We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You might go by Daish's coach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bournemouth Sands Hotel
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Lancing
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You might go by Daish's coach”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Daish sold this 4night 5day break with Coach travel to Bournemouth at the end of Dec 2011 3rd week in Jan they rang to tell us that no coach was coming our way and offered to place us with another break, Couldn't do this do to work commitments so we agreed with them to make are own travel arrangements to Bournemouth and received a £20 refund on holiday. The room we were given had only heating in entrance hall and a fan heater on short flex in bedroom and was in front of chest of drawers, TV and kettle, the bathroom had no heating ,it was suggested to us that we could leave the bathroom door open and the heat from the corridor would warm it. We stayed in the first week in Feb the coldest week of the year. The Staff, Entertainment, and food made this holiday great however but we could not recommend the accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms on Second floor we were told were very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jeaniebeanielancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    303
    63
    16
    11
See reviews for
106
368
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I organise trips for my Club - Herne Bay Ex-Servicemens Club, abd have used Daishes Hotels on numerous occasions, our last trip was to Bournemouth Sands Hotel, and was one of the best I have organised. The Staff and Manager Matt were brilliant andf the Bar Manager Dan has got to be one of the Daishes Groups best bar managers I have met, and all of the staff at Daish's group ade fantastic. Rooms, Food, and Entertainment were all excellent
Mick Ayton Herne Bay Ex-Servicemens Club

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mick a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannock staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

On arrival the front of hotel looks fine and when you enter the main reception it looks fine aswell. In fact all of the main downstairs rooms were ok apart from the kids game room which needs some attention to decor and needs renaming the junk room. When booking we asked for two rooms and asked for them to be close as we were a family of four. We had one room at one end of the floor and the other room was opposite end of floor!! Bedrooms were well worn shall we say. Carpets needed replacing, bed linen a disgrace sheets had cigarette burns in them, duvet covers stained and grotty looking, mattress's had no support in them and only probably suitable for young kids. Furniture in rooms cheap tatty rubbish with doors that don't close and one that actually fell off. Couldn't put anything in drawers because they hadn't been cleaned and had numerous hairs in. One drawer had medication, tablets etc left over from the last people who had room we pressume. Showers are a joke we had to have it fixed 3 times and still only a trickle of water sometimes red hot sometimes stone cold. Towels also stained and i tried very hard to communicate with the housekeeper who can hardly talk english to have them changed only to be told it was only coffee or tea stain!!!! Food was ok as was our waitress. Parking bays are a joke, if you park close to the building you get blocked in because of the way the bays are designed. Hotel was mainly full of older people so entertainment is geared towards them, which was fine. Please beware also if you have children under 18 a lot of pubs in Bournemouth won't allow you in, our youngest was 15 so if we wanted a break from hotel at night its difficult to find a decent pub that allows under 18's.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank STF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

50 of us from our dance club have just spent a great 4 nights at this friendly and welcoming Hotel.My Husband and i had a Double room on the first floor which was very cosy and warm,with a huge walk in wardrobe, and unike some more expensive places we have stayed in this had the most comfortable bed.
Tea and coffee facilities in the room, refilled every day. Towels changed every day if necessary. Flat screen TV that we didn't really have much time to watch but sadly when we did the picture kept breaking up and freezing.It really was not a problem for us though.Lots of Hot water, soap provided.
We found no problem with ordering our evening meal at breakfast time, in fact it saved a lot of time waitng for your order as it was ready much quicker.A good choice of menu 3 courses and coffee.I found the amount of food was enough for me but if you have a large appetite then maybe not.
Breakfast is also served entirely by a waiter/waitress who are kept very busy but are still extremely friendly and efficient. Usual choices plus re-ordering more toast, milk etc is not a problem at all.We enjoyed it very much and it kept us going most of the day.
The evening entertainment was absolutely brilliant, every night, unlike other Hotels within the same price range! They knew we were all dancers and as such were happy to also provide music for Ballroom, Latin, Sequence or Line dance. A special mention to Alan Mann, very funny and a talented musician ( lovely guy) he gave us lots of laughs.Before the entertainmnt Bingo is played and a nightly quiz which was very popular, when the act has a short break the Bingo continues.
The Hotel is a short walk from the cliffs and a lovely walk was had by a lot of us most days into the town along the coastal walk which brings you out near the pier and also the beautiful parks and gardens which contains a massive helium filled Balloon that on less windy days will take you ( attached to the ground) up to a height that you get the best of veiws over Bournemouth and also the IOW in the distance.It is a hilly area and if you cannot manage to get back up to the Hotel there are frequent busses and also the cliffside lift that is only £1.20.If you wish to walk towards the West you eventually get to the lovely Sandbanks which my Husband walked to one afternoon and back! Their are a few very pleasant cafes and restaurants along this stretch of coastal walk and is so relaxing to sit and while away an hour enjoying the best coffees and taking in the views.
We had wonderful weather and a fantastic time and hope that our club will organize another holiday to this Hotel again soon. The coach journeys both ways were very comfortable and they have their own coaches and drivers (plus a loo onboard)!! We would definately return to this Hotel, and thankyou to the management for making us all so welcome and letting us use your dance floor for our afternoon tea dances..Much appreciated.



.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and the floorboards in the bathroom were pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SussexDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Just returned from a 5day enjoyable stay..could not fault the hotel at all...Room was spacious..with double & single comfortable beds with tea/coffee making facilities...television...bathroom with bath/shower plus clean towels every day if needed..only downside was the squeaky floor boards in the bathroom...The food was good.....with a good breakfast.and always freshly made toast...Evening meals...with a good choice menu..for starter/main coarse and dessert.followed by tea/coffee....found it no problem ordering our evening meal in morning....Entertainment every night..with bingo for those who wished to take part..Bar prices very reasonable...you could order a newspaper which was delivered to your door in the morning....We found the staff all very helpful..We didn't pay 4 star prices so didn't expect 4 star treatment.. It was certainly value for money..and would certainly be happy to reccommend to friends....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PaulaCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

stayed for 4 nights with my 92 year old mother and had a lovely time, the staff were very helpful and always had a smile, nothing too much trouble, The food was good although not a huge amount and having to order our dinner at breakfast was not a problem.
The entertainment was superb, we normally book with a different company and pay more than double to what we payed but the entertainment at sands was much better, All in all we would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: top floor as the boards do creak
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jonkath75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Went on August 22nd for a six day holiday. Came home the next day !! Hotel was airless. Seating time for both breakfast and dinner just HALF AN HOUR and were expected to order our evening meal at breakfast ! ! ! Dinner most disappointing with chicken hard, 'Steak Pie' large chunks of tough meat with a cube of puff pastry plonked on top. Desserts were no better. Have never been to a worse hotel. What a terrible waste of money !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Merrod288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
643 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Sands Hotel

Property: Bournemouth Sands Hotel
Address: 2 West Cliff Gardens, Bournemouth BH2 5HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet cul-de-sac, only two minutes from the West Cliff with its fine lawns and panoramic views over the bay. An ideal setting, yet within leisurely walking distance of the beach, all the major shops, the beautiful award-winning central pleasure gardens, with bandstand concerts, theatres and the Bournemouth International Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hotel Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing