We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Impressions and hot water”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Safari Bistro Hotel
Ranked #118 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We are staying at the Safari bistro Hotel for a week and first impressions are very good. The room (number 8) is large, the water is very hot from the shower and the internet is a little weak but acceptable. The choice of breakfast is good and so far the hotel has been quiet. There is parking although you may be asked to move as you have to double park. The room is worn, but the towels are clean. So far we have been pleasantly impressed with the room and the price was excellent. As other reviewers have commented, it is close to the beach and a short walk to the centre of town. I would have no hesitation in coming back or recommending this hotel to others, as it has what we need, internet, tv, breakfast and so far quiet. I will post an update at the end of our stay.

Room Tip: Room 8 is good
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExPatBrit964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Safari Bistro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 54 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

Pleasant welcome from the owner and a spacious room, but very basic. The bathroom was very tatty and as other reviewers have said, there was no hot water. The breakfast was better than expected, nice coffee and the hotels location to the beach and BIC (which is why we were in Bournemouth) was ideal, as was the parking. It was cheap, I wasn't expecting any more!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a night on our weekend away.
When we arrived we were greeted warmly by the female owner but thats about as good as it gets.
There was no hot water throughout our stay. The water came out brown and the bathroom floor crumbled and stuck to my partners foot. The bed was uncomfy as i could feel the springs digging into my back so I was to tired to get up for breakfast. My partner went to make a complaint in the morning but the male manager just got his back up and came up with lots of excuses.
We wont be staying here again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xxmrmthxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here with a group of girlfriends for a weekend and had a nice experience. The hotel has a lot of character and is a lovely building and the rooms were spacious and well kept.

I would say that the lack of hot water throughout our ENTIRE stay was disappointing; none of us could have have showers before we went out and the next morning it was still lukewarm at absolute best. The towels were also dirty and at least 5 years old - when we went down to reception to ask for new ones & complain about the water, the lady (I think the wife of the hotelier) explained that they don't buy new towels because they are too expensive. Erm... Ok.

But at the end of the day it was good value for only, the breakfasts looked good with a lot of choice (although we never made it down) and the rooms made a nice change from travelodges! The location was also fantastic for our needs - about a 5-10 minute walk to local bars.

Room Tip: Bring your own towel and prepare for a cold shower!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you want a break from perfectly tidy and characterless hotels then this one is for you.. This hotel is priceless for it's comedy value.. From the yoga instructions, the "sea views", the signs in the bathroom (hilarious!), the itchy blankets (ok maybe this part is not as funny!!.. who has blankets.. where are the duvets?) the vintage and eclectic mix of objects, to the pictorial wildlife!! But the real comedy at this place lies with the proprietor. what a character... My friends and I turned up at the door having booked two rooms for one night, to be met by the hotel proprietor who was clearly not expecting us. Whilst humming, and randomly saying our names as he hummed, he located his wife from the cellar (?) who told him there were two rooms free that we could have, one of which had a sea view.. well you could see the sea if you craned your head.. The rooms had seen better days to be honest.. but in terms of comedy value we had a giggle at some of the very special features.. If you have a sense of homour you must check this place out :)

Room Tip: what can i say? Best of luck with that!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenCronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had gone on a family outing on easter weekend. The hotel is at a strategic location (beach is hardly 4-5 mins ) walk, lots of pubs and restaurants close by. City centre is 10 mins walk from hotel.
We had booked 3 rooms and all of them were cleanly maintained through out our stay.
The owners [couple] are friendly (specially lady) the old man is found occupied with his own thoughts humming songs but a very good chef.
The breakfast was very good with lots of varieties offered only that you need to have it before 9 a.m. which is bit tough on early risers.
Only one point was slight frustrating, my brother's little girl was sleeping in the room adjacent to reception and old man was talking with some guests/ friends loudly... and on request he mentioned that this is my property and i can talk where ever i want, which we thought was unpleasant.
Overall great experience and I would certainly like to stay here again.

Room Tip: we stayed in 1, 3, 4.. all were good, expect the toilet flush was not working in room 1
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anujit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Friendly welcome. Bathroom very cold,needs radiator or at least a hot towel rail. Dining room also very cold. We were told that one of the radiators had leaked and was turned off in the diningroom. Owners were very friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: Choose upstairs as down stairs room very noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,967 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,034 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 67 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Bistro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Bistro Hotel

Address: 91 St. Michaels Road | Westcliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $75 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Safari Hotel is a small luxury family run Hotel close to the beach and town center. All rooms are refurbished and modernized in 2008. The Savanna Cafe is a themed breakfast and lunch cafe that offers different kinds of international breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Bournemouth
Safari Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing