We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets better every time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Connaught Lodge
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Third visit and even better than before. Took my wife for the first time and she was delighted to find a teapot in the room As an avid tea drinker this was much appreciated. Also she was pleased to note that all the crockery was manufactered in Stoke - her home town - so another plus. The room was excellent with all mod cons and even a walk-in wardrobe. Breakfast was of the usual high standard served in the lovely dining room. Parking was no problem and the free wi-fi was very welcome.
Staff were welcoming,pleasant and professional. I am looking forward to my next visit. This hotel is a must if you are visiting Bournemouth.

Room Tip: Room 201 in the Lodge is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisatholly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

A delightful, comprehensive review Chrisatholly, thank you very much. We have carried out a great deal of refurbishment works in the Lodge over the past 12 months with more planned for 2013 - your "it gets better every time" comment is very welcome.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 335 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from a weekend away and have to say was perfect. Check in was a breeze with the staff warm and friendly, offering to to show us to our room and carry our luggage too. Room was spotless and had everything we needed. Made use to the pool,sauna,jacuzzi and steam room which were all clean and well maintained. Great facilities. The wife had an aromatherapy massage which was her first, she couldnt get over how profesionnal the set up was and enjoyed every minute. Breakfast was well laid out and catered for all tastes with staff again very friendly and helpfull. We had room service on a couple of occasions which arrived prompt. Hotel in walking distance of the beach and town centre so we parked the car and didnt move it for the whole stay - just as well as previous reviews had mentioned car park a little on the small side and cars being double parked. On the whole cannot fault anything. Staff were all warm and friendly and would recommend a stay here to anyone.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 2nd floor of the lodge and hardly heard a noise throughout our stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

What a splendid 5 Star review Mark, thank you very much. It was really nice for us all to read just how much you both enjoyed your stay and took full advantage of all the facilities - I hope you're already planning a return visit!!

Best wishes and a very happy New Year to you both

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had an excellent night's stay.We were attending a show at the BIC. The hotel is very convenient for this venue. The free parking was a bonus. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and there were tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Hope you had as good a time at the show Valerie - many thanks for your super review.

Best wishes and a very happy New Year.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arrived at the reception desk and were greeted warmly, were booked in to the hotel quickly and smoothly and given directions to our room. We were also asked if we needed help with our luggage. Our room was clean, warm and the decor was fresh and up to date. The room was very comfortable and well equipped.
The breakfast menu was comprehensive and we were at no time rushed from our table or rushed through courses.
When checking out we were again asked if we needed help with our luggage.
All staff were polite and approachable. The hotel itself is an ideal place to stay if you are attending a show at the BIC

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for your "excellent" review Sharon. Best wishes to you and your family for 2013.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

On way home after spending Christmas at the Connaught. We stayed in the lodge, we previously had a family room booked but due to the refurb it was no longer suitable. We ended up with 2 rooms which actually worked really well. The rooms are basic and televisions are really small but other than that they met all our needs.
Things worth a mention are: swimming pool, sauna etc. lovely to be able to use these modern facilities over Xmas period. Attention to detail: the bowls of sweets everywhere were lovely and very appreciated by the children. The games all set out in the suite in the lodge was perfect for traditional family fun. The visit from father Christmas was very well done, kids got fab personalised presents for their age group etc and quality time plus photo! Champagne reception Xmas eve was great. The quiz, games and activities were all very family orientated, we felt as a family that we had been very well looked after by all the staff as they were so friendly and helpful.
Food was gorgeous, loved afternoon tea, breakfasts and my sea bass on Xmas day was heavenly, thanks to Victoria for looking after us throughout.
There were a lot of older clientele at the hotel and the disco in the evenings was a little haphazard but everything else was perfect and we never once felt like our children were a nuisance as can sometimes happen in hotels.
Hoping to return next year :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrstpearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

A great review of not only the hotel but also our Christmas celebrations - Santa was delighted to be mentioned in despatches as was Viktoria - thank you. We look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Best wishes to you and your family for 2013.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just had a 3 night stay at the Connaught Lodge (housed next to the Best Western and sharing the leisure facilities).

Upside - the leisure facilities are excellent. The pool is of a generous side with spa, sauna and steam rooms. There is also a decent array of cardio machine as well as a well equipped gym room (I am talking hotel standards here, not the mega-gyms that can be found).

The cooked breakfast was also worth a mention...delicious and a great choice. The restaurant staff could not be more helpful, pleasant or attentive.

Downsides - bring your earplugs!! There is literally no sound-proofing of the room. On both the Friday and Saturday nights we were woken at 2am and 4am by guests returning in adjacent room and had to call reception to ask them to quieten down (not drunken noise, just normal conversations that carried).

The restaurant (at breakfast time) was like a sauna...i was physically sweating in a t-shirt.

The car parking area is tiny and with the hotel facilities open to non-guest and functions in the evenings, there was plenty of double parking and blocking in. Thankfully I did not need to get out!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room....i think they probably don't have any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dera James

Sincere apologies for the disturbed nights. Please drop me a line and I will arrange for a complimentary upgrade to the main hotel on your next visit. Delighted to read that, despite the disturbance, you enjoyed the facilies including the breakfast. Car parking at weekends can be very busy but with 66 spaces it could not be described as "tiny" - it is in fact one of Bournemouth's largest!!
I look forward to hearing from you and thank you for taking the time tow rite your review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I booked myself and my husband into the Connaught for a 5 night stay as it looked ideally situated as a base for exploring Bournemouth and the Jurrasic coast on foot. Having stayed previously at 2 other Best Western hotels in other parts of England, I was expecting good service but this was simply outstanding. Without exception, every individual member of staff- including the chambermaids- were so polite and friendly, particularly the charming gentleman on duty at the hot breakfast counter. We stayed in the adjacent Lodge building in room 208- comfortable, warm and well- maintained room with an excellent bathroom and a shower over the bath powerful enough to rinse my hair thoroughly (this so often isn't the case in some hotels and B&Bs). I was able to hand wash our muddy walking trousers and hang them over the shower rail to drip dry into the bath and they were wearable by the next morning.
The only minor gripe I have is that the room was sectioned into two parts by heavy curtains separating the sleeping area from the dressing table area and the window's sole covering was a net curtain. As our room was overlooked in fairly close proximity by the block of flats directly opposite, I felt somewhat self conscious sitting at the dressing table knowing I was visible- the light had to go on once the afternoon set in. One also had to be quite vigilant to ensure that the curtains inside the room were securely closed (not easy as they tended to gape a bit) when one exited the bathroom after a bath! (TIP- Bring a clothes peg!)
We did not use the spa facilities (only becuase I had forgotten they existed and hadn't brought a swimming costume) nor the restaurant in the evening, but the standard and quality of food at breakfast was impressive and the hot selection never disappointed. Plently of fruit too.
This hotel was a gem and we would love to come back. Great value for money too.And we had no problems parking!

Room Tip: There was nothing wrong with the room in the Lodge but perhaps I should have packed a dressing gown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thanks for the excellent review Jacqui - the issue with the curtains is being dealt with and they are being moved to cover the conservatory windows. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to seeing you in the New Year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
959 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught Lodge

Address: 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $84 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished, AA 4 star Connaught Lodge offers smart and comfortable en-suite accommodation and is centrally located on the West Cliff being just 500m from the town centre, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and those golden, sandy beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and complimentary membership of the Bluewater Spa, located in the adjacent Best Western Connaught Hotel, is available to all Lodge guests. The spa has an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna, 2 gymnasiums and a massage and beauty therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa why not enjoy a superb dinner with first class wine in Blakes', the Connaught's award-winning, double rosette restaurant, also located in the main building, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef, Ben Nicol and his young team of highly qualified chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Connaught Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing