We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My time at the Connaught Lodge (May 17-19, 2014)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Connaught Lodge
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The following applies to room 225 at the Connaught Lodge. Comments from other residents imply that it also applies to some other rooms; I don't know how many.
- For some reason, the bedroom and storage area are split, with curtains only across the space between them, so anyone can look in on the storage (dressing) area from outside. Not very convenient if you have to walk around in a state of undress because of the problem mentioned below.
- My two days were both sunny and the windows became an outsize, very hot radiator, converting the whole room into a sauna. They could at least install blinds on the outside to prevent this happening, which would also cure the first problem I mentioned by covering the windows. Even curtains on the outside windows with a white surface facing out would help.
- The shower room is a joke. To pee, you have to edge in sideways and lean on the wall, because the wash-basin stops you standing up straight. Sitting down on the toilet is a little easier, but you still have the problem of edging in.
- The shower head is fixed and right above the centre of the shower area, so it is virtually impossible to use soap because it gets washed off immediately. The shower head is also at the perfect height to bash your head on it whenever you move, and I am not particularly tall.

I wouldn't stay there again.

I did receive apologies from David Miller (owner and managing director) and Paul Plumley (general manager), but for the sake of two days I am not going to make a bit thing out of it, so I didn't bother to reply to them. Since I am also not going to stay here again, there is not much they can offer me as compensation. I only get to the UK once a year, and I would not risk it again.

Room Tip: Not room 225 or anywhere near it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SuperJohnno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Our fault entirely John and once again our sincere apologies for your poor experience. You booked a single room at £53 per night and reception upgraded you to a double bedroom albeit with a small shower room thinking you would be more comfortable. This is generally well received but clearly not for you – sorry!! You may be pleased to know that the curtains have now been hung on the outer wall thus resolving one issue.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 324 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Connaught Lodge and Hotel was a great place to stay - a lucky choice, as there are so many hotels in Bournemouth to choose from. Well located, easy access to the beach and walks along the promenade, as well as easy walking distance into town centre.
The staff were very friendly and helpful from start to finish. The restaurant/bistro had lovely food which was attractively presented and we enjoyed eating breakfast in the garden when the weather improved. Good accommodation and a very nice swimming-pool which we made good use of.
I would certainly stay there again if I were to visit Bournemouth in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review Frances and also for taking the trouble to write about the Brasserie. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and especially pleased that you managed to take full advantege of all the facilities that we have to offer.

Best wishes and I hope to see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had a wedding in Bournemouth and only stayed at The Connaught Lodge. The reason it was picked was because the wedding we were attending on the beach,was a very short walk away. The Lodge is adjacent to the main hotel, and had been refurbished to a good clean standard. The Breakfast was adequate and the staff were friendly and helpful.
I wouldn't have any problem recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank howieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your very nice review Howie - hope you enjoyed the wedding.

Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at the lodge as it was a bit cheaper than the hotel for three nights. The room was large ,very clean , quiet , the beds were very comfortable. We had a small problem with the lights in the bathroom when we arrived .Within 5 minutes of reporting it a gentleman came to our room and fixed it .The staff were very courteous and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and varied with delicious fresh fruit available. My wife used the pool in the main hotel building and enjoyed herself with that.We used the free internet and wi fi it was great. The only difficulty was with parking because there is just about enough room .Well worth the money .I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaywex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your 5 star review Jaywex and delighted to read that you took full advantage of all the facilities that we have to offer. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Second visit and just as good as the first. Lovely room, very clean and the staff are lovely. The food is excellent. Ate in the restaurant last night and it was superb. Had a sandwich lunch the first day and that was great. The location of the hotel is great for both the beach and shopping, shame the weather was a bit hit and miss. Will definitely come back

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron_GlenRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Hope you'll make it a third visit Ron - thank you so much for your 5 star review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Brief stop over had top room by lift, you could see over to the main Hotel and over roof tops. Neat room and very tidy. Tea and coffee making facilities,. a bit more milk would have been good. Had a problem with getting TV channels but response excellent, and request for an iron an ironing board was swift. Decided to have dinner and that was fine with a bottle of wine two courses about £58.00. The hotel is part of the gest western group and is across a courtyard which enters the Dining/Breakfast room. Bar prices were reasonable for a pint of lager and a glass of wine. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice and tea and coffee served at the table and as much toast white or brown as you wanted. Choices included various ceraeals, fruit and fruit salad, muesli, yoghurt jams, marmalade plus make your own breakfast served at the far end of the room by a cheerful gent. Staff were attentive and very helpful, though on arrival one receptionist appeared to have a bit of an attitude. The swimming pool sauna and steam room off the swimming pool are for guest use and also a gym and I very much enjoyed having those facilities. This hotel and staff deserve a good rating, the parking is an issue though as it is in Bournemouth generally.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumble13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

A super 5 star and very comprehensive review Grumble, thank you very much.

Best wishes and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We have just come back from a long weekend at The Connaught Lodge, Bournemouth and was pleasantly suprised by the good service from staff at this hotel. Although the lodge is adjacent to the main hotel, it has been refurbished to a good standard and kept very clean and the staff were checking to ensure our comfort almost immediately that we settled into our room. Would recommend the breakfast. We didnt use the restaurant but did used the swimming pool which was excellent.

Room Tip: If you want to pay a litte extra you can stay in the main hotel, but our room was excellent in the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Many thanks Jackie for your "Great Hotel" review - hopefully on your next visit you'll have time to sample the delights on offer in our double rosette restaurant, Blakes.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
191 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught Lodge

Address: 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $87 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished, AA 4 star Connaught Lodge offers smart and comfortable en-suite accommodation and is centrally located on the West Cliff being just 500m from the town centre, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and those golden, sandy beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and complimentary membership of the Bluewater Spa, located in the adjacent Best Western Connaught Hotel, is available to all Lodge guests. The spa has an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna, 2 gymnasiums and a massage and beauty therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa why not enjoy a superb dinner with first class wine in Blakes', the Connaught's award-winning, double rosette restaurant, also located in the main building, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef, Ben Nicol and his young team of highly qualified chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Connaught Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing