We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ideal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Suncliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Suncliff Hotel
Ranked #28 of 79 Hotels in Bournemouth
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Weekend stay, mum with two teenage boys, clean rooms very friendly staff and guests.
We really enjoyed our stay, the pool was super warm just perfect in Feb.
Evening entertainment appeared to be received well, people were up dancing, boys and I played snooker although more space needed or shorter queues please.

Room Tip: sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brightonbelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    547
    286
    133
    88
See reviews for
348
692
78
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed here Friday till Monday in January. Lovely room ocean view and a balcony a bit dated but clean and everything we needed. Stayed in for evening meal three courses very nice staff very polite and attentive. Great entertainment in the evening and other guests friendly. Breakfast excellent nice and hot and plenty of variety the restaurant manager very funny. We swam in the pool everyday it was so hot! The location is ideal the beach is opposite and we had a lovely walk to Boscombe although the weather was a bit rough we still enjoyed it. The town is within walking distance as well. I would recommend this Hotel for location and the staff.

Room Tip: Ocean view with a balcony fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Alright for a budget hotel, but avoid if u have the chance to stay at the village or hallmark. It's very old, rooms are dated and unfashionable. Spa facilities are rubbish, we was suppose to stay for 2 nights but ended up driving home after the first nite. Floorboards are squeaky and loud entertainment at nite until about 12! In the morning breakfast was moderate nothing to rave about. Maid asked if we wanted the room cleaning I replied no because I was changing and then 10 minutes later and man came in unannounced whilst me and my partner was on the bed.... Very embarrassing. Rude staff at times.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinky109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here for the weekend and found that the the staff were really helpful and polite. I was on my own in the day whilst my husband was working and was made to feel very comfortable. Staff were always willing to help with local knowledge and the pool was lovely and warm. I also enjoyed the splendid breakfasts and delicious cream teas served in the lounge. The entertainment was not really our thing but the coach parties seemed to be having a great time. Great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disey522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We recently celebrated our 35th Wedding Anniversary at the Suncliff hotel, Bournemouth, in their conservatory function room. We had about 50 guests attend and had a fantastic time. The organisation of the party was flawless and the staff could not have been more helpful throughout the whole function.
The food was excellent and plentiful and the DJ arranged by the hotel was very good.
At the end of the evening we were able to sit quietly in the bar and catch up with the family and the staff were happy to serve us until the early hours of the morning.
The accommodation overnight was nice and breakfast in the morning was very good.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and felt that the Suncliff offered very good value for money, also nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. This is our third visit and we look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms with a balcony are very nice. If you want to be extravagant try one of the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthcoastUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Travelled from North by coach. Very good first impressions were confirmed by good, warm accommodation, hot water and pleasant room. Dining room was above average, very friendly staff and evening meals were excellent. Breakfast buffet was again excellent. Evening entertainment each night was good. Our trip had 99p drinks from 6pm till 9pm. Everyone there seem to enjoy themselves, no moans that we heard but for £110 for 4 nights, travel and two included day trips what could be better. Holiday taken 20/02/2014 to 24/02/2014. Well done Suncliffe!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Although parts of the hotel are a little tired, it is priced accordingly and all the staff are fantastic, helpful, smiley and pleasant. The food is good and the amenities keep the kids occupied. Good family of all ages accomodating hotel and the catering bent over backwards for us. We were there in July 13. A little late with the review but have been too busy since and thought we owed them a good write up! On the entertainment front, all singers etc were luvly and the "music box" had us in stitches !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 79 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 3,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#39 of 79 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#12 of 79 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,319 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Property: The Suncliff Hotel
Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing