We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bournemouth Break 2014”
Review of The Suncliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Suncliff Hotel
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We arrived after a long drive to a pleasant welcome from staff at reception. We took the lift to our room we stayed on the fourth floor. Went into room no flowers where there which was requested 2 weeks prior to arrival.
Room lacked the "Wow" Factor but it was fine and the bed was really comfortable. Block out light blinds in the bathroom and bedroom came in handy for the morning :) Bath had a nice power shower but no plug for the bath. Very clean room :) Random picture of Marilyn Monroe on the wall? Had breakfast both mornings no complaints just do not arrive between 7:30 - 8 it is just to rammed. Used the Sauna and indoor swimming pool both nice just need a face lift ie more than one shower in the ladies changing room and a new door for the toilet it is very stiff. Used the pool table twice had lots of fun. The lift is very temperamental sometimes it arrives quickly other times you have to wait for ages. Lounge in the Sun cliff needs a makeover new paint and decor. If you are fussy do not stay here I enjoyed myself and the room did the job it was meant for Bournemouth has plenty to see and do

Room Tip: Do not ask for a quiet room. Yes this does sound strange but the view is better in the "noisy r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 383Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,278 - 1,284 of 2,154 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at The Suncliff Hotel, having stayed here for 4 nights 2 years ago. Still a above average hotel, with great facilities. Heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, Gym, table tennis, squash, pool table, 2 bars, 2 restaurants. Staff were polite and helpful. Room was clean and adequate with a beautiful ocean view (from the side!)
Will return next year. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshtonSeymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Booked this to celebrate our anniversary as a quiet break. The hotel website shows lively outside pools at the Cumberland next door and these were very nice.
Staff very friendly and efficient. Great location.
However. .. This hotel allows stag groups and unfortunately for us a group of 22 were staying at the same time. On the Friday afternoon around the pool we were subjected to shouting, inebriated older men, swearing and full frontal nudity. In front of families I might add. I wouldn't write this review if I hadn't given the manager.at the time to compensate my for this but.other than an apology and "you could have gone to the other pool"... nothing.
Be warned.
The hotel is relatively tidy apart from the indoor pool which is very grubby and in need of refurbishment.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank morgue101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Having stayed at both the Cliffside and Cumberland, this was the best value of the ocean hotels.Hotel appears to have undergone a recent refurbishment, my room certainly was not tired and outdated as others have commentated. Booked a single but given a small double at the back of the hotel .Good ensuite, loads of boiling hot water , something which is lacking in many older hotels . Check in receptionist bright helpful and friendly , as were other staff I encountered .
Very good hot and cold buffet breakfast , attentive staff.
Although a late arrival , still room in car park which was much appreciated .
As a very frequent visitor to Bournemouth .....one for my short list .

Room Tip: Room 330 is very quiet but involves a bit of walking along the third floor up and down levels .Could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coursemarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel staff very friendly.
The hotel unfortunately is in desperate need of an upgrade.
The family room we stayed was spacious for us as a family of 4, the bathroom on the other hand in need of and update as many items poor or damaged.
The room temperature was very warm to nearly hot and these were not warm days that we stayed at the hotel. All windows open but the heat was just unbearable. We were on the wings of the hotel, so there must have been some sort of hot water/boiler or something in this area that made even the corridor very warm. We were in room 130.
Unfortunately there was within the first 5 minutes of being in the room, chanting and swearing coming out of either a room in the vicinity. With young children you just do not need to hear this as easily repeated, I did mention this to the hotel staff and they were on it immediately.
The sound proofing of the rooms is very poor as we could hear every footstep and words spoken from the room above, this was usually between 1.00 through to 3.00 AM when some of the guests returned from a night out. Again all their conversations could be heard, with shouting and swearing. I am not one to spoils someones fun, but the hotel should separate the family rooms from other rooms so that this would not happen.
Location of the hotel is fantastic, we never visited the hotels either side as spent most of the day by the beach with the children.
On a positive note, we had relatives also staying in the hotel and their experience was much better than ours. Their room was much cooler, they had no noise to awaken them.
Dependant on where you are situated in the hotel will help your stay be more comfortable.
I would still recommend this hotel albeit the negatives.
We still enjoyed our stay.
Food and pool not tried, so can not make any comment.
Asked for late check out, which was not problem at a fee.
Very friendly hotel with great staff and superb location.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the wings of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeLuca13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

What can i say , other than its a stunning location and only a few mins walk to the beach. If we had gone by some of the reviews we wouldnt of booked, but as a party of nearly 200 people all i can say was, efficiant, polite, courtious, well run and nothing was ever too much trouble. Restaurant staff, could'nt of been better. The manager was very attentive.
Breakfast was amazing, and the overall quality of food was top quality.
Although the place does look a little sad, with a good paint job needing outside, inside you couldnt wish for better service, the rooms were clean, ample tea and coffee supplies, very spacious family room for 5. The pool was lovely and warm like a bath and kids didnt want to get out. Overall very satisfied, loved the location, loads to do. Highly recomended

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshchoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

the receptionist team were friendly efficient and helpful., On the evening the matra d was funny and engaging and made the evening go smoothly!
The pool ws delicious and the breakfast good, plentiful but it took a while for the porridge to arrive.
The gym was dirty and lacking any care it looked unloved when it could have been repainted and looking smal but stil inviting. Im a personal trainer so i enjoy a wel equipped and tidy gym.
I was disappointed to find that i wasnt offerd complimentary newspaper at either of the oceana hotels. THe Cumberland was better standard. The Sunclif room ws adequate but chilly and small.

Room Tip: go for cumberland hotel and pay for the evening meal before u arrive. Dont use the Cumberlands dine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank stefan359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
228 reviews
0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $44 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing