We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest B & B”
Review of The Rosscourt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rosscourt
Ranked #5 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have just returned from a long weekend break at Rosscourt and cannot fault any part our stay at this spotlessly clean guest house. The room was a good size with wall mounted flat screen tv. Crisp white cotton duvet covers and large white bathroom towels. Gorgeous smellies in the en-suite bathroom are a lovely finishing touch.
My husband enjoyed the delicious Full English breakfast, a hearty start to anybody's day!! I chose the continental option and was not disappointed with the choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries and an abundance of toast and preserves.
Debbie is without doubt the friendliest host I have ever encountered, offering advice regarding places to eat, local walks and places of interest.
I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for The Rosscourt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 343 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

We loved the look of the beautiful building and were not disappointed. An extremely warm welcome from Debbie with immaculately presented and clean rooms. Slept like I did at home in the comfy bed. Hospitality tray would satisfys anyones needs and the toiletries were gorgeous.Full English breakfast was excellently cooked.We loved staying there. We couldn't fault RossCourt.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAROLINE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Although our stay was short (1 night) it was very pleasant. Our room was clean & comfortable - although a little on the small side. Debbie and Peter were very friendly and made us feel welcome. Hotel location is excellent for Boscombe beach. We will be back to stay - hopefully for longer next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Overall an excellent experience with helpful but not overbearing staff and good value for money. Would have appreciated more variety to the cooked breakfast, fish instead of traditional English for example. Fish was not on the printed menu but then again we didn't request it so it may have been our fault.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We were given a very warm welcome, and found our room to be spacious,very clean, well
maintained and had a lovely high quality en suite. The optional breakfast was delicious and generous. Debbie was very friendly and went out of her way to be helpful and accommodating for our particular needs. If we want to stay in Bournemouth again we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adele r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We arrived at Rosscourt and were greeted by Debbie. She immediately asked if we wanted help to carry our bags upstairs, and took us to our lovely room. When we got in the room we were pleasantly surprised by the size and décor. There was a nice tidy en-suite shower and toilet. (The shower gel was really fresh smelling) The television was in a nice place and the hot drink sachets were very welcoming!
In the morning we went down for breakfast. We had cereal, coffee, orange juice, a full English breakfast (poached egg, sausage, bacon, beans, mushrooms and tomatoes), croissant things that tasted like heaven and as much toast as we could eat!
We stayed for a whole week and we would especially recommend it for couples. Friendly and welcoming, situated by the best beach we have ever gone to. All in all a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattlegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We found the hotel via a Biker Forum as we wanted a base for a Biking Honeymoon. Debbie & Peter were welcoming & friendly both through the booking process and the stay itself.
The hotel is situated 5 mins walk from Boscombe Pier and 2 mins from Boscombe Town centre (which is ok for essentials but for the south coast experience a short trip into Bournemouth would be better).
Our bikes were securely parked and thoroughly safe. The room was clean and well presented as is the rest of the hotel. The Queen size bed was comfortable and the breakfast Top Class & piping hot with plenty of choice from a cereal, fruit juice, croissants & fresh fruit to a full english.
Debbie was always on hand to give advice & answer questions about the local area. Bedroom facilities included a flat screen freeview Tv, tea & coffee facilities with biscuits (all replenished daily), clean towels regularly changed and a nicely appointed en-suite with immediate hot water and a great shower.
The hotel is only a 5 minute bus ride (bus stop 50 yards up the road) takes you straight into Bournemouth or if you're fit, a pleasant 45 min stroll along the sea front.
All in all a recommended stay for the area & Biker Friendly too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 67 in Bournemouth
923 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 67 in Bournemouth
904 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#4 of 133 in Bournemouth
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rosscourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rosscourt

Address: 6 St. Johns Road, Bournemouth BH5 1EL, England (Formerly Rosscourt Bed and breakfast)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $88 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rosscourt 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusively for adults, to ensure a peaceful break and a time to relax. Flexible breakfast options, room only, continental or full English only pay for what you want. Free parking Free wi fi and Freeview T.V. 200 Yards from shops, gardens and restaurants. 500 Yards from the fantastic Boscombe, Bournemouth beach front. Ideal location for exploration or rest and relaxation. Debbie and Peter will ensure you have a pleasant stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rosscourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing