have a great team of staff - also thank you for posting a tip for future guests who may be searching for a hotel in Bournemouth. We have had requests to extend our Happy '5' hours even longer as it is so popular and I am pleased you were able to take full advantage of this.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Terrific small hotel, friendly staff (particularly the night porter who helped find a car parking space), rare to find these days. Nice clean room, basic but more than I expected from a 3 star. Highly recommended for couples wishing to have a quiet time in Bournemouth. Will visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Jimmy121212 - After speaking to our night porter he remembers speaking to you in the car park and i am delighted to hear you were able to experience our service in such a way. We always go that little bit further to assist guests. Bournemouth is not far from Fareham so please come and see us soon - the sun is shining and we will personally assist with your reservation to make another 'terrific' stay.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I visited the best western montage hotel in December.I came with my family and had an amazing time. It was good weather when we came and with such a short walk to the beach my family and I took full advantage of this, we went to the beach for a long walk but not before having an amazing and filling breakfast in the hotels restaurant. When we came back in the evening we were greeted with smiles and cheerfulness from the hotels staff, we then had a drink in the hotels bar which was very reasonable, and had some of the bar snacks which tasted delicious. The room was spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable not like some other hotel beds. We stayed over the weekend and there were no stag or hen groups which is very good. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone and I assure you,you will be greeted with smiles and friendly staff.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
R G, We love the heading of your review - we would like to strive to be your favourite hotel of all times. All we can say is that we achieved our aim - to provide a clean guest room, friendly environment and filling breakfast. It is so nice to see guests making the most of the beautiful Bournemouth beaches even in December.
A massive thank you for staying with us and for ending your stay on such a positive with a amazing review - really made those smiles on our faces even bigger!
Please come again - we would love to see you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We got a great Groupon deal so didn't expect the earth but the rooms were so tiny and the bathroom you had to go in sideways to get past the shower! Our double bed was 2 single beds zipped together and the mattresses so old and soft, we spent the whole night trying not to fall down the middle! We did complain and were moved to another one with a double bed. Spotlessly clean, staff very helpful and good breakfast but wouldn't have been happy paying full price for the size of room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bullybeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear bullybeef,
A substantial amount of hotels today use the traditional "zip and link" beds so that they can accommodate either twin, double or single occupants. I understand from your review you did not find the bed that comfortable, so please accept my apology for your discomfort. As you mentioned in your comments our staff will always endevour to move guests to make each stay as perfect as possible, and i am glad this worked out well in your situation. Regardless of whether guests book privately or through Groupon we always treat each guest the same and i hope you will return to see us again where a complimentary upgrade will be waiting for you.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A group of friends stayed for a uni reunion, Brilliant location 10 mins to town. Rooms lovely size and very clean. Great choice for breakfast. We will be back , happy hour was added bonus keep up the good work .

Room Tip: All our rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternMontague, Front Office Manager at Best Western Montague Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
SamL - We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to post a lovely complimentary review. We feel our hotel is the ideal base for gatherings and have accomodated many reunions. Your group were a pleasure and we would love to see you all again - in the bar for Happy Hour.
Once again a huge thank you from all of us at the Montague Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 66 in Bournemouth
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
480 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Montague Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Montague Hotel

Property: Best Western Montague Hotel
Address: Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Montague Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Montague is a friendly 31 en-suite bedroom, Metro bed and breakfast hotel.The hotel is in a fantastic location when visiting the south coast. Being only a stones throw away from the cliff tops with spectacular views across the bay, open promenade and miles of sandy beaches. Only a five minute walk will bring you to the town centre with its shops, bars, restaurants, cafés and vibrant night life. For the business traveller we are in a prime location for the Bournemouth International Centre.Our key facilities include: complimentary high-speed internet access in all rooms and public areas, lift to all floors, ample free car parking and a 24 hour reception, bar and night porter service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Montague Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing