We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Connaught Lodge
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well recommended”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were welcomed at reception on our arrival, which was our first stay, and from that moment on we felt we were the most important guests. The rooms were sizable and clean, and nothing was too much trouble. With friendly staff, including the owner/manage who spent considerable time chatting to us, together with excellent food and service at both breakfast and dinner, we were left with no doubts no doubts that we would return there in the future. Our rating - 5 Stars in all departments.

Room Tip: Either the main hotel of the annex building next are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so very much Peter for your huge vote of confidence - very much appreciated by one and all. Hope to see you all again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    107
    32
    12
    1
See reviews for
49
171
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Lovely Hotel prime location, literally 4 mins walk to the seafront and 5 mins walk through lovely gardens to the shops.

Great rooms. Amazing breakfast, so much choice, we had our's out in the sunny courtyard - beautiful. Very friendly and helpful reception staff nothing to much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
A "Fantastic" review Tracey, thank you very much indeed.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Have just got back from a weekend at this lovely hotel. The rooms are lovely and the location of the hotel for the shops, peir and beach is brilliant. It was all a 5 minute walk away. The staff are the most helpful and friendliest I have come across. We ate in the restaurant on the second night and the food was superb. Would I recommend this hotel? No because everyone else will want to go and we might not be able to get in, but I have to really as it was superb!!! Thank you for a great weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron_GlenRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Ron and Glen, thank you so much for your huge 5 star recommendation which is very much appreciated by all of us here - hope to see you both again very soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Have just spend two nights at The Connaught. We stayed in a Lodge Room which was freshly decorated and had new furniture and curtains. Access to the main hotel can be through a lovely patio area or by The Lodge's front door. This door would benefit from having a coat of paint as it does not give a good first impression. That is my only negative comment. The entrance to the main hotel is first class and there are plenty of comfortable areas in which to relax. The staff are all friendly and efficient and this was proved yesterday morning (Wednesday 31 July 2013) when the hotel had a power cut at 8am. The kitchen and waiting staff were still able to provide a full breakfast for all the guests in what must have been very difficult circumstances and they kept smiling! Dinner in Blake's Restaurant was delicious and it certainly deserves the 'Two Rosettes' award. The Maitre d' Nick Rutigliano keeps a watchful eye over the restaurant and it is clear that he 'leads from the front' and trains his staff accordingly as everyone knew exactly what they were doing. Some five star establishments should take note!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslehopperSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
A lovely, descriptive review Islehopper, thank you very much. The front door is on my list and will be done!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just returned from a 3-night mid-week stay. Excellent value, facilities and service. Most impressed by the receptionist who made us feel welcome, gave us access to our room earlier than expected and then phoned our room to check everything was ok. We have 2 year old twin boys. Restaurant staff made them very welcome at breakfast and dinner. Our room was a good size, quiet and clean. Really appreciated the free wifi. Parking spaces were available throughout our stay. And best of all, 10 min walk to the amazing beach.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Excellent news Simonamber, thank you so much for your "Fantastic 3 nights" review. Hope to see you all again.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night attending concert in town. Location excellent for beach and town and excellent free parking. Lovely greeting on arrival in smart reception. All ground floor very attractively furnished. We were in the annexe called The Lodge. Disappointed by scuffed front door and grubby carpets but the heat was the worst aspect - no air con made it stifling, particularly on the third floor where my friend's tiny room was. Fans in rooms are ok but not efficient enough to cope with heat. Our room was ok but friend on third floor was in inferior room which was poorly furnished with drip stains all down front of chest of drawers - not good enough Connaught! Pokey bathroom with weak shower. Cleanliness ok. Don't spend all your cash downstairs and neglect the rest of the place. Walls marked and generally shabby. Had lovely sandwiches in late night bar - staff v friendly and couteous. Breakfast was great sat outside in courtyard very nice. Overall it was ok but could have been much nicer. Not bad for overnight stay but wouldn't want any longer there without air conditioning!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GokUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Delighted to read that at least you enjoyed your stay with us Gokuk. As you probably noticed the entire hotel has been undergoing a programme of refurbishment and we are nearing the end. If you ask your friend to contact me I would be delighted to discuss his stay.

Best wishes


David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

DO NOT SEARCH ANY FURTHER... This hotel oozes first class service, coupled with the best food you could ever want. We stayed here, and from the first moment of booking, there was a total care attitude by the hotel towards us, emails to ask if we needed them to order a meal, or book a show for us... We had a sumptuous well ventilated room, with a large en-suite. The restaurant: "Blakes' was fabulous, a really well planned evening menu with many choices to suit the most fuzzy palate. The food was well cooked, flavoursome and tasty . the top London hotels would find it difficult to compete... The staff were delightful and very helpful. The hotel had an outside seating area which was really well maintained and comfortable. The facilities, including the pool were superb...I want to go back..well done..keep it up. 10 mins from the beach, good parking.

Room Tip: just phone, or fill out the comments section and explain. The hotel were very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkieBoy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Many thanks Markieboy and delight to read just how much you enjoyed your Lodge experience and in particular our award-winning restaurant, Blakes. Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,033 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught Lodge

Property: The Connaught Lodge
Address: 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished, AA 4 star Connaught Lodge offers smart and comfortable en-suite accommodation and is centrally located on the West Cliff being just 500m from the town centre, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and those golden, sandy beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and complimentary membership of the Bluewater Spa, located in the adjacent Best Western Connaught Hotel, is available to all Lodge guests. The spa has an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna, 2 gymnasiums and a massage and beauty therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa why not enjoy a superb dinner with first class wine in Blakes', the Connaught's award-winning, double rosette restaurant, also located in the main building, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef, Ben Nicol and his young team of highly qualified chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Connaught Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing