We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Connaught Lodge
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here with family for a birthday celebration and we were very happy with it. The main hotel building is very nice and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our rooms in the lodge were fine and pretty much what you would expect for what you are paying. If I was being very picky I would say that the rooms (I saw all 3 that our family were in) could be considered a little tatty but it's only small things i.e. the back of our sliding bathroom door was really badly scratched. Some of the rooms in the lodge are being revamped though so maybe the management are on to it!
Some of our party used the spa and would have liked some of the treatments but it was completely full so I'd advise advance booking. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddiefatpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Many thanks Eddie for your "Perfectly nice" review. We are almost finished with the rooms in the Lodge and our next challenge will be the entrance lobby early in the new year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 9 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!
Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 328 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hotel is perfect for the BIC just a few minutes walk away and the same for the seafront. On arriving, the car park was full as there was a conference in situ. A helpful member of staff advised me to double park and it would be sorted out when the car park cleared. My room was in the lodge next door which was perfect for my needs, being reasonable in cost (only staying for one night) and very clean. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Many thanks for the 5 star review AJHP. Have a wonderul Christmas and we look forward to seeing you in 2014!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 10 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!
Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were part of a group booking so had no prior knowledge of the Connaught. Our room was in the Lodge and was very comfortable. It was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was a good size. We slept well as our room faced the courtyard garden and was very quiet.

The food was good and the management had taken the trouble to prepare special menu cards with a dancing logo representing our club's interest as well as place cards with our menu choices at dinner. They were clearly adept in managing large groups and very well organised. The food was good, tasty and well presented. The buffet style breakfast had an impressive range of choice to suit every palette, including gluten free cereals.

The staff were courteous and helpful at all times and the level of service was impressive and commented on by many members of our group. The Manager was very much "hands on " and visible at crucial times e.g. evening meals, and clearly had high expectations of his staff's performance, which were fully borne out.

We didn't use the spa on this visit as we had other group activities taking place.
Car parking can be a bit limited if there are functions taking place as well as resident guests. However, the hotel is within very easy walking distance of the town centre and beach/pier so no need to use the car unless travelling further afield.

We would be more than happy to come back to the Connaught and to recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Back rooms in the hotel and Lodge face the courtyard garden and are therefore quietest. The hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you very much Chris for your very comprehensive and complimentary review of our hotel. It was a very successful weekend and everyone enjoyed the event so much. Hope to see you all again next year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

A great value for money, with an excellent service. Room was clean and comfortable, very good sleep quality. Only con is that the room is not well lightened. Breakfast was excellent. If I were to visit Bournemouth again it would be my choice again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank korezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

That really is good news Korezz!! Thank you for your "Excellent" review and we look forward to the next visit.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 10 Rooms remaining for New Year's Eve celebrations - Christmas is sold out - sorry!!
Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here last time it was in the hotel we had room 201 in the lodge. Room was clean and comfortable with a good sized shower and good sized bed. Did not feel hot and stuffy as previous guests had commented only hallway felt quite hot as you went up stairs to your room. Breakfast was buffet style and plentiful and hot items were waiter/waitress service also cereals yoghurt and so on. Used beauty spa had a manicure and eyebrow wax Stacey who performed this was friendly and professional through out did not use pool and gym so cant comment. Had lunch in brasserie on Wednesday had sandwich which tasted nice also had drinks staff were attentive could hot do enough for you. Yes I would stay again as we enjoyed ourselves. Stayed between 5th November to 8th November

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Many thanks Sara and very delighted you enjoyed your break with us. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company again.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

After trolling tripadvisor ,we decided on the Connaught Lodge for a long weekend in Bournemouth.
I can only say from the time we stepped through the door till the time we checked out the treatment we received was second to none.
All the staff are so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The attention to detail was exemplary throughout the Hotel which is kept in tip top condition, we used the pool,jacuzzi and steam room which is free to residents and a welcome treat before breakfast.
The buffet breakfast was really good too nice and hot and plentiful.
The carpark is a bit tight but nothing to worry about.
We have stayed in a few places in Bournemouth and out of all them The Connaught is the only one we would go back to................hopefully soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 214 in The Lodge which is ample for a short stay ( quite a small room though) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJB_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

And we hope it's going to be soon too MJB - thank you very much for you "Blissful" review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Connaught Lodge in mid-October. All the staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble. Our spacious room was tastefully furnished with pleasant décor and a good sized shower room, all very clean and comfortable. The only drawback was that the room was rather hot, but then it was an unexpectedly warm weekend for the time of year. We had to go across the car park/garden to the restaurant but the reasonable price of the room made up for that minimal inconvenience. The breakfasts were delicious, plenty of choice, with attentive service. We did not sample the main restaurant as we were visiting friends but had a very good light meal in the Brasserie on Friday evening - good value for money and ideal if you don't like a large evening meal. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Delighted you had a "great weekend" with us Gina - thank you very much for your 5 star review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 67 in Bournemouth
934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught Lodge

Address: 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $78 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished, AA 4 star Connaught Lodge offers smart and comfortable en-suite accommodation and is centrally located on the West Cliff being just 500m from the town centre, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and those golden, sandy beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and complimentary membership of the Bluewater Spa, located in the adjacent Best Western Connaught Hotel, is available to all Lodge guests. The spa has an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna, 2 gymnasiums and a massage and beauty therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa why not enjoy a superb dinner with first class wine in Blakes', the Connaught's award-winning, double rosette restaurant, also located in the main building, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef, Ben Nicol and his young team of highly qualified chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Connaught Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing