We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Suncliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Suncliff Hotel
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“a very friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 7th October for 3 days and found it a super hotel especially the food.The restaurant staff were exceptional and couldn't do enough for the guests. I had a single room which wasn't very big but had a comfy bed and a flat screen television and enough room for one person. The selection at breakfast was as good as I have ever experienced. Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy1940-25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dorothy1940-25

What a lovely review...thank you!

I am glad to see that the restaurant impressed you and your room was suitable for your needs. I am positive you will be just as impressed on your next visit.

Best wishes for the festive season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    641
    309
    142
    94
See reviews for
391
805
83
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aspley Guise, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Recently held my parents 50th anniversary party at the Suncliff Hotel and I have to say it couldn't have been better. The staff were absolutely first rate; very friendly, efficient and couldn't do enough to make the day special. The food was excellent, as was the wine (which was very reasonably priced). Top marks all round!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willowstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
willowsitck

What a lovely review,

Thank you for holding such an important event at the Suncliff, I am really pleased it went so well and that the food and service made such an impression.

I really hope you will return to us again and my best wishes for the festive period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed recently for 4 nights at the Suncliffe. Got a very good rate for the stay.On checking in we were told we had been upgraded to a sea view room. Reception staff were pleasant and efficient. Breakfast was buffet style and the quality of the food excellent and always hot. The dining room staff were always smiling and hardworking. Tables were always available and cleared immediately on being vacated. Entertainment was provided most nights in the hotel or the sister hotel next door. Being on public transport it was 10 minutes walk to the Lansdowne where you could get a bus to the Railway Station which is also the bus inter-change.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
b w

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts reguarding your recent stay at the Suncliff.

We always recieve really positive feed back on the meals we serve so thank you for comments, I will pass them on to the kitchen team.

I hope you will return to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The New Forest, Hampshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Four of us went for Sunday lunch! I was a little apprehensive taking my guests here because I had not used this restaurant before! I need not have worried! The staff were very attentive, the food was extremely good, drinks reasonable! There was a choice of three meats, very large helpings, plenty of variety with potatoes and veggies, seconds if you could fit anymore in? Will most defiantly return for this very good value for money sunday lunch!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Denny J

Our Sunday Carvery has become so popular over the last few years and with the launch of our new menu is even more popular. We see our Sunday lunch as an occassion not just a meal and we do our best to make sure everyone has a great meal in a relaxing environment.

Our pianist also plays every other week and we have always done our best to look after the children as well as the adults.

I am pleased to see you will be returning to us in the near future where I am sure you will have another pleasent experience.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I booked last minute for a business trip ,excellent rate on booking .com ,couldn't fault it,my room was on the ground floor and had been refurbished,the bed was extremely comfortable.my only gripe was the window had been misted out,I am unsure for what reason ,the staff are very friendly and the breakfast was first class(and the coffee).I even managed to get a parking space.The night I arrived they had entertainment on.great location for walking along the cliff road and spectacular views,I have stayed several times at this hotel and would't hesitate to come back again.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ollypip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
ollypip

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments on your experience at the Suncliff, we have many guests that stay for business purposes and with free wifi and the great location you can understand why.

I am pleased to see you were happy with the refreshed room you were given and that you enjoyed the breakfast.

Please feel free to request the same room should you stay with us again

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed @ the weekend 3 nights look no further if your staying in Bournemouth this hotels as everything . We had a roof on the front with balcony with 2 chairs ...room was clean & nice staff cleaned every morning views from balcony were amazing .. TV in room Telefone hair dryer on suite trouser press , swimming pool gym squash courts games room for kids ,,,,car parks now the most important part of our holiday the food was amazing but better stil the restreraunt manager was the business on top of his game & so polite & funny. His staff was just the best very polite could not do enough for you treated us like kings & queens. Will be going back January February & march for weekend breaks. This Is a must stay hotel in bournmouth. All the staff in the hotel had manners like no other

Room Tip: Only 10 min walk in to town 5 min on to the beach or catch the 33 bus outside hotel into town an ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Allan O

Jose our restaurant manager is one of our star attractions at the hotel he really is a people person and would do anything to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay and more important good service and meals.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be returning to us in the new year, always remember to call us direct for the best rate and if you liked the room you were allocated you can always make a request to have it again.

Thank you for your support and I look forward to welcoming you back once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Cary, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had 7 rooms for all our family to celebrate our golden anniversary at the weekend, We would like to thank ALL the staff for making us all feel so very very welcome with our ages from 3 to 72,.Food and service in the restaurant was excellent,all the rooms were of a very good standard ,
We would recommend it to anyone. Thank you all again from the Alway family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Ken A

It was a pleasure to accomodate you and your family, I am so happy that you all enjoyed your time at the Suncliff and I really hope to see you again.

My best wishes for the festive period
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.9 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Property: The Suncliff Hotel
Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing