We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”
Review of The Suncliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Suncliff Hotel
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have just returned from a coach holiday to this hotel. The whole staff from the management to the restaurant staff and the cleaning staff are all so very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. We paid extra to ensure a Sea view and while the view was amazing. The room was OK. Not really worth the extra, but friends in another sea view room had a much better one. It was clean and basic but comfortable.
The food in the restaurant was amazing and worth of a higher star rated hotel. The breakfast was a buffet with a superb selection and all HOT with hot plates too. Even though it was a buffet, the staff would get you anything you had forgotten or not seen.
We would not hesitate to revisit this hotel if we go to Bournemouth again.

Room Tip: Front sea view have a great vista. We were on 2nd floor and never heard any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di_Traveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Di_Traveller11

Thank you for leaving your comments on TA, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your kind comments on to the staff. The views are amazing and our chefs work very hard on the menu's they produce.

I hope you return again soon!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,478 - 1,484 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Tired...very tired!!!!........we booked this hotel online, being attracted by some reviews and the description and photo's available however, our room was very poor, tatty carpet not fixed down properly, furniture worn to the point of needing a "skip", tiles coming off in the bathroom and tile grout black and mouldy, not to mention attempted and bodged DIY in the bathroom.
The bed and bedding were very poor, offering cheap duvet and pillows, wallpaper and paintwork chipped, generally grubby and dirty.

Having complained, we were upgraded to the penthouse suite which was more what we would expect for the price we paid, I would not pay an extra £80 per night for the penthouse it was just not that special.

On a positive note, our Sunday carvery and breakfast were good even if the staff were buzzing around leaving us feeling like we were eating in MacDonalds.

Oh......just to say, if you are over the age of 65 you should fit in here quite well.

Room Tip: Demand one of the rooms pictured on their website, don't just accept any room if not up to stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BassettBoyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your stay at the Suncliff,

I am fully aware some of our undecorated rooms are of an older style and as stated before we do have a redecoration programme running to modernise them, I do however spend many hours checking the rooms in the Suncliff and one thing I do disagree with in your review is the word dirty. The rooms even though old are clean and provide all the facilities’ you would require for a relaxing break away. I also know that the room you were shown initially is requested often by guests due to its size and large terrace, but we all have our own tastes.
We always will help guests that are unhappy or have an issue and again my staff even upgraded you for free to one of the best rooms we have, a very modern penthouse room with amazing views and balcony.

I am glad to see you enjoyed your meals at the hotel, the carvery is amazing value and fresh and the breakfast is a very good selection above what is required for a three star hotel. I don’t however see the resemblance to a MacDonald’s?

Room tips: There is a picture of your initial room on our internet sites, under sea view terrace bedrooms....anyone reading this reply please feel free to have a look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a short break. The staff here are exceptional - everyone of them go the extra mile and offer perfect customer service. What a total pleasure they are. Thier sister hotel has the same approach with a lovely outdoor pool. Would recommend here and we will return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Adrienne R

Wow, short but sweet, what a glowing review, thank you so much!

Im sure this has given all the staff a well deserved boost and I am glad you enjoyed your time at the Suncliff.
I hope you will return to us in the near future where I am sure you will once again enjoy your stay.

My best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just back from a 6 day break @ Suncliff ,food & service wonderful as always plus a few special treats for my birthday like the cake & massive sparkler .The food is so good I had to use the pool & gym every day to try & burn off a few calories,both are free but in many hotels you pay to use the gym.Similarly I have stayed in palatial 4&5 star hotels that cannot live with the Suncliff for food & service .The Suncliff is not palatial but has the best atmosphere I have ever experienced but clients do book standard rooms &expect to get penthouse/sea views & complain when they can't get them without paying extra.This is definitely a"how can I help you hotel" & not just a script response,this applies to all staff from manager to porters,chambermaids,waitress,bar staff & of course reception who if you have a problem is the place to start I just mentioned our mattress appeared to have a spring poking through & within a very short time it was sorted,
Entertainers here are also very good especially Mick Moran & Carpentones who are great to dance to.I have lost count of the number of times we have stayed here always consistant quality & I would say the Valentine Gala dinner was probably the best dinner I have ever had.Looking forward to going again as soon as finances permit

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view they are incredible or if really want to splash out go for penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

. Geoff O,

Thank you for your positive review of the Suncliff.

I love the fact you have captured the spirit of the Suncliff within your review! Good food, service and a friendly helpful attitude from all staff.

We work very hard to improve our product in all areas on a daily basis, using guest feedback and improving the hotel itself by updating bedrooms and facilities.

Regular guests always comment on how much we have improved over the years and support us by returning again and again. I personally thank you for your support and your kind comments regarding the staff it means so much and makes a very difficult job a lot easier, if only all guests were as positive and understanding in their comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future where I am sure you will once again enjoy the warm hospitality of the Suncliff Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Nice hotel with good helpful staff but the thin walls meant we didn't sleep too well as the noise from next door, inside the corridors and from the street just kept us awake and woke us up early. Ok but wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

redbourn

Thank you for leaving your comments, I wish you contacted the reception and maybe we could have allocated you a quieter room. I am a light sleeper so know how annoying this can be. My staff would always try their best to help anyone having such issues.
I am sorry to see that you wouldn’t return. With the size of the hotel we have and 5 floors I’m sure we could allocate a quieter room if you did decided to return.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days here, I paid a little extra for a penthouse suite as a surprise I couldn't have wished for more she loved it. After retiring 5 years ago we have been lucky enough to go away for a few days a year up and down the country staying in various hotels this one has definitely got our mark of approval. I could not fault the service,the cleanliness,the food and our room was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff help if needed was always there. I would and have recommended the Suncliff Bournemouth. With one final word my special thanks go to Sam on reception who's lovely smile was there to welcome us. ( hope she gets employee of the month award )

Room Tip: Ignore nasty reports they'd probably pick faul with the Savoy.ok and if you reserve a penthouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

David L,
I am so glad you both enjoyed your stay at the hotel and mainly the Penthouse suite.
I do hope you will visit again, and I will pass your comments on to Sam. She is new to the Suncliff but I feel she fits in very well, helpful with a bubbly personality.
My best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I booked a standard room in this hotel and had to go with my partner through a warren of corridors to find it. When found albeit clean and pleasant it was small and claustrophobic with views onto the back street, so I upgraded to a room with a sea view for £20 extra per night, The new room was much better with lovely views of the sea from the bed, perched as the hotel is on a cliff top and with bed quite high and window low. Two chairs and table by the windows too, so that was good.

They have an indoor pool which was tepid and murky, I suppose with chlorine, but good. The spa bath had been decommissioned as apparently too expensive to run, and they are still wondering about what to do in this area next. The sauna was just a towel drying room, with no emergency button, so I suppose this whole centre is rigged up for the old and retired, it is that sort of hotel. The adjacent hotels, to either side, have outdoor facilities, one a good pool and the other a ha'penny puddle with some greek effigies around it.

You can walk easily to Bournemouth from the hotel, along the road, or take the lift which you pay for or steps further down to walk along the promenade.

I did not dine there as the food looked too expensive and not worth the trouble, but that is my opinion. Breakfast was not included in the deal I got so I did not have it, as it would have cost £15 each which I deem to be far too expensive.

So in summary a nice enough hotel, but not one I would rush back to.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the rabbit hutches and get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordOfMerlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

FleetwoodFan,

Thank you for your review,

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your upgrade to a sea view room more suitable to your taste.
As far as the leisure is concerned the hot tub has been taken out of action not due to being too expensive, I’m not sure where this reason came from but because we are looking to install a facility that will be better received by our guests such as a steam room or experience shower.
The sauna is on a time control so I can only assume that if it was not very hot the timer had run out. We have a sign and telephone explaining to contact the reception and we would switch it back on for you.
How can you possible say the food looked too expensive and not worth the trouble, what are you basing this on? We give residents a discounted rate and for a four course menu at £21 I feel this is very reasonable. The breakfast is also only £5.95 for continental and £10.95 for the continental and Full English, this includes tea/coffee and choice of juices. Being a buffet you can choice what you like and pretty much have as much as you like so again I don’t understand why you thought this was £15.

I feel some of your comments are very misleading mainly with the value and worth of the food we serve also comments about rabbit hutches and not being able to afford to run the hot tub. Such comments are very unhelpful for the TA community and the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,039 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $41 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing