We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break”
Review of The Suncliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Suncliff Hotel
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing Break”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Most relaxing hotel room we have stayed in, plenty of room, lovely sea views and a long bath to relax in. Good area for walking. Very friendly staff and good service in restaurant. A very good winter break.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSpencer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    696
    340
    151
    102
See reviews for
434
883
94
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Excellent hotel for our group of 45 Berkshire County Indoor Bowling Tourists, food great, staff friendly and helpful.
Plenty of space to lounge about, good entertainment. I would recomend to any other similar groups.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSnook2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, Assistant Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay, I’m glad you enjoyed the time you spent with us and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in future.

Kind regards,
Tom Pinn, Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Nice staff , pool area could with a tidy up, food was good . Bar prices about what you expect in a hotel . We had a room next to a lift and I thought we would have a few problems but all was okay through the night. Breakfast was good all the waiters were good . Sunday carvery was very good value . About a 15 mins walk in the town. When the hotel is full I should think car parking is a problem.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 24roberto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The Suncliff Hotel East CLiff Bournemouth looking over the East Cliff in Bournemouth the food here for a Sunday Lunch is Good and a fair price you need to cheak it out its great vaule for money the hotel is good too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Weekend stay, mum with two teenage boys, clean rooms very friendly staff and guests.
We really enjoyed our stay, the pool was super warm just perfect in Feb.
Evening entertainment appeared to be received well, people were up dancing, boys and I played snooker although more space needed or shorter queues please.

Room Tip: sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brightonbelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed here Friday till Monday in January. Lovely room ocean view and a balcony a bit dated but clean and everything we needed. Stayed in for evening meal three courses very nice staff very polite and attentive. Great entertainment in the evening and other guests friendly. Breakfast excellent nice and hot and plenty of variety the restaurant manager very funny. We swam in the pool everyday it was so hot! The location is ideal the beach is opposite and we had a lovely walk to Boscombe although the weather was a bit rough we still enjoyed it. The town is within walking distance as well. I would recommend this Hotel for location and the staff.

Room Tip: Ocean view with a balcony fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Alright for a budget hotel, but avoid if u have the chance to stay at the village or hallmark. It's very old, rooms are dated and unfashionable. Spa facilities are rubbish, we was suppose to stay for 2 nights but ended up driving home after the first nite. Floorboards are squeaky and loud entertainment at nite until about 12! In the morning breakfast was moderate nothing to rave about. Maid asked if we wanted the room cleaning I replied no because I was changing and then 10 minutes later and man came in unannounced whilst me and my partner was on the bed.... Very embarrassing. Rude staff at times.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinky109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Property: The Suncliff Hotel
Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing