We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall quite good - best hotel bed ever!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bournemouth Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bournemouth Sands Hotel
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overall quite good - best hotel bed ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Disappointing food and we felt the chef could do with a refresher course. However it was adequate in quantity if a bit plain. Most clientele were over 60 so I suppose they like that. Bar drinks seemed reasonable and service was good. Their mealtimes are pretty rigid and I was surprised that 150 people were expected to arrive all at the same time. Waiters worked very hard we were just unfortunate to be the last table on the list and remained so all week. No chance of a really good lie in here as breakfast is 8.30. Our room on the top floor was lovely and the bed was the most comfortable we have had in a hotel. But the bathroom looked about 25 years old, and the lino was rippled. Tap water at times was lukewarm so not very pleasant to drink. I have no complaints overall as we got a good price and enjoyed our break. Staff were very nice. Beware the car park as people are allowed to block you in so if you are rushing out to a show allow time for the hotel to contact the driver of the car(s) behind you. Some evening singers were very good and they also did quizzes and bingo. Lovely communal areas and a daytime coffee bar. Bournemouth is a lovely town and you must take a stroll through the gardens. The BIC attracts some big names and they have one or two concerts and shows nearly every night as well as the Pier and the Pavilion Theatres.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    259
    56
    12
    10
See reviews for
88
300
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

An enjoyable break marred by the room. This was a Daishe's turkey and tinsel trip.The food was good and the service exemplary. Staff were friendly and could not do enough for you. I was impressed with the way that they patiently dealt with some rather awkward customers in the dining room. However this was spoiled by the room. There was cracks and stains on the ceiling and walls from what had clearly been a leak in the room above. There was a strange smell in the bathroom which lingered throughout the stay. The bathroom itself was dated and did not look too clean. The shower alternated scalding hot and icy cold water and was almost unusable. The worst of the lot was the WC which was a Saniflo with an electric motor which sounded like a Jumbo Jet taking off. People using the WC's in nearby rooms during the night meant disturbed sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our trip down wasn't at all good problem with the coach and driver Graham
The welcome at the hotel was great and the staff were very helpful. The food was very good and you could request what you wanted without question
Out trip back with Dave was completely different we had safety talk and we were kept upto date on the journey all the way to drop off point

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We travelled with our local active over 60s club on a turkey & tinsel trip with Daishs. Although the hotel & service were ok ,I feel I must comment on the coaches used by this company,they are well past their salebye date, very cramped , no leg room etc. On our day out trip ,the coach broke down in the countryside, 47 of us walked to a pub where we spent the next six and a half hours waiting to get transported back to the hotel , so the day was virtually ruined.BE WARNED.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a lower floor, as theres only one lift which is always busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

we was at this hotel for the weekend and what a brilliant time we had . Food was good Rooms clean and Friendly staff entertainment was good . we had different coach coming back as ours broke down over weekend this one had more leg room and driver most friendly Dave was his name he showed us the procedures of the coach as setting of bout emergency doors first aid kit etc but didnt have that going to Bournrmouth . all in all was great weekend friendly staff and people hotel situated in good place would go there again sometime . chris chater .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just returned from a turkey and tinsel break at this hotel, good points great staff friendly a good service, superb entertainment, rooms comfortable, food not too bad. Only item that needs looking at are the coaches, pick up coach had very little leg room if you are above average build, on our last day disaster occurred on our mystery tour which was going well until it broke down halfway through the day, with reports coming to and fro its on its way, no it isn't we spent 6 hours in a local pub before getting back to the hotel by relief coach. The pub and staff at the Sunray were very accommodating in giving us (47) the use of the bar and facilities. Not sure whether I would use them again.

Room Tip: First floor if you struggle with stairs although this floor does have two flights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We went to this hotel with our retirement club. We found the accommodation,food,service and cleanliness to be of a very good standard, and very good value for money. The position of the hotel is excellent. We requested extra pillows which were delivered almost at once. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much bother for them. We would go again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank harveyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Sands Hotel

Property: Bournemouth Sands Hotel
Address: 2 West Cliff Gardens, Bournemouth BH2 5HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet cul-de-sac, only two minutes from the West Cliff with its fine lawns and panoramic views over the bay. An ideal setting, yet within leisurely walking distance of the beach, all the major shops, the beautiful award-winning central pleasure gardens, with bandstand concerts, theatres and the Bournemouth International Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bournemouth Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hotel Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing