We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Connaught Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$111
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$208
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green House(Bournemouth)
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$157
$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Hotel Royale(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)
$100
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveler rating
179
120
35
12
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
179
120
35
12
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hoteltown centrecar parkblakes restaurantspa facilitiessteam roomshort walkswimming poolgood sizelovely spajunior suiteexcellent facilitiesnice stayvisiting bournemouthlarge bathroomcooked breakfastbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
297 - 302 of 347 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We visited this hotel for the fourth time over Easter and it's just as good as ever, and has been given a make-over since we were last there four years ago. Our room, a suite, is fabulous - everything from a roll top bath to a huge comfy bed. The staff were amazing and went the extra mile, everyone from the management to the restaurant staff, especially Nikki. My husband had booked virtually the whole hotel for the Union conference being held just down the road and the staff coped so well with everyone eating at the same time. The pool is lovely, big for a hotel with a sauna and steam room. I had a massage which was excellent and reasonably priced. The town centre is walkable, and its a short distance to the sea. I love this hotel and want to say a big "thank you" to everyone who made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main hotel
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review Mrs S which was really most generous from beginning to end. I was also delighted to read that we looked after your Union members and that the entire weekend was a great success.

Many thanks and best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Lodge on Saturday 11th April, good location for Bournemouth's amenities. Room (suite) was ok, have stayed in better rooms for around the same money. Bathroom spotless although like walking into a cupboard thought with a suite would have been more luxurious. Missed things like complimentary bottles of water, miniature shampoos and conditioners and shower gels/soaps ! Main hotel looked lovely and service was good even though they had a big event going on. Parking a little tight and didn't try spa facilities. Overall a good stay and wouldn't rule out staying again although probably would stay in main hotel. Breakfast also good.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you very much Pamelasusan for your lovely review and glad you enjoyed your stay - the "extras" are all available in the main hotel but there is perhaps a £15 difference in prices. The advantage of the Lodge is that you have the beautiful spa facilities, a double rosette restaurant, free parking and free WiFi which is just not generally available at those prices.

With best wishes and hope to see you again

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Would have loved to give this hotel an excellent review but a few below standard problems let it down. Our rooms bedding and bathroom were spotlessly clean but the room itself was on the small side .We had constant problems with the overhead bed lights and also the main door key cards.We reported both several times and they came quickly to sort it out but the problems kept reoccurring. The 3 day break was booked to stress out a bit so annoying things like faulty keys and having to go outside in the rain to get to breakfast were a little annoying! There was only one bedside locker in a twin room so had to put items on the floor overnight!
On the positive side 98%of the staff were excellent! In particular we would like to mention Petra in the restaurant.who went out of her way to please us. The breakfast was very good .It was good to have back bacon on offer.
The pool facilities were very pleasant and we enjoyed the facilities.
Best Western perhaps should consider closing the Lodge building for a season to totally renovate walls ,windows,creaky floors and doors etc plus build a covered walkway to to the main hotel .The Lodge is bringing down the standard of the complex as a whole.
There would be a good chance that a four star rating could then be achieved by both buildings.

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for the main hotel and forget the lodge!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VEEamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear VEEamy,

Thank you for your detailed review of the Lodge. One point I should make is that it is not part of the Best Western Group, although when the current round of refurbishments are completed I hope we will be able to unite the two units. If you let me know which room you were in I will check to see what the card problem is.

With best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great location.

Had to go next door to enjoy swimming and spa facilities - but only a minute's walk!

Room very nice, clean, etc.

Spa and pool facilities great, though annoyed that there was no proper shampoo or conditioner to use and I had to ask another guest if I could borrow hers!

Bar staff in main hotel excellent, hospitable and helpful.

Only less than top standard was the breakfast, which seemed average somehow. Have eaten higher quality food at the Hilton chain and other hotels, etc.

But overall, very good value and a pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Many thanks for the "very good" review FatMinx. Apologies about the shampoo - the one we use in the spa area is a body and hair shampoo combined. We don't supply conditioners because most ladies have their own preferences and we couldn't hope to compete. Apologies also for the breakfast which is normally well received - I'm not quite sure what the problem was as you didn't mention anything specifically.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Another return to the Connaught and a pleasant one it was!
Although since last time the place has had a revamp, it is still warm & welcoming & friendly.
The interior is glass chandeliers & more contemporary with improved lounge areas so making it more comfortable.
The terrace area is nice for warmer weather ! We were here for a relaxing weekend & to take in a show.

We arrived on the saturday evening to be checked in swiftly & fuss free. Our room was in the lodge and having stayed in the main hotel itself previously, I was a little hesitant about the standard, however no need for concern! After 15mins or so we were called by reception to check if the room was ok, all was! This I thought a nice touch. The room 215 was spacious & nicely decorated & had everything we wanted for a couple of days, kettle,T & C,telly if wanted & opening windows! The bathroom was a tad tight one person at a time which meant hubby was waiting for me to finish getting ready each time so that was the only minor thing. The bed was comfortable & although woken up twice by inconsiderate guests returning in the early hours on the saturday, we had a better sleep on the sunday night! Plenty of plug points & mirrors for us ladies!!
Breakfast was very good hot & plenty of it! Only niggle being that skimmed milk is not on the menu & as I can only have skimmed due to digestive condition this did pose a slight problem but was remedied by a trip to the local shop! During breakfast however they did give me soya milk so wasn't a major biggy however may be this could be considered for the future?

Nick is still overseeing the restaurant in his usual jolly & efficient way!
We were dissappointed to find the restaurant fully booked on the Saturday evening, so ate in the lounge area only to find with other couples that there were empty tables in the restaurant??

This was due to a Charity function that was being held, however I do think that if they have a restaurant they should be able to staff this as well as any functions.
It's unfair to other paying guests, to be denied this due to inadequate staff coverage or kitchen problems.

There was a little wait for the food due to this but when it came it was hot & nicely presented & tasted good! The bar prices are a little steep compared to normal pubs but then this is hotel and its the norm! The lounge menu I felt could have provided a little more choice but on the whole wasn't too bad if you like spicy things & salads!
The bar staff are friendly & polite on the whole however could do with being abit more customer focussed! Reception staff were all brilliant, smiley, friendly & very helpful.

The things I like most about this hotel is its location 5 mins to the sea 15mins to the BIC & approx 20 mins or so the Town centre! So close for everything & yet just out enough to walk off the food & get a good nights sleep!
About twenty mins walk towards Durley Chine along the beach there is a Harvester, good value, quick service & friendly staff.

Would definately reccommend this hotel as it also provides good parking, The rooms in the lodge are of a very good standard so don't be put off by the fact its a 2min walk across to the main hotel for breakfast!

This hotel is still as good as ever good value, good location, good food good service! I won't stay anywhere else in Bournemouth because I know that no matter how many times you stay here the service is always great!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flogoSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

A great review Flogo, thank you and really pleased you enjoyed staying in the Lodge - 205 overlooks the garden and has just been completely refurbished. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews