We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chocolate Box Hotel
Ranked #4 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My friend and I just came back from a few days in Bournemouth and we stayed at the Marlins hotel. Location is fantastic, a walk distance from the city center and all the main attractions, Service is great we could not fault it at all, the owners couldn't be any more helpful, extremely dedicated to make you feel at home.
You can smell how clean the hotel is from the moment you open the front door..
Great value for the money you paying and exceed expectations... I will def go back to the Hotel and recommend it to anyone that is planning in traveling to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mm1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    96
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
148
349
46
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Short review but wanted to write it nevertheless! This b&b was a fantastic place to stay. We had the family room (two adults, and one 7 year old) and our stay was very comfortable. Breakfast, as others have mentioned, was perfect. No complaints! Would stay there again this year if they weren't already booked up for the weekend we wanted to stay... Now with our new addition to our family.. a baby! Keep up the good work lads! See you again soon! :-)

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Clean and comfortable room with excellent facilities. Friendly staff who could not do enough for us and all for a very reasonabkle price. Best value for money ever.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie_beasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redhill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2011

What ever your reason to visit the lovely town of Bournemouth, you must stay at The Marlins. We go a couple of times a year and usually try different hotels, but we've now well and truely settled on this. Everything you want and more, clean, comfortable, good parking, great breakfast, but above all very very freindly, a real home from home.
Thank you guys, we couldnt have wanted for more, see you again next year if not before.
Andy and Mikey

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianjjames72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We did not have the best of journeys down to Bournemouth but the warm greeting, beautifully refurbished room and especially the chilled cava on ice more than made up for it.
We have enjoyed all our visits to Marlins, the owners cannot do enough for you to enjoy your stay. We were also very fortunate to pick up two spare tickets from Neil (no charge) to a wonderful concert at the pavillion theatre. We had mentioned at breakfast one morning that we were hoping to experience some live classical music and 24hrs later, hey presto!

But that in essence somes up why we will always go back to Marlins. Its those touches that make the difference between a pleasant stay and a memorable stay.

Thanks to Neil, Michael and all the helpful staff. See you soon.

Room Tip: Room three has been recently refurbished. Great decor and very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed for five nights and was more than happy with having chosen Marlins for accommodation. Tastefully decorated, bathroom was fastidiously clean, breakfast was wonderful, and the hosts were charming, courteous, engaging and friendly. The Marlins team have an excellent establishment and their reputation as rated in Tripadvisor is well deserved. I would heartily endorse this hotel and would more than happily stay here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StirlingComets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This was our 2nd visit and, yes, it was because we were back at Conference at the BIC which it is incredibly handy for but would you go back to somewhere that was poor? No.
Yes, it's an older type property & some of the fixtures & fittings are also of the older type but so what? Super modern can be totally featureless & it is those slightly quirky things that make a stay enjoyable.
Marlins was Winner of the small business Bournemouth in Bloom 2010 and are going for a 3rd year, co-owner Michael was finishing the tubs and displays and very happy to talk about his favourite begonia. Late one evening it was discovered the wrong trousers had been packed for a formal dinner, co-owner Neil was instantly on the case and remembered to ask the next day if it had all been sorted and how the evening had gone. Little things maybe but it shows that personal touch which makes a hotel stay stick in the mind.
As everyone has commented the hotel is as clean as clean and they provide A FREE INTERNET CONNECTION!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malsville36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,383 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
1.3 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Box Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Box Hotel

Property: The Chocolate Box Hotel
Address: 2 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EY, England (Formerly Marlins)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chocolate Box Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chocolate Box is a 4 Star guest house located within a short walk of the Conference centre (BIC), beach and town centre. We offer free off street parking (which is first come, first serve) although at busy times this may mean you will have to double park and leave your keys with us. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, each room is inspected daily by the owner to ensure the highest standards are maintained. We will do everything possible to make sure that your stay with us is an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Chocolate Box Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlins Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing